We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lincoln
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

good prize, excellent location, friendly staff.
hotel lobby has great music and great ambiance,
valet service is a plus.
parking charge a little high, 26 dollars per day and a small charge each time you move your car out of garage

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello Mary,

Thank you for staying with us and writing this glowing review! We strive to excel in all aspects of our guest experience. I'm happy you thought the service and environment were great. Our current policy in regards to our valet parking is being able to move in and out of the garage free of charge. Please reach out to us if you get the opportunity to stay with us again and we will make sure to correct any issue.

Sincerely,
Daniel B.
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    696
    314
    144
    91
See reviews for
349
346
125
1,053
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I booked a normal room at the Fairmont San Jose with a promotion package from Aeroplan, but was upgraded to an awesome suite. The fitness room was excellent, and I truly enjoyed the healthy breakfast. My request (via e-mail) for early check-in and late check-out was duly recognized. I did use the express check-in from an email I received from the hotel (first time experience for me), but I believe I arrived early at the hotel before it could be processed. All in all, an excellent hotel where I could stretch my legs, relax, and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoegaarden123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello,
Thank you so much for acknowledging our fitness center. Furthermore, we would like to apologize for mixed up on the express checked in. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your business trip. We hope to see you soon!
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Okay, so there are times you just need to get away and not connect and this was one of those weekends. So we were looking for a nice place to get away that is close to home. Ideally, I wanted a beach weekend, but apparently, there really aren't any reasonably priced hotels along warm beaches up in NorCal (note that we tend to have fog in June and the beaches are colder than we'd like). So we ended up at the Fairmont in San Jose. We got a great rate through our AAA discount and also got some resort credits.

Now again, what was the purpose of the trip.. well it was to sit by the pool and to disconnect.... and for the most part, I got that.

The pool is small, but was clean. If you show up early, it's not crowded. But around 2:00 the pool got packed. Most people were respectful, but there were a few "college" aged guys that thought throwing a football across the pool was acceptable behavior, but the server took his ball and called security where he was escorted out.

The nachos were interesting and good, but again, once it got crowded, there were people waiting over an hour for their food. The drinks were weak, but that's to be expected.

As for the room, I LOVE having a separate shower and the tub was deep enough to enjoy. Overall, the staff was courteous and friendly, but I wouldn't say overly helpful.

So things that need work:
1. We did ask for foam pillows and they didn't have them in our room. We had to request them again.
2. The air conditioner in the room was not good. With then evening sun hitting the room, it became quite warm and didn't cool down for a long time. We requested a fan, but they didn't have one.
3. There wasn't enough power plugs by the bedside. In this day and age of connectivity, you definitely need more power outlets by the bedside to charge phones, and pads.
4. They had asked and we said we'd like a local paper in the morning. Then no paper showed up. Not sure why you'd ask if you aren't going to deliver.
5. So the bathroom needed some maintenance. The grout around the toilet was that pink, pre-mildew shade. Also, there was only one bathrobe for two people. And finally the mirror was horribly water damaged in the bottom of the frame. Oh also, the conditioner and shampoo were not to my liking.

Room Tip: We got a room in the "newer" tower, so the rooms were slightly more updated, but they do f...
See more room tips
Green Features: There was the standard "towel on the ground, or hang to reuse" but didn't really notice anything else.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello A W,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our service and amenities. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly. Please reach out to our Director of Operations, Lisa Ares, at your earliest convenience. You can directly contact her at Lisa.Ares@fairmont.com .
Thank you again for commenting on your stay and we hope to hear from you shortly.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Have been staying here once or twice a year for a long time. Used to be great, but not recently. Specifically, maintenance has slipped (lights not working, sinks clogged), service slow, and the package receiving service is a disaster (only 8-5, no delivery to room, and have to wait 20 minutes for them to retrieve packages). Bar still a fun place to hang out, with live music.
Too bad, used to be really good.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your feedback. While I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our Lobby Lounge. I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our service and maintenance. I have shared your comments with our Director of Operation in order to facilitate further review. Thank you again for writing the review on Tripadvisor.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Dirty pool and elevators. Pool bar closes early. Don't eat at the Breakfast buffet, very expensive for what you get. Parking was full, family had to park next door. Only one person working at the front desk and you have to ask for a map and where the pool is, they do not tell you. Ice machine area dirty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello Mary,
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. It is reviews like these that allow us to find opportunities for improvement and it seems here we have missed the mark. We would like to discuss your experience in further detail. Please reach out to our Director of Operations, Lisa Ares, at your earliest convenience. You may directly contact her at Lisa.Ares@fairmont.com . We are looking forward to improve our service through your recommendations.
Sincerely,
David H

Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The lobby and public areas are gracious and upscale, as expected. The breakfast buffet is perhaps the worst I have ever had. We had purchased the breakfast when we booked the room. When we were seated, we were handed menus and were never told anything about the existence of a buffet or if we could order eggs off the menu. The eggs were first swimming in oil and then the waiter insisted that they remake them. When the eggs arrived a second time, they were swimming in water. I have never seen eggs like this before; they were inedible. The oatmeal was both clumpy and watery. The raisins for the oatmeal were hard, stale and stuck together. The smoked salmon was unbelievably salty. If you wanted toast, you were out of luck because the bread platters were virtually empty. As for the room, it was spacious and comfortable. I did request 2 extra pillows and it took housekeeping 3 separate trips to deliver them. The toilet water kept running and the shower pressure was weak. Additionally, the makeup mirror in the bathroom did not work. For the price I paid ($489 per night) I would have expected better bathroom amenities and an edible breakfast. I expect more from a Fairmont.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kms14119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello Kms,
We are sorry to have disappointed you during your recent visit. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly. Please reach out to our Director of Operations, Lisa Ares, at your earliest convenience. You can directly contact her at Lisa.Ares@fairmont.com .
We look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
159 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

During a recent trip, I stayed at Hyatt, Hilton and then Fairmont in San Jose downtown. Fairmont is hands down the best with gorgeous and spacious rooms that are a cut above both Hyatt and Hilton. If you can get the same rate, you should definitely go with Fairmont.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACMMM00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello,
First, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us again at The Fairmont San Jose. Also we appreciate you for writing a detail review on Tripadvisor. We are looking forward to welcome you back next year.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#3 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#9 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#20 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Property: Fairmont San Jose
Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing