We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel-style, not typical Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City
Ranked #41 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

If you're planning to stay here be aware that it's more of a motel-style with rooms on an exterior walkway facing the parking lot. Also the A/C is old fashioned style window units. These were noisy at night and could not set an exact temperature. As a result I woke up hot, then turned down but then my daughter near the window froze while I was still warm. Also it was noisy kicking on and off and kept my wife awake.

The staff was nice and room was very clean and well-equipped. Breakfast was good and nice variety. Not much they can do about the building though. Just surprise HI Express would take it over rather than building a new hotel-style facility like most if their others.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank richang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thanks so much richang for choosing to stay with us and posting the review.Your business is very important to us and we really appreciate it.While we cant do anything about the construction of the hotel which was built ground up as a Holiday Inn Express Hotel,we do however focus on keeping our rooms and service immaculate.We are so glad that you were able to penetrate and observe that feature.Thanks so much once again and we do hope to see you in short future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

i stayed here on 1st august 2014.My stay was most enjoyable.Very clean employees super nice.Reema was very nice at the front desk.Great service When I come in this area I would definitely stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks so much Mr Melvin for taking time to post a wonderful review about your stay at our place.We really do appreciate your business and your comments means alot to us especially to our very hardworking employees.We value your business alot and please come back and stay with us while you are in San Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Went to San Jose for training this week and stayed at this hotel. I wanted to let you know that from start to finish this is a clean, well run, service oriented hotel. The staff was friendly and caring, the room was clean and tidy as were the entire grounds. The breakfast was quite adequate with a variety of items and they even have snacks from 4-7pm daily (cookies, popcorn, drinks, nuts, chips).
Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much Rise J for such a wonderful review about your stay with us.You surely boosted the spirits of my teams and they really feel their hardwork is appreciated.Thanks for making their day.We really value your business and hope you will consider us your home away from your home.Thank you so much once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Service is poor. Room is mediocre . Reluctantly provide extra pillows & blankets. Noisy with parties or people fighting. Lights in the room were too bright. Would not recommend this place. People need to be RE TRAINED in customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hankbriwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much Hankbriwn for your kind review.I am so sorry you felt that way about your stay
I know you were upset but being a valued guest at our hotel,please come back and stay with us again and I will make sure everything goes really well for you like the other guests who check out very happily.I will be so happy to take care of you.Thank you so much and we value your business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was really impressed with this place. It seemed a bit out of the way, but the hotel itself, rooms, and staff were superb. Our room was immaculate, and well-stocked with coffee, tea, complimentary water bottles, toiletries, and towels. The included breakfast was an excellent value with lots of variety: eggs, turkey sausage, bacon, oatmeal, bananas, boiled eggs, pancakes, coffee, juices, milk, sweet rolls, etc.! I normally have to take my kids out to eat breakfast afterward, but not this time. The gym was clean and new-looking; the pool was small, but clean and inviting. All in all, if I needed an affordable, but nice place to stay in San Jose, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estee929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you so much Estee929 for writing such a wonderful review about your stay at our hotel.We always try to make it better everyday and to keep our guests satisfied is our primary concern.We value your business and please come back and stay with us whenever you are in town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

After a long day of travelling my husband and I arrived at the hotel early and loved that there was lots of FREE parking! We were allowed in our room early, and I love the outdoor hotel feel, It's something you don't get in Ontario unless it's a cheap motel. The service was superb, wifi was great, tv was great, always came back to a clean room. A disadvantage of it being outside is that you can hear a lot going on outside... there was a large party down the hall from us and we could still hear them fairly late at night. We wanted to take advantage of the pool but it hadn't been cleaned in a while and kind of in a remote section that made us feel a little weary about going. Location was decent though a bit of a pain if you had to bus anywhere. Bedbug free (I always check), bed was comfy, love that holiday inn has hard and soft pillows available. Best part was that the continental breakfast had a huge variety, and something different every day. We loved that, what a perk! Overall, not a bad place to stay at all!

Room Tip: If you're travelling alone I'd ask for a room closer to the main entry for safety reasons, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you so much Jennifer for choosing to stay with us and experiencing the superb service we provide to our guests.We are really overjoyed that you loved your stay with us.Your business is very important to us and we want to thank you very sincerely for your stay and for the nice comments.Please choose us to be your home away from home while you are in San Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights when his grandmother who lived in the area unexpectedly passed away and we needed somewhere close to her house to set up camp. Unfortunately, we happened to arrive the day after there was a grusome murder at the hotel and were stuck because of lack of availability at other area hotels. But the police presence had for the most part cleared and we just had to suck it up. The hotel was clean and otherwise about what one should expect for a Holiday Inn Express at this price point. A little difficult to get in and out of because of a U-turn situation but ample parking and close to the highway so easy to get places in the area from the hotel. Wireless was fine. Bed was comfortable enough. Don't know that we would stay here again but since a particular circumstance brought us here, it's not that I wouldn't recommend to other travelers needing something similar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amznyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thanks so much amznyc for writing a review about our hotel.Sure enough it has been a long while that you stayed with us but thanks so much for remembering to review your stay,eventhough it has been a long while.We at the Holiday Inn Express strive to work very hard to be guest ready everyday.When we receive nice compliments from guests like you, we get very excited and raise our benchmarks.Please come back to stay with us when you are back in the beautiful city of San Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2 mi away
Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose - Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Quality Inn Silicon Valley
Quality Inn Silicon Valley
#36 of 75 in San Jose
95 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
#48 of 75 in San Jose
96 reviews
7.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City

Address: 2660 Monterey Hwy, San Jose, CA 95111-3050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £89 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown San Jose has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Jose. Our hotel is 6 miles from Mineta San Jose International Airport and 3 miles from downtown San Jose. Enjoy shopping at Valley Fair Mall or dining at the wide variety of downtown restaurants. Explore the endless rooms of the Winchester Mystery House. Visiting All Tech Companies, the San Jose Convention Center, or the campuses of San Jose State and Santa Clara Universities? All are within easy reach when you stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Jose. Another smart idea: we said good-bye to the traditional bedspread as part of our Simply Smart Bedding. Our all white triple-sheeting just screams freshness. And if you do your thinking in the shower, prepare to be inspired with our complete bathroom make-over such as Stay Smart shower head. You'll appreciate the large work spaces in every room. From communications to accommodations, you'll find our amenities the perfect companion for the business or leisure traveler. Every room includes 2 phones, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, coffer maker, iron & full size ironing board, free local calls and free Internet/WiFi . While here, we'll get you started each morning with our free Express Start breakfast buffet with lots of breakfast choices and hot entrees like cheesy omelets, fluffy scrambled eggs, sausage patties, crispy bacon and other favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City Hotel San Jose
Holiday Inn San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing