We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but a bit different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City
Ranked #31 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean but a bit different”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

On a resent trip we had stayed at a Holiday Inn Express in Lebec Ca and it was fantastic. So assuming all the Holiday Inn Express's would be the same we made made reservations at this one. Like others are saying it is like a converted Motel. The rooms are clean but loud, you can hear everything that is going on outside. The breakfast was somewhat the same as the other Holiday Inn Express but not as good. scrambled eggs instead of cheese omelets no biscuits (maybe they were out) but gravy I guess for the eggs or over a english muffin? everything was just not as good in comparison. And it was more expensive than the nicer place... The employees are friendly and helpful. I don't want to bash this establishment it was fine, clean, safe, friendly just not the same value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms can be loud. But they are clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbird1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear sbird1932,

Thank you for you review. I am delighted to hear that our staff were friendly and helpful during your recent stay with us. However, it is my regret that you were not satisfied with your overall experience. I apologize about the noise and the quality of breakfast served. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    45
    33
    4
    9
See reviews for
45
21
11
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This is not your typical Holiday Inn Express. The room entrance is from the outside. It is possibly a converted motel. The room we were in was clean and everything worked. They had a nice snack basket and bottled water in the room when we arrived. Plenty of pillows on the bed and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast bar was good-the usual stuff available..The person replenishing the bar was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was the traffic noise. We had a room near the street and the noise from the traffic woke me up early.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the front. There is too much traffic on the street early in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VirginiaLandlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Thank you VL for taking time to post a review of the hotel.It was a pleasure to have you at our hotel..We take great pride in the service and quality of our hotel and your comments helps us strive for better all the time
We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you faced at the hotel regarding the noise..We have taken steps to train our employees to provide the guest choices so this issue can be addressed.Please come visit us again when you are in San Jose
Thank you so much once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Provided the nicest welcome basket I have ever received and I travel over 40 weeks per year. Also had ice waiting in the room in the freezer. Provided me with additional bottled water each day as opposed to just at check-in. Wi-fi was free and fast, most free connections and some that you are billed for usually connect very slow, this one connected at about 130 all week.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
placentia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We loved everything except that is set up as a motel. All rooms face the parking lot and noisy smokers kept talking outside until I opened my doors and went off at them (after midnight!!).
The staff is excellent! The rooms are very nice, updated HIE quaility. We had a nice welcome basket and bottles of water because we joined the HIE Club.
This locations offeres a Winchester House package which is a great value but the location is too far.
The breakfast is great!!! Tons of food and staff was again great!
Small pool with detached hot tub. I would stay here again if we came back to SJ. But, I would want a room close to the main office and away from the smokers corner.

Room Tip: Join the HIE club to get little perks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nanseab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I usually stay at HIEs wherever I go, but the AM front desk hostess, Kopal, was especially cordial and helpful on 7.8.12. She made sure the pancake batter was made in a timely manner, and I just felt very taken care of during breakfast. I would stay here again if I were in town just because she was so nice. Thank you HIE and Kopal!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meemzter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

It's been a long time since I've been to a "travel" type of hotel that has been this good. When we arrived, the clerk was very friendly, we could understand her English, and she provided a great "goodie bag" with popcorn, energy bars, chips, etc. Our room was spotlessly clean, updated with granite etc., and with two complimentary bottles of water.

We stayed 5 nights and the housekeeping was perfect. Our room was really cleaned every day, and we got 2 complimentary bottles of water every day. The pool and hot tub were also clean, clean, clean. The public bathrooms were beautiful and spotless. Grounds beautiful with lots of flowers and plants.

The motel was pretty quiet, even though it was on a busy street. The sheets were nice and the bed was super comfortable---no morning backaches. The taqueria at the super market next door was wonderful---very affordable and delicious.

Again, I can't say enough about this place. Spotlessly clean and friendly service. Great place!

Room Tip: It's best to ask for a room farthest away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PLG53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed two days with the whole family there. Rooms are big, nice and clean. The pool is not big, but good for nice swim.
The people at the reception are very nice, friendly all the time.
Kopal served us coffee from the rich breakfat buffet and asked whether she could do anything more fur us.. And they even had fresh pancakes from a pancake maker.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
2.0 mi away
Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
#49 of 75 in San Jose
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose - Silicon Valley
3.0 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,251 reviews
7.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City
Address: 2660 Monterey Hwy, San Jose, CA 95111-3050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown San Jose has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Jose. Our hotel is 6 miles from Mineta San Jose International Airport and 3 miles from downtown San Jose. Enjoy shopping at Valley Fair Mall or dining at the wide variety of downtown restaurants. Explore the endless rooms of the Winchester Mystery House. Visiting All Tech Companies, the San Jose Convention Center, or the campuses of San Jose State and Santa Clara Universities? All are within easy reach when you stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Jose. Another smart idea: we said good-bye to the traditional bedspread as part of our Simply Smart Bedding. Our all white triple-sheeting just screams freshness. And if you do your thinking in the shower, prepare to be inspired with our complete bathroom make-over such as Stay Smart shower head. You'll appreciate the large work spaces in every room. From communications to accommodations, you'll find our amenities the perfect companion for the business or leisure traveler. Every room includes 2 phones, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, coffer maker, iron & full size ironing board, free local calls and free Internet/WiFi . While here, we'll get you started each morning with our free Express Start breakfast buffet with lots of breakfast choices and hot entrees like cheesy omelets, fluffy scrambled eggs, sausage patties, crispy bacon and other favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City Hotel San Jose
Holiday Inn San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing