We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than avg, not as bad as what other reviewers say...”
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 October 2010

stayed there for a wedding. huge hotel, two buildings connected by a skyway or short walk outside. i agree that service is poor. asked for some toiletries when i arrived because they only left one bar of soap for the sink and none for shower. it never came, didn't bother to call again. no hairdryer. safe in room also broken. mini bar still had sign saying that it had been fixed the week prior. room was better than avg but could tell that it was getting old. bed was very comfortable. price for weekend stay pretty cheap <200$ for a suite so worth it in the end, even w/ inconveniences. would think about staying at four seasons in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkjsnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,257)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,005 - 2,011 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

Our family stayed in connecting rooms 1088-1090 (South Tower) for three nights in October 2010. We were on a college scouting trip and visited Stanford and Santa Clara University. I had originally tried to stay in a hotel closer to Stanford, but because of a football game there that weekend, everything was booked. Because of San Jose's closeness to both schools, this was a decent alternative. First time we've stayed at this Fairmont property. It wasn't really close to the Cal Train station, but there is a free shuttle bus (Monday-through-Friday) and plenty of cabs. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and the pool area at the Fairmont is pretty nice....be aware that you are extremely close to the flight path inbound to the San Jose airport and you get lots of planes landing pretty much overhead. There's a lot to like about the Fairmont San Jose, but I had a number of issues with housekeeping. When we checked in, we noticed that in one of our rooms (the one with two queens) that only one of them had a bedspread/comforter. I called housekeeping that evening but no one ever came to bring a bedspread. I reported it to the front desk the next day and eventually a housekeeping staff member brought up a blanket, not a bedspread. Over the three days we stayed in our rooms, the bedspread was never delivered. Why would housekeeping make up one bed with a bedspread and one without? Also, there were two robes in the room my wife and I shared, but only one robe in the connecting room with the two queens. It took two calls to housekeeping and another visit to the front desk to get a second robe delivered. I was told by two Fairmont front desk workers that they usually only stock their rooms with ONE robe and that if people want more, it's no problem. I found it somewhat strange that a room with two queen beds would only have one robe. Another issue: on the second day we were there, the coffeemaker in our room malfunctioned and flooded the small wood tray it sits on. I unplugged the coffeemaker and dumped out the water/coffee mess and cleaned up the tray, then left a note for housekeeping AND reported it to the front desk. Strangely, the tray with coffee packets, sugars, creamers, etc. was replaced but the coffeemaker never was...no explanation about why that happened. On a positive note, the rooms themselves were roomy and comfortable. The views up that high were OK, but as you will see from the pictures I'm supplying, you do look almost directly across at the other nearby tower. The bathroom was spacious and well stocked, but I found it odd that the toilet didn't have any kind of privacy door or screen. If you were using the toilet at the same time someone else was using the shower/tub/sink area, you were pretty much on display. That should be fixed. And finally, I had numerous issues with the airline check in computer kiosk in the lobby. I tried to log in several times using my president's club number without success. Then I swiped a credit card and that didn't work either. It wouldn't allow me to input my credit card info manually, so I wound up walking back around the corner and asking the concierge for help. I told him the kiosk wasn't working and he said he'd look into it. The rooms were quiet at night, but because of the way the doors to the hallway are mounted on the frames, you are quite aware of people talking as they walk past your rooms. I thought that the furniture in the lobby looked a little old and rundown. Bringing in some modern and contemporary furniture wouldn't hurt. All in all though, I found our stay at the Fairmont quite enjoyable. The Tech museum is right across the street, the airport is close, there are plenty of local attractions nearby and restaurants are everywhere. You could do worse than staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingManVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I'm from Chicago and travel out to San Jose for business. I always stay at this hotel because its elegant, clean, lively, and in a great location. The restaurants are terrific, and it is nice to have clients meet me there, so I don't have to drive around. There is live music on most evenings and a martini menu that is irresistible! Parking is pricey at $26 a night. Tip - If you sign up online to become part of the President's Club (free) your internet fees are comped. Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorkinGirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

This is our sixth stay at the Fairmont, but we have not stayed here in 4 years. As long time Presidents Club members, we were saddened to see how things have declined. We booked a Cabana Room, because the last time we stayed there, it provided such a nice private patio. We were amazed to see that the privacy gate had been removed, making our private patio wide open. As far as our room: Why would the mini bar be in the bedroom, and the wet bar in the foyer? Why is there a coffee maker in the vanity area? Love those lit makeup mirrors. If the light worked. Love the idea of a TV in the bathroom. If it worked. Every night I had to call housekeeping for wine and drinking glasses as they were never replaced. The toilet had to be flushed 3 times after each use. I treated myself to a blow dry at the hotel salon - and was shocked to find out I couldn't charge it to my room - the same with an on-site hotel restaurant.

Such a pity, because for years this was a lovely property.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YYZ_TOGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

For a Fairmont Hotel this is bottom of the barrel! The beds are aweful you can feel the springs poping thru when we asked the management about that they said all the beds are the same! While i was checking in...my husband had arranged for a massage for me at the Tova Day Spa, and when we tried to use the coupon the hotel gave us for the spa the next day...the Tova spa said, we can't honor that $25.00 off coupon the owner is not here. Left our name and number and Haven't heard anything! Heads up! the $210.00 massage I recieved was amatuer to say the best! I have stayed at Fairmonts and St Regis hotels and used there spa and this one was comparable to a Massage envy (massage's for $40.00). Don't waste your money. Oh Yeah and it's $26.00 a day to park your car for Hotel guest!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caligirl060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Fairmont Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay and everything was in walking distance. The room was spacious and clean, the beds were simply comfortable. I would recommend all my friends and difinitely come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lissa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We moved our daughter onto campus housing at nearby Santa Clara University and Fairmont has a special Santa Clara Rate that makes this trip even better. We have done this each year. We stayed in 1487 in the Tower. We enjoyed drinks in the bar area and had a dinner at The Grill. All the services and personnel were friendly and competent. This is the only place we stay in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MangoChetney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
958 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#9 of 75 in San Jose
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £135 - £499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing