We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sporting Event - Unpleasant Stay”
Review of Hilton San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton San Jose
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I think the hotel is fairly unfriendly to sporting groups. We were notified at check in that club/concierge service was not offered on the weekends - a direct target at weekend groups. We had requested this service in advance and we're not notified of their policy. Windows in room were terribly dirty. There were problems w the elevators for 1/2 the weekend - fixed by hotel. Water bottle in fitness room sat empty for 2 days despite our notifying staff. Flags flying were old and torn. At checkout, I mentioned the problems. The grumpy clerk argued with me about the elevators but said she would credit us the 2 glasses of wine we put on the bill. Later, I was asked by email to fill out a review sent by Hilton (which I did). I received a pre-written form letter from the hotel with nothing specific to our stay. :-((

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine H, Manager at Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

John,

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize you were disappointed in the service and amenities of our property. We will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing.

Thank you,

Hilton San Jose Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

751 - 757 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

I've been staying in this specific Hilton hotel everytime I visit San Jose for the annual SPIE conference. I'm glad the hotel has completely removed the smoking rooms (although I'm a smoker) because the rooms and hallways smell better that way. I'm also glad the hotel decided on having internet connectivity for free. I only wish that the internet connections don't keep cutting off when I use my smartphone. Overall though, I'm really glad for the service. Keep it up and see you next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Julius Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine H, Manager at Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hello Julius,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay and that the event was a success.

We look forward to hosting your stay again with us soon!

Sincerely,

Hilton San Jose Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel is beautiful and the room was amazing, the problem is there is no airport shuttle for the airport which is 5 minutes away so you have to pay for a $30 taxi ride. They do not have a microwave or mini bottles of alcohol and the bar prices are very expensive. There is no break on well drinks for happy hour. If you choose the green bonus of them not changing the sheets or giving new towels, they dont even come in and clean up the room, so its not really worth it because you cant use the $5 for drinks, only food in their bar. The pool is only open until 10 pm. The people and staff were excellent and the room service breakfast was good except dont ask for anything special like crispy toast because it will be ignored.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Laurel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine H, Manager at Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hello Laurel,

We appreciate your feedback. We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one from check-in to departure through quality service and amenities. We will use your comments as part of our ongiong service training and hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future.

Thank you,

Hilton San Jose Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was warm and welcoming, the food (at the bar and room service) was superb and the room was modern and nicely decorated. I was a little surprised that the hotel did not offer a shuttle from the airport, but I was greatly disappointed to find that there was a charge for Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank debynell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine H, Manager at Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hello,

Thank you for writing a review and your feedback is definitely appreciated. We hope to have you as one of our repeat guests.

Sincerely,

Hilton San Jose Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Better during the week with the executive lounge open for gold members. Great access to downtown and the freeway. Nice rooms and good views from the upper floors. Breakfast was above average and the bed was quite comfortable. Good place to stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine H, Manager at Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hello David,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad that you had a great stay at the Hilton San Jose. We look forward to seeing you again in the future on your next business trip and we hope that next you will have more time to enjoy our facilities.

Sincerely,

Hilton San Jose Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Love the hotel, other than the bar being slightly overpriced and a bracelet being stollen from my room, I loved my stay. My conference was at the convention center which made for a short walk and there were plenty of great places to see that were within walking distance. The velet service was always on time and very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine H, Manager at Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hello Rick,

We are so happy that you stayed with us again. Thank you for writing a review and your feedback is definitely appreciated. We hope to have you as one of our repeat guests.

Sincerely,

Hilton San Jose Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here over the weekend with a large group got work. And the check in was fast and prompt, front desk staff was great. I stayed in 907 and the person who cleaned my room on 2/14 did a great job. Thanks for the extra coffee and creamer. A+++..

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Rjduran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine H, Manager at Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hello,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of the Hilton San Jose. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you experienced great service from our team members.
We hope that you stay with us again when you visit San Jose.


Sincerely,

Hilton San Jose Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#8 of 75 in San Jose
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
6 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Jose

Address: 300 Almaden Blvd, San Jose, CA 95110-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £106 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Jose hotel is located in the capital of Silicon Valley, connected to the San Jose McEnery Convention Center and only three miles from the Mineta San Jose International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Hilton Hotel San Jose
San Jose Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing