We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chino Hills
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I had a very pleasant stay. I was assigned a large, clean room with a great view. I received prompt outstanding service from all of the staff that I encountered. Traveling for a conference or training is always better when you receive great hotel service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Jacquella,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay, from the room to the service. Thank you for your review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    714
    324
    149
    97
See reviews for
371
364
128
1,085
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District Of Columbia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I recently went to San Jose for a conference, and one of the "conference hotels" was The Fairmont. I liked the look of the website so made a reservation and was so pleasantly surprised. It is a really lovely hotel -pretty inside, beautiful by the pool- and my room was so comfortable, spacious and pretty. I truly enjoyed being in it and slept like a baby for three nights straight. The hotel is an easy, quick walk to the convention center but there isn't a ton else around: the Tech Museum seemed cool, there's a coffee shop (Bijan) but 1st street by The Fairmont is pretty bleak.
The Fairmont staff is warm, professional and very efficient. I had a great experience with both room service and in The Grill. Couldn't have enjoyed my stay more. Wish internet was free or much cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank eng416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Reperesentative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed so much of your stay. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel was convenient to many downtown attractions. There was a lovely area outside to just sit and enjoy the sights and sounds. There was airport noise as the planes fly right overhead on the way to SJ airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Teisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Teisha,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay, including the location. Thank you for your review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Black mold in shower corners.

Bed had huge lumps where your rear end and shoulders sunk in.

Sheets were worn out and thin

Pillows small and uncomfortable.

Hotel just worn out. Lobby and bar furniture uncomfortable.

Gym was so so with some repetitive or useless equipment

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank EdwardKerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Edward,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the experience you had recently. I will share your review with management to address these issues. Direct message us at your earliest convenience if you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohnert Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Fairmont is a great hotel. It's right in downtown San Jose, and it is a nice area to walk around, go to dinner, and relax. The hotel is clean, nice, and comfortable. We attended a conference, and the food was tasty and plentiful. There were lots of fresh fruits, and there was a great variety of cuisine from Italian, to Chinese, to Mexican.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Maha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Maha,

We are happy to hear you perfect location of our hotel. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Fairmont is *the* place to stay in San Jose. Although the hotel is large, the staff give it a very personal touch. The rooms (including the bathroom) are spacious, the fitness facility is well equipped, and the location -near the convention center and amidst the dining district - allows access to everything you need. San Jose is also near to several of California's finest areas including the Bay Area (40 minutes north), Stanford University and Cupertino (about 15 minutes away) and Pebble Beach (about 90 minutes if you take the scenic route 17 to route 1, less if you take route 101 - which is actually is prettier since route 1 doesn't get scenic until south of Monteray).

The only service needing significant improvement at The Fairmont is the valet parking service, which is incredibly slow despite the attendants appearing to try their best. Allow at least 20 minutes for them to retrieve your car - 45 to be safe if you are trying to catch a flight. Other than that, the hotel might provide an additional blanket for the bed(s). There are no extra covers to recruit when one wakes up chilly in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: Go to Santana Row - just 3 or 4 miles from The Fairmont for some of the loveliest shopping and dinin...
See more room tips
Green Features: The shower at The Fairmont will be one of the best you've ever had, but one has to ask how much water the hotel consumes - especially given the long-standing drought in the region.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HugADog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have never been to San Jose before, however , whenever, I return I will stay at this hotel. They let me check in at 9:00 am! I really loved that since I had been up since 5:00 am, getting my child from Long Beach to San Jose State for his orientation. All staff were friendly and helpful. I look forward to being in the hotel for more services on my next definite visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Nona,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything your stay, especially the service. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
942 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#8 of 75 in San Jose
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#11 of 75 in San Jose
1,148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Property: Fairmont San Jose
Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing