We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay- Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Jose South
Ranked #24 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay- Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Growing up in So SanJO, it was nice to stay at a hotel so close to everything! The staff was really nice and helpful.
-Location- Right across the street from restaurants, starbucks, bagel shop and grocery store, easy access to highway
-Room- really surprised at how big it was, had a kitchen living/living room combo- plenty of closet/storage space. Bed was comfortable, not a ton of TV channels.
-Breakfast was good including the lobby nicely done
-Only slightly negative, there is one community computer (I chose not to bring mine for the trip) and it seems to always have some one on it when you need to use it
-I traveled alone and felt completely safe

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAW2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    54
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
36
24
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks after moving back to the south bay from Japan. Overall the hotel location is great -- easy access to 101 and 85. There is a grocery store across the street and some fast food places nearby.

The room was spacious--couch, tv, coffee table, desk, full size appliances in the kitchen, bath+shower, and windows that let in a lot of light.

My main complaints were the smells we encountered while staying here. When we first checked in and went to our room we were immediately overcome by an extremely strong (hold-your-breath-and-don't-breathe-in) chemical smell in the halls as if the carpets had been cleaned but they didn't adequately air out the halls. We thought of changing rooms...but decided to stick it out thinking it would go away in a few days at most. Eventually (a week+ later) the smell was not noticeable. We even stuck a towel at the base of our door gap so the smell wouldn't drift into our room.

After about a week and a half we started to smell a funky burnt-like smell in our room every time we walked in...which would require us opening the windows and sometimes turning on the heat too because it was just too cold with the windows open...but the smell was just not bearable without the windows open. You might think it was something we cooked that would cause the place to smell...but it just didn't go away and we have hardly cooked let alone kept "burning" things to make it smell like that.

Staff was helpful, breakfast was okay/mediocre (very little variety after 3 weeks of staying here), amenities offered here were great, but the smells turned me off... and also staying here for 3 weeks made me very anxious to leave! ;) I'd recommend staying here...as you likely will not encounter the same smells we did (I assume). Just be proactive and request another room until you get one that isn't smelly or in a smelly hallway.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StandingRoomOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2008

We stayed here two nights while taking our son down to college in Santa Clara. It's a bit out of the way but the reviews convinced us to give it a try.Good choice! It's extremely clean -- you could eat off the shiny tile floors in the halls, and the rooms were very clean too, and looked fairly recently remodeled. Bed was comfortable, hot water endless, full kitchen facilities. One light bulb was out when we checked in but our request brought a replacement within 15 minutes. They did forget our wakeup call, though. Complementary breakfast was better than most, with scrambled and boiled eggs, sausage patties, potatoes, pastries, cereal, fresh fruit, pancakes, make your own waffles or breakfast burritos, etc. Complementary San Jose Mercury News. Didn't try the pool. Apparently the Inn takes dogs because we saw a few. We paid $105 for a queen plus sofabed at the end of September. Quiet, safe looking area just off US 101. There's a Starbucks in the small shopping center just across San Ignacio, for those who need it. Seems to be a dearth of non-chain restaurants in the area, but we got a great pizza from family-owned Emperor Norton's less than a mile away. We'll definitely stay here again, and bring the dog next time.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet, comfortable, reasonable
  • Disliked — Not much culture or interesting restaurants nearby. It was 15 miles or so from my son's college.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SCUMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2008

This Residence Inn does not have the typical layout of separate or clustered units. It is more of a tradition hotel.

Very nice safe location. shopping, food, dinning, etc. very convenient, nice pool area. It features a "manager's reception as most Residence Inn’s do but much nicer and upgraded food and beverages.

I give it five stars.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LarryatLockheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2007

Excellent hotel. Staff was very friendly. Hotel was clean. Beds were comfortable. Nice location.

  • Liked — Very quite location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dawnd1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2007

First of all let me say that I am very picky about where I stay. I actually liked this place. The room that we stayed in was very clean. Staff was very friendly. I asked for extras towels and it only took them a couple of minutes to take it over to ther room. The only reason I gave this place 4 stars was because the breakfast wasn't all that great otherwise I would've gave it 5 stars. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank googoodolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2007

Very nice and quiet hotel. Hotel was very very clean,great staff and nice breakfast in the morning and evening snacks. Swimming pool was very clean i thought i was at a resort not at a hotel clean grounds very secure!!!!

The outside windows needed cleaning that was the ONLY downside!!!!

I would stay at this Marriott again hands down.

The rooms were all updated very very nice.

AC units are on the outside of the 1st floor rooms so there might be some noise issues if you get one.

I would suggest requesting a courtyard view.

Grocery store and shopping area just across the street very nice!!!

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrypg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
12.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Airport
3.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#4 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
8.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose South/Morgan Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Jose South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Jose South

Property: Residence Inn San Jose South
Address: 6111 San Ignacio Ave, San Jose, CA 95119-1389
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Jose South 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Jose South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Jose South Hotel San Jose
San Jose Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing