We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Jose South
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Customer service was great for this hotel. Very warm welcome at registration. We were each given water bottles with granola bars from the front desk. Our room was very clean and had just been renovated. The sofa mattress still had the original packaging on it! I would have given it 5 stars if the breakfast had been better. Basically it wasn't edible. Aside from breakfast it was a great hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and we were on the north side of the hotel facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Princess09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hello Hotel_Princess09

Thank you for your nice review of our hotel. I am very pleased that you were so happy with our customer service and the location of your room. Your comments about our breakfast will be addressed with our staff and I can assure we will do anything in our power to get this up to your expectations. We hope to be able to host you the next time you are in San Jose!

Cheers
Aubrey Prophet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    53
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
35
24
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I were amazed when we walked into the queen double booked for a 2 night stay to attend a convention. Our thinking was a typical residence inn suite -- beds, kitchen, refrig etc. Walked into the room to 2 separate bedrooms with a sitting room. Staff was pleasant. Room was comfortable and quiet event though the hotel was full so [parking on a late return was a little tight. Access was good (close to the 101 and 85 junction but several blocks away so no road noise. Breakfast is a hot buffet plus cold items. Evening happy hour was relaxing with a selection of a few hot and cold items. Baked potato was satisfying. Am a Marriott "elite traveler" member and have stayed in many Marriott location and both my wife and i would select this venue in the area anytime.

Room Tip: Our room faced the side parking area and was exceptionally quiet given the full parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Hello Edward P,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed the layout of our two bedroom suite! It is definitely spacious and has just what you need for a short or long term stay. I do hope the convention you were here visiting went well and that we will see you the next time your travels bring you to San Jose!

Safe Travels,
Aubrey Prophet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here overnight to just get some alone time and our room was excellent. Like a small one bedroom apartment with a mini kitchen. There's no stove, but there is an apartment sized refrigerator, two burner stove, full size dishwasher and microwave. Basic utensils and dishes are also provided. Both the living area and bedroom have flat screen tvs, very easy to hook up to your laptop if you bring a HDMI cable. The living area had a nice sized sectional that you could tell converted to a bed, though we didn't use the bed, so I can't say how comfortable it would be, but as a couch it was very comfortable. It has a small two person dining table, and a large very functional desk. The bedroom has a queen bed that was firm, but comfortable, with plenty of pillows. Attached to the full bath with vanity area and bathtub, that isn't super deep, but you can still get a decent bath in it. There was some noise from the rooms around us, but not too bad. The front desk was friendly and we were able to park our car fairly near our room. The hotel is across the street from a Lucky's supermarket and Staples. There are several options for food nearby including a Jack in the Box across the parking lot. We paid $150/night and felt it was a good value overall. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATHERINE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Hello Katepig,
We greatly appreciate such a positive review and are greatful to hear about the wonderful stay you had and that you are pleased with our rooms and staff! We hope we are able to host you for your next "getaway".

Aubrey Prophet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The room was clean, the staff was very nice, the convenience was nice, the breakfast was great and I could probably say some other nice stuff, but one thing was really bad!!! If you go to this hotel and are assigned to room #116, refuse it! There is an electrical room right behind the bedroom that hums incredibly loudly, right behind the headboard. It is so loud that you can actually feel it. I don't know why they even offer this room. What makes me mad is that we got there just after noon, so they could have put us in a quiet room. The front desk girl was very nice in the morning and gave us a credit, plus points, but she made it clear that they knew that room was a problem. I called them as soon as I heard the noise, at around 10:45 pm, but the young man at the front desk said they were sold out and they had nowhere to move us. I was forced to sleep on the sofa in the other room. Overall, we liked the room, but that room needs to be taken out of the normal rotation. We noticed that the room is set up for the hearing impaired and that is an appropriate use of it. I choose hotels for their comfort, and this one failed on this occasion. If not for this issue, we would have given the hotel 4 stars. So, in reality, this review is only for this room, not for the whole hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room #116 like the plague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello Paul K,
I appreciate your review and feedback of our hotel and your specific room. I am terribly sorry about the nights rest, or lack of, that you received during your stay with us. I'm glad our front desk associate was able to handle this issue the next morning as far as reimbursement. The room is next to the elevator room and after inspecting this situation we did become aware of an issue in our maintenance room that was causing the noise. I can assure you that this issue has now been fixed and again sincerely apologize that this was such an inconvenience for you. We do hope that you will come back and stay with us the next time you are in San Jose and feel free to reach out when you are so I can make it a priority to ensure that you are 100% satisfied with your next stay!

Safe Travels,
Aubrey Prophet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our family of four had a great three night stay here.
Many great things about our stay:
- across the street from Lucky supermarket allowed for easy trips for supplies / groceries
- staff were very dedicated and attentive. Pleasant to work with. Everything was perfectly clean.
- The free breakfast was enjoyable every day. Array of options of eggs, make your own waffle, cereal, yogurt, etc.
- Large comfortable room. We had suite for inexpensive dollars.
- Fold out sofa was comfortable camp-out for our four year old.
- Reasonable distance from the family activities we did in SJ downtown.
We had a fabulous time and look forward to our next Residence Inn stay.

Room Tip: No big traffic issues around the buildings, so no special choices here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello Matt_Houston,
Thank you so much for your great review of our property! It is great to hear that you enjoyed the ease of our location and our amazing staff. We do hope we are able to host you and your family the next time you visit San Jose!

Cheers.
Aubrey Prophet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were very pleased with our large suite at this property. It was clean, great decor, comfortable and roomy. We had a separate room for the bedroom.....with a TV in both rooms. There was a nice big sofa with chaise...enough room for both of us to stretch out. The staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good too. The location was great for us...just off of our route and right next door was a grocery store, Starbucks and a car wash. There are also close restaurants and it seemed to be a safe and nice area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plain1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hello plain1s,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel and the services you received during your visit with us. We just finished our room renovation so we love to hear feedback about the layout and especially the nice large couch in the one bedrooms! Enjoy the rest of your travels and we hope to be so lucky to host you the next time you are in San Jose.

Aubrey Prophet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

All the hotels in San Jose were pretty much booked or at $350/ night. I found this one for much less and is conveniently located at the intersection of 85 and 101. It takes around 15-20 mins to get to San Jose airport and downtown SJC. It is quiet and you wont here the planes flying above like you would if you were downtown SJC. The rooms are clean and the staff is very courteous. I would have given it a 5 star if their HVAC system was newer, although it did work fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hi Bizman_9,
We're so glad you were able to get a reservation with us during a busy time! We will take your note of a new HVAC into consideration for the future, thank you for bringing that to our attention. We hope to see you on your next travels to the San Jose area. Thank You

Aubrey Prophet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
12.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Airport
3.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
8.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose South/Morgan Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Jose South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Jose South

Property: Residence Inn San Jose South
Address: 6111 San Ignacio Avenue, San Jose, CA 95119
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Jose South 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Jose South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Jose South Hotel San Jose
San Jose Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing