We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and super friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Jose South
Ranked #27 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed in the area in another place ESA, but this one is much, much better. Friendly at the reception, breakfast with choices, clean and spacious rooms. Really feels good when staying there. Had a room with sofa, kitchenette and large screen TV, bedroom and another large screen TV and bathroom. There is a grocery store just across the road should you need anything. Close to freeway and connects easily to the SJ business.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ca_lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Hello ca_lovers,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review of our hotel. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you encounter great service during the rest of your travels! See you next time.

Aubrey Prophet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn San Jose South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We knew that the hotel was being renovated when we made the reservation but somehow, someway, The Residence Inn managed to deliver a great product! Kudos to the staff!

We loved the fact that the hotel is located in a nice area that is quiet and several restaurants to choose from. We always try to stay at a Resiedence Inn becasue of their amenities and great service and this Residence is not exception.

The 2 bedroom suite is now our favorite room!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubapro2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Hello Scubapro2000,
Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and were not inconvenienced by the renovations. We love our two bedroom suites as well, they are just perfect for families. Now that we are almost fully renovated we hope to have you back soon and again exceed your expectations!

Until Next time,
Aubrey Prophet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I have stayed here for several work related visits over the past year and have to say they are very consistent. This past visit I needed to leave early due to personal reasons. The desk clerk. Annie, I believe was so sweet! She asked if there was anything she could do to help? Did I need a water for the road? It was 5:30am who is that sweet that early in the morning? I told her so and she said thank you, you are the second person who told me that this morning. Give this woman a pat on the back and more. Worth her weight in gold. Believe me a road warrior. We love Marriott

Room Tip: This hotel is right off 101. There is a Lucky's supermarket next store (within walking) that has...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdandMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Hello EdandMags,
Thank you so much for writing a review for us. I love to hear about how great our staff is! I will pass along your note and read it to everyone to let them know how much you appreciated your stay. We hope everything is ok now and hope to see you on your next trip to San Jose!

Aubrey Prophet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while attending a graduation. We loved the location which is close to everything yet not in the hustle and bustle of the city. We made several trips to the airport to pick up family coming in and it wasn't to far away. The Hotel itself was clean with good amenities. Breakfast was good with a good variety. Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Hello Bonnie C,
We appreciate your response and are happy to hear you had a great stay in San Jose for the graduation! Hopefully we will be able to host your family for your next vacation to the area. Have a great summer.

Aubrey Prophet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

A nice, newer Residence Inn to stay. We were there for a family vacation so the spot was perfect for our trip. Good area with plenty of restaurants and easy access to shopping and the highways. Rooms were clean and spacious with the beds comfortable. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 88FFG93OSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Hello JS_4202,
Thank you for your response. So glad you enjoyed your vacation to San Jose with the family! Have a great summer and hopefully we will get to host you in our new renovated rooms for your next trip.

Aubrey Prophet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed here for a short business trip, luckily the office was right around the corner. From what we saw, the hotel is at the begining of a business park, with a few small fast food places within walking distance. Anything other than fast food, or a convenience store / gas station, you would need to drive.

The hotel itself is a bit dated in locations - hallways, rooms, elevator, lobby and fitness center. The grounds themselves are actually very well kept, and the exterior gives a bit of a false impression. Rooms are large, spacious, but dated and a bit dirty. Bathroom had peeling wallpaper, mildew in the bathroom, and the stove and dishwasher smelled as if there were dead animals in them. I had a studio at the back of the property, facing the highway - don't do that to yourself. WiFi extremely slow.

However, the staff was friendly and professional. Breakfast was your standard pre-made eggs, frozen / thawed bagels, etc...not bad, but not great.

Have stayed in better Residence Inns, but for 2 nights, it wasn't that bad for a place to sleep.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the back of the hotel, facing the highway!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Hello M J,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us. I am happy to inform you that we have started a full renovation of our guest rooms which will be completed in September. It is a huge improvement and I can assure that you will love everything about this on your next visit with us. Please give me a call the next time you are in the area so we can accommodate your room location request as we would like all stays to be up to your expectations and flawless. See you next time!

Aubrey Prophet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I've stayed in several Residence Inns recently and this one really needs a major overhaul. Fixtures, furniture, kitchen, a/c all need to be updated. Otherwise it was a just basic place roof over your head. Breakfast was not great- eggs were dry and other stuff was passable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sitaananth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hello Chutney3, thank you very much for your review. I am extremely happy to reply with some great news for you. We are starting a full room renovation July 9th and will have it completed within 2 months. I will also take your comments regarding breakfast back to the team and work on that for additional improvement.

We hope to be able to host you the nest time you are in the San Jose area! Please feel free to contact me if I can be of further assistance with that.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
12.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Airport
3.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
8.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose South/Morgan Hill
9.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Campbell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Jose South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Jose South

Address: 6111 San Ignacio Ave, San Jose, CA 95119-1389
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £140 - £540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Jose South 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Jose South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Jose South Hotel San Jose
San Jose Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing