We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont San Jose
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Jose Marriott(San Jose)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
Hotel De Anza(San Jose)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Reviews (2,435)
Filter reviews
2,435 results
Traveller rating
992
792
356
176
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
992
792
356
176
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillpresident's clublobby loungemain buildingvalet parkingbeautiful hotelart museummini barroom servicerooftop poolconvention centerfree internetbusiness triprooms are largesilicon valleyconferencedowntown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,555 - 1,560 of 2,435 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Dirty pool and elevators. Pool bar closes early. Don't eat at the Breakfast buffet, very expensive for what you get. Parking was full, family had to park next door. Only one person working at the front desk and you have to ask for a map and where the pool is, they do not tell you. Ice machine area dirty.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hello Mary,
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. It is reviews like these that allow us to find opportunities for improvement and it seems here we have missed the mark. We would like to discuss your experience in further detail. Please reach out to our Director of Operations, Lisa Ares, at your earliest convenience. You may directly contact her at Lisa.Ares@fairmont.com . We are looking forward to improve our service through your recommendations.
Sincerely,
David H

Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The lobby and public areas are gracious and upscale, as expected. The breakfast buffet is perhaps the worst I have ever had. We had purchased the breakfast when we booked the room. When we were seated, we were handed menus and were never told anything about the existence of a buffet or if we could order eggs off the menu. The eggs were first swimming in oil and then the waiter insisted that they remake them. When the eggs arrived a second time, they were swimming in water. I have never seen eggs like this before; they were inedible. The oatmeal was both clumpy and watery. The raisins for the oatmeal were hard, stale and stuck together. The smoked salmon was unbelievably salty. If you wanted toast, you were out of luck because the bread platters were virtually empty. As for the room, it was spacious and comfortable. I did request 2 extra pillows and it took housekeeping 3 separate trips to deliver them. The toilet water kept running and the shower pressure was weak. Additionally, the makeup mirror in the bathroom did not work. For the price I paid ($489 per night) I would have expected better bathroom amenities and an edible breakfast. I expect more from a Fairmont.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kms14119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hello Kms,
We are sorry to have disappointed you during your recent visit. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly. Please reach out to our Director of Operations, Lisa Ares, at your earliest convenience. You can directly contact her at Lisa.Ares@fairmont.com .
We look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

During a recent trip, I stayed at Hyatt, Hilton and then Fairmont in San Jose downtown. Fairmont is hands down the best with gorgeous and spacious rooms that are a cut above both Hyatt and Hilton. If you can get the same rate, you should definitely go with Fairmont.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACMMM00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hello,
First, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us again at The Fairmont San Jose. Also we appreciate you for writing a detail review on Tripadvisor. We are looking forward to welcome you back next year.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My stay at the San Jose Fairmont was for business as a convention exhibitor. I had in my room my husband and one other guest. I really enjoy the comfort of the beds and the toiletries. Best of all is the spaciousness of the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank NancyAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hello,
Thank you for being a supporter for our hotel and noticing our spacious room. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during Fanime and we can't wait to welcome you back next year.

We appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I've stayed at many of the hotels in downtown San Jose, but mainly because the Fairmont is frequently booked solid by the time I try to reserve. It is my preferred place to stay in the city -- the rooms are always clean, the service is always excellent. Plenty of other places in the city are cheaper, but not as clean, smell funny, or have other problems. The bar is open much later than the bars in most of the neighboring hotels, and while it might seem expensive, it is not out of line for the Bay Area and the bartenders mix better cocktails than most places in the area.

Room Tip: Get a President's Club membership -- it entitles you to free WiFi.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sneeuwfuif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hello,
Thank you for being a great advocate for our hotel and noticing our central location. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your business trip in San Jose and we can't wait to welcome you back.
We appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews