We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was what I thought it would be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City
Ranked #41 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 22 May 2014

After a long day of travelling my husband and I arrived at the hotel early and loved that there was lots of FREE parking! We were allowed in our room early, and I love the outdoor hotel feel, It's something you don't get in Ontario unless it's a cheap motel. The service was superb, wifi was great, tv was great, always came back to a clean room. A disadvantage of it being outside is that you can hear a lot going on outside... there was a large party down the hall from us and we could still hear them fairly late at night. We wanted to take advantage of the pool but it hadn't been cleaned in a while and kind of in a remote section that made us feel a little weary about going. Location was decent though a bit of a pain if you had to bus anywhere. Bedbug free (I always check), bed was comfy, love that holiday inn has hard and soft pillows available. Best part was that the continental breakfast had a huge variety, and something different every day. We loved that, what a perk! Overall, not a bad place to stay at all!

Room Tip: If you're travelling alone I'd ask for a room closer to the main entry for safety reasons, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you so much Jennifer for choosing to stay with us and experiencing the superb service we provide to our guests.We are really overjoyed that you loved your stay with us.Your business is very important to us and we want to thank you very sincerely for your stay and for the nice comments.Please choose us to be your home away from home while you are in San Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights when his grandmother who lived in the area unexpectedly passed away and we needed somewhere close to her house to set up camp. Unfortunately, we happened to arrive the day after there was a grusome murder at the hotel and were stuck because of lack of availability at other area hotels. But the police presence had for the most part cleared and we just had to suck it up. The hotel was clean and otherwise about what one should expect for a Holiday Inn Express at this price point. A little difficult to get in and out of because of a U-turn situation but ample parking and close to the highway so easy to get places in the area from the hotel. Wireless was fine. Bed was comfortable enough. Don't know that we would stay here again but since a particular circumstance brought us here, it's not that I wouldn't recommend to other travelers needing something similar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amznyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thanks so much amznyc for writing a review about our hotel.Sure enough it has been a long while that you stayed with us but thanks so much for remembering to review your stay,eventhough it has been a long while.We at the Holiday Inn Express strive to work very hard to be guest ready everyday.When we receive nice compliments from guests like you, we get very excited and raise our benchmarks.Please come back to stay with us when you are back in the beautiful city of San Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My flight landed in San Jose after 7P and I arrived at the HI Express around 7:30P to discover the hotel only had outward faced rooms. If I had known that all rooms faced outward I would never have booked at this hotel. In fact, the pictures on the hotel’s site did not show the outside of the hotel other than then main entrance therefore there was no way to know this fact before arriving. As a female traveling alone, I felt very uncomfortable. To add to my hesitancy to stay, the surrounding area appeared sketchy and there is a very large cemetery across the street. I voiced my concerns about safety with the staff and asked that my reservation be cancelled. Because it was after 6P, they stated that I would be charged for the room. Had they fully represented the hotel and I still booked, I would readily accept the charge. However, there was no way to know the hotel rooms faced outward until I arrived. It has been more than 2 months and they continue to refuse my refund. I am always safe and cautious, especially when travelling. In fact, my company’s primary motto is ‘Safety First’. I hope this post will help other travelers who are not aware of the hotel layout.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank MissPrissyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to put your thoughts about our hotel KB3815.We are really sorry about the way you felt about our hotel.The hotel has been very vividly represented and described in all the contents of all booking sources.We apologise if you skipped reading that and reviewed our hotel even without staying at the property and experiencing the services the hotel has to offer.We really want you to come stay with us and experience the comfort of our rooms and services we offer including the hot breakfast which is very popular with our guests
We do really value your business and thank you so much once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I was very happy with my business stay at this hotel. Here is what I liked and didn't like:

Pros

1. Loads of well lighted parking. No problem getting a spot.
2. The room was in great shape, had plenty of space and was very clean.
3. Bed and pillows were comfortable
4. Breakfast was as expected. Not fantastic, but just fine.
5. The price was a good value as compared to other nearby properties
6. The staff were friendly and helped me change my checkout date

Cons (only one)

1. The location is not in the "heart" San Jose. It is in a bit of an industrial area. That was no problem for me, as it was located near where I was working. But it is not in a good location if you want to walk to shopping or restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertoCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you so much Roberto for taking time to write a wonderful review about our hotel.We really appreaciate your kindness.Our guest reviews make us raise our benchmark and we treat our reviews as our evaluation.We thank you for your stay while we know you have so many choices in San Jose.You made the right choice in staying with us..thank you once again and please come back and stay with us again while visiting San Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Spacious, clean and well maintained rooms. Comfortable bed and good quality linen. All essential items like Microwave, Fridge, Iron + ironing board, Coffee maker and a Safe were in place and in working order. All staff were friendly and courteous. Check-in and check-out went smoothly. Breakfast was tasty which included hot items as well as fresh fruit. Wired internet was a bit slow but it worked. Clean, well lit and adequate parking facilities. Our family, which included two toddlers found this place both convenient and comfortable and one we would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thanks so much BSS2 for such a wonderful review of your stay at our hotel.We really appreciate your kindness.My team has been really delighted as you made their day by recognising their hardwork.Hope whenever you come to San Jose,you will choose to stay with us.Thanks you so much once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Good room deal, Clean, good customer services, good free breakfast, convenient safe box in room, comfortable hotel in good location, clean parking lot, nice outdoor swimming pool, close to everything, enjoyed staying here, will recommend and be back one day

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Tracie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks so much Tracie L for your wonderful review regarding your stay at our hotel.We really do appreciate your kind words and we highly value your business
Please come and stay with us when ever you are in town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Really nice people work here and the parking lot is well lit, that's a nice touch. All the rooms open to the outside like a motel, in case that bothers you.

Clean rooms, convenient to most anything in San Jose. Overall, a most decent place to stay with good rates.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Herod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hi Herod L..Thank you so much for posting a wonderful review on your stay at our property
We sincerely appreciate your kindness.Your stay with us is very valuable and please come back and see us again while in San Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2 mi away
Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose - Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Quality Inn Silicon Valley
Quality Inn Silicon Valley
#36 of 75 in San Jose
94 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
#48 of 75 in San Jose
96 reviews
7.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City

Address: 2660 Monterey Hwy, San Jose, CA 95111-3050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £90 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown San Jose has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Jose. Our hotel is 6 miles from Mineta San Jose International Airport and 3 miles from downtown San Jose. Enjoy shopping at Valley Fair Mall or dining at the wide variety of downtown restaurants. Explore the endless rooms of the Winchester Mystery House. Visiting All Tech Companies, the San Jose Convention Center, or the campuses of San Jose State and Santa Clara Universities? All are within easy reach when you stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Jose. Another smart idea: we said good-bye to the traditional bedspread as part of our Simply Smart Bedding. Our all white triple-sheeting just screams freshness. And if you do your thinking in the shower, prepare to be inspired with our complete bathroom make-over such as Stay Smart shower head. You'll appreciate the large work spaces in every room. From communications to accommodations, you'll find our amenities the perfect companion for the business or leisure traveler. Every room includes 2 phones, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, coffer maker, iron & full size ironing board, free local calls and free Internet/WiFi . While here, we'll get you started each morning with our free Express Start breakfast buffet with lots of breakfast choices and hot entrees like cheesy omelets, fluffy scrambled eggs, sausage patties, crispy bacon and other favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City Hotel San Jose
Holiday Inn San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing