We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Newer Residence Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Jose South
Ranked #23 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
197 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice, Newer Residence Inn”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

A nice, newer Residence Inn to stay. We were there for a family vacation so the spot was perfect for our trip. Good area with plenty of restaurants and easy access to shopping and the highways. Rooms were clean and spacious with the beds comfortable. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88FFG93OSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Hello JS_4202,
Thank you for your response. So glad you enjoyed your vacation to San Jose with the family! Have a great summer and hopefully we will get to host you in our new renovated rooms for your next trip.

Aubrey Prophet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    55
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
36
24
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed here for a short business trip, luckily the office was right around the corner. From what we saw, the hotel is at the begining of a business park, with a few small fast food places within walking distance. Anything other than fast food, or a convenience store / gas station, you would need to drive.

The hotel itself is a bit dated in locations - hallways, rooms, elevator, lobby and fitness center. The grounds themselves are actually very well kept, and the exterior gives a bit of a false impression. Rooms are large, spacious, but dated and a bit dirty. Bathroom had peeling wallpaper, mildew in the bathroom, and the stove and dishwasher smelled as if there were dead animals in them. I had a studio at the back of the property, facing the highway - don't do that to yourself. WiFi extremely slow.

However, the staff was friendly and professional. Breakfast was your standard pre-made eggs, frozen / thawed bagels, etc...not bad, but not great.

Have stayed in better Residence Inns, but for 2 nights, it wasn't that bad for a place to sleep.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the back of the hotel, facing the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Hello M J,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us. I am happy to inform you that we have started a full renovation of our guest rooms which will be completed in September. It is a huge improvement and I can assure that you will love everything about this on your next visit with us. Please give me a call the next time you are in the area so we can accommodate your room location request as we would like all stays to be up to your expectations and flawless. See you next time!

Aubrey Prophet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I've stayed in several Residence Inns recently and this one really needs a major overhaul. Fixtures, furniture, kitchen, a/c all need to be updated. Otherwise it was a just basic place roof over your head. Breakfast was not great- eggs were dry and other stuff was passable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sitaananth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Hello Chutney3, thank you very much for your review. I am extremely happy to reply with some great news for you. We are starting a full room renovation July 9th and will have it completed within 2 months. I will also take your comments regarding breakfast back to the team and work on that for additional improvement.

We hope to be able to host you the nest time you are in the San Jose area! Please feel free to contact me if I can be of further assistance with that.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

We've enjoyed several stays at this location. The staff is top notch, the rooms are well appointed and welcoming, and you get free WiFi and breakfast. Close to shopping, services and freeways. Our go-to home away from home in South San Jose - We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odalisque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Hello odalisque,
Thank you for your review and your positive comments. My staff and I truly appreciate your business and that we were able to host a great home away from home stay for you.

See you Soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
190 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business in April 2013. This hotel is what you would expect from a Residence Inn. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. They have an evening social hour and morning breakfast, both complimentary. I did not partake in the evening social, but I did eat breakfast in the morning, which was pretty good. The hotel has a small exercise room with cardio equipment. The staff is friendly. The internet access is also complimentary but a little on the slow side. The hotel is easy to access from US-101. The rooms also have full-sized refrigerators, a stove, microwave, dishes, and silverware. I was only here for a day and did not use these, but this is a nice hotel at a reasonable price. If I were to stay longer, I could see myself taking advantage of the kitchen amenities.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Hello Greg A,
Thank you for your review of our property! I am so delighted to hear that you had a great stay, next time you are in the area we hope you are able to stay longer and take advantage of our full kitchens and hospitality hour!

Hope to see you real soon, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The staff here was very friendly and provided great service. The rooms were up to date with flat screens in each bedroom and living room. We enjoyed a great breakfast every morning and were really treated quite nicely. Overall great experiences. I fly in to the San Jose area from Seattle on business very often and will definitely be back to this hotel!!! Great job everyone!!!

Room Tip: Just be nice to the staff and they will be nice back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NateInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Hello NateInSeattle,
We really appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel and staff. We truly do thrive off of our guests experience and are glad you got to experience that!

I am pleased that you were happy with the rooms and our flatscreen TV's- we will be undergoing a huge renovation beginning in July and I know you will be even more impressed with our new product.

Hope to see you again soon, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Free wifi, lite dinner m-thur with all you can drink beer on tap!!! , breakfast everyday whats there not to like. The studio suite was open and roomy. Tv could use more channels. Overall, my experience was enjoyable and positive. I plan on staying here again whenever Im in town.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hulksmashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Hello Hulksmashy,
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel, I am so happy that you were able to experience our social hour and had a great time! We are adding new foods to our menu monthly and hope to exceed your expectation again during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
12.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,251 reviews
12.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Jose
Staybridge Suites San Jose
#20 of 75 in San Jose
172 reviews
16.0 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Jose South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Jose South

Property: Residence Inn San Jose South
Address: 6111 San Ignacio Ave, San Jose, CA 95119-1389
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Jose South 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn San Jose South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Jose South Hotel San Jose
San Jose Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing