We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I had a 2 day meeting in Silicon Valley for a client meeting and was very glad that I was booked at the Fairmont. Many of my colleagues were at other hotels because many of the nearby hotels were sold.

My room was great, very clean and quiet. Great gym at the hotel and having restaraunts nearby was a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Danny,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay. Thank you for your review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,258)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,299 - 1,305 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

As part of the President's club, I received an email during a flight layover asking me for my arrival time. When I got to the hotel, I picked up the key from the bellman and didn't even have to stand in line at the front desk. Now, that is service!
My room was spacious and well appointed. Bath items were of a high quality. I had both a tub and a shower in my room, and towels were very thick and luxurious. Electrical outlets were numerous and in easy access.
All hotel staff I encountered were friendly and warm in their greetings. Rooms were cleaned early in the day while I was out on business, which I think is a benefit. I would return in the afternoon and know I won't be disturbed.
I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: Sign up for the Presidents Club for great amenities such as free WiFi. Corridors are long, so reque...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dara_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Dara,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay. Thank you for your review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed her for one night for a business stay. The room was spacious and clean, and the staff was friendly.

The Hotel was only four miles from the San Jose Airport. There were plenty of good restaurants within walking distance, which was a plus. There is also a small park just across the street from the hotel.

The per day room rate was pretty expensive, but inline with other similar hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Chris,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, from the location to the room. Thank you for your review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good lobby and entryway - looks good and is spacious.
No aesthetics in room decor, musty smell and very much in need of maintenance.
A/C did not work.
Showers were alternating hot-n-cold.
Beds were uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Jay,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the experience you had recently. A private message has been sent to you wanting to learn more about your recent experience at our hotel. Please direct message us at your earliest convenience.

We look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for one night with my 2 daughters to visit Cal St San Jose. This is a top notch facility and everything about our stay was first rate. Customer service at check in, check out, concierge, valet, dining were all excellent. First the location is great, on the plaza with the art museum, easy walking to the college, restaurants, movies, and shopping. We were in the Tower, not the main building. Rooms were very very nice. Incredible beds. Separate tub and shower. Beautiful stone floors in bathroom, plush towels and robes. This is not a budget hotel, but for the area it is not over priced. We had an excellent cooked to order breakfast for under $30 for 3, including fresh squeezed juice. Valet parking was$26 per day, but they let you leave your car until 6:00 pm after you have checked out without additional charge. So we didn't need to drive it to campus and pay for parking there the next day. The only hitch was with the reservation system. I booked by phone. Operator gave me the non refundable rate, instead of the AAA special which was better, she didn't tell us the pool would be unavailable due to private event, and she said free self parking was available which is wrong. However the excellent front desk compensated me for these gross errors, so I deduct no points. But beware the booking system. Probably better to book on line to be sure you are getting the rate and room you want.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher leave if you want a view, there is none on the 3-5 floors. Pool is in main building...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay. Thank you for your review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Discovered a small army of ants crawling along the baseboard of my room before going to bed. a few crawled onto the bed and nightstand. was too tired to call the front desk at the time, as it was a one night stay. when I woke up the next morning and found some ants making their way inside my shoes, I felt that I had to tell the front desk. when I reported this upon checkout, the front desk person nonchalantly said 'sorry' and handed me the bill. I didn't expect ants in my room at the Fairmont, even during my stays at a 'motel 6', I never encountered ants!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Susana,

Thank you for your review. I would like to apologize for any service issues and assure you we have not gotten word of any other pest problems. I have notified our different deparments to check your previous room and keep an eye on these matters. A manager will be reaching out to you shortly to talk to you about your experience. We regret the inconviences during your stay.

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at The Fairmont San Jose. The rooms were clean, the bathrooms were amazing and the beds were comfortable. Most of the staff were great. I would definitely recommend you not eat at the hotel restaurant or from food service. Although the staff is quick and friendly for room service, the food is average. In the lounge, the staff was helpful and the food so-so. I would still stay at the hotel again, just eat elsewhere!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Kate,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed so much about your stay, from the beds to the service. Thank you for your review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
958 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#9 of 75 in San Jose
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £135 - £499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing