We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for the money spent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Clean and convient. Staff was friendly. Room needed some a bit of maintenance but nothing that caused a problem. The "breakfast" left much to be desired. No television or internet available for this multi day stay but that was a Comcast problem and not the hotels fault. In the center of the silicon valley and Comcast cannot get the signal to work! That's sick.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Typical older motor motel...with all rooms facing parking lots. Within half-mile of SJC and close to light rail station and 101...convenient location. Rooms were adequate size, older with some deferred maintenance. Continental breakfast consisted of juice machine, coffee and some pastries in office...didn't know about it. Also, connected to a Denny's coffee shop. Had difficulty because I was pulling a small U-haul trailer and there is only one way in and out...took some backing and manuvering to get turned around and out in the morning. Additional $20 fee for pet. Probably would not stay here again...as there are better, more reasonable options.

Room Tip: Pool, not fitness facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pheumann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

most vagabonds inn that I have stayed at were nice these rooms were cleaned I went on a two day job and stay there I check out and was going to eat some breakfast there before I left for home Breakfast what breakfast!!!! I was lucky to get a breakfast roll no waffles or cereal whats if with that????

Room Tip: nice for short but not for a long one there is a dannys there but who eats at dannys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millwrightjoefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Don't let the 'old' appearance of the place put you off. Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Room was clean and very quiet (I even left our back window open through the night!). Several folks were using the small pool. Breakfast was packaged pastries. A Denny's is on the property. Airport is just a few minutes away. I would stay here again. (Room 225)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lad18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Very nice room in a good area, next to the light rail station. The room was clean and well equipped with a refrigerator, microwave, hair drier and coffee machine with supplies of coffee and tea. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IVAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Judging from some reviews - and from my experience - I wonder what people are expecting for the money? The room (#217) was clean, carpet in good repair as was the furniture. We were upgraded to a king at no extra charge and without asking for it. The TV worked fine, there was a desk, table and desk chair which was convenient because I stayed there to work while my son and husband had business elsewhere for the day. The bathroom was nicely appointed, tho' could have used a liner on the shower curtain and more towels. Plenty of room for storing belongings. Had an iron, hairdryer that worked better than mine. Not the best of neighborhoods but clearly not the worst. The continental breakfast included apples, oranges, juice, pre-wrapped pastry. With a frig and microwave you can make a feast yourself if needed. I'd stay again - for convenience. Short jaunt to downtown - and the light rail stops right outside. Denny's (if you can stomach it) in front.

Room Tip: I always ask for upstairs in these kinds of places so there is no one noisy on top of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StillDoreen92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I was traveling on a strict budget and just passing through San Jose for a day of catching up with some friends so chose the Vagabond Inn. It is near the airport, which is handy for some, but even if you're headed elsewhere, it sits right in front of the light rail so you can get other places easily or even a short drive to museum area.

The hotel area did have a few of the wanderers around, but I didn't have a problem. Lots of security cameras with live feeds to lobby. The hotel was nice than I expected for the area and the lower price. Much nicer than Motel 6 next door. The internet worked excellently - when it worked! It would cut out for a couple minutes but then resume and bip along fine but still - frustrating.

The sheets were probably the thinnest I'd ever seen and I stay at many budget places, but whatever works. The room had a coffeemaker and toiletries. The heat, when set as a thermostat didn't work properly, but if I left the fan to steady on, it kept the room warm enough.

Breakfast..... is NOT breakfast. It is coffee, orange juice and a packaged little muffin. BUT it was enough to tie me over until lunch so is helpful for some, but I wouldn't call it breakfast.

The staff at the front desk were friendly and attentive. I got an early check in and the gal was great. No problems with traffic noise, foot traffic or loud neighbors. I didn't use the pool, but it looked clean as did the grounds.

It's a fine budget hotel. No real problems.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntlHousesitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#54 of 75 in San Jose
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown
0 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#53 of 75 in San Jose
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Valley Inn
Valley Inn
#50 of 75 in San Jose
28 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#52 of 75 in San Jose
121 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#45 of 75 in San Jose
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)

Address: 1488 N 1st St, San Jose, CA 95112-4818
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £80 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport) 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, two story Motor Inn with restaurant; located off Hwys 880 & 101, near Silicon Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing