We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, not a good value for money”
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Fairmont is well situated in downtown San Jose. The lobby area is extremely lively and the common areas of the hotel are very well maintained.

That being said, for the price paid, I would have expected a higher quality hotel. When one is traveling for business, the main needs are a good bed for a good night's rest, reliable internet so you can get work done, and a quiet, clean room.

The Fairmont San Jose failed on many of those items:

Beds: extremely worn out and soft
Cleanliness: stains on sheets, hair in blanket, bathroom counter had lots of marks all over it
Internet: rather slow (note that Fairmont loyalty program members get free internet but it's not as good as the premium internet)

The staff was fantastic so I do want to point that out. I just didn't feel like this is a $300/night hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EduTravelerMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Our apologies for the delayed response. Thank you for your feedback. Please also accept our apologies for the experience you had recently. I will share your review with management to address these issues. Please direct message us at your earliest convenience if you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,406 - 1,412 of 2,345 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

It is always a pleasure to stay at the fairmont. The person at the front desk who checked us in was very pleasant. Great staff everywhere, great location and the rooms are beautiful and clean. Thank you for this beautiful stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Lov2grow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Fairmont is in a great location, as it is in the heart of Downtown San Jose. The rooms are nicely apportioned and clean. I also had an excellent employee at the front desk that was courteous upon check in and provided some guidance to nearby establishments.

The hotel can be expensive during weekdays and conventions, so if you are on a budget it might be best to try and secure a Fri/Sat evening stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharksfansd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially the service and amazing location. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

If you are in downtown San Jose this is the place to stay. Location has close to great restaurants as well as to the convention Center. With only a 10 minute drive from the airport their are more restaurants, meeting places etc. with in walking distance

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear James,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay, especially our unparalleled location. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed for three nights. Check in was a breeze. The room wasn't very large but not small either. Decent size. I liked that the bathroom had a separate tub, shower and water closet with a door (privacy!). The room décor was modern but not too modern.

Service in the bars and restaurants was excellent - from pool service to lobby bar to room service. My spouse and I enjoyed a cocktail and listening to the live music in the lobby (a "treat" for parents traveling with kids). The pool was adequate size-wise and there were always plenty of towels and pool chairs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SFsoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is located in the center of town with many attractions within easy walking distance. Our deluxe room was well furnished, extremely clean with great views of the city and mountains. Large, well-equipped bathroom featured separate shower and amenities expected with this brand hotel. WI-FI and discounted valet parking were included in our conference package rate. All staff were friendly, helpful and appeared eager to help. Several good restaurants are a short walk from the property. The Grill (in the hotel) provided excellent service and food the evening we had dinner there.

Room Tip: Our South Tower room provided a quiet location with less congestion on elevators than in the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John_N583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear John,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay, including Fairmont service, our luxurious rooms, delectable dining options, and perfect location. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed for 4 days for a conference, hotel was clean comfortable and efficient. The stand out guy there was the concierge whose name I regretfully can't remember, great help, good ideas and went the extra mile. Loads of social activities there and Friday night the locals descended for live music and dancing, all of N California life to watch and enjoy.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Keith_P57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Keith,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#8 of 75 in San Jose
971 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
3.4 mi away
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Address: 170 S Market St, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £113 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing