We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Objects are further than they appear”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Just know that, despite what your map may show, this hotel is truly not that close to almost anything. On the flip side, It's not terribly far either from some wonderful communities. The morning breakfast buffet is about what you'd expect "par" for most properties around this price.
$12.00/day is not par for self-service parking, however, and I don't think it's a fair deal given the already substantial price tag of the rooms.
The room was very quiet, and the bathroom had a great, decent size shower. It's a good property, but it's better if you know everything you'll be paying for. Costco is right next door if you need some decent gas prices, but if you're going up toward Disney, the gas was a fair amount cheaper in Orange County.

Room Tip: One side gets you the freeway, one side gets you a train that blows it's horn every hour or sost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brentfromkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 176 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is a very new property - I believe it opened in early 2012 - so everything is new and clean. There is small pool and recreation area with ocean view and an outside lounge area including a firepit. The staff was friendly and efficient.

Knowing that this property was right on the 5 Freeway I requested a room that faced away from the freeway and the busy local road on the other side but it was hard to avoid noise. It wasn't too bad but I can't imagine there is a truly 'quiet' room given the location.

Surprisingly, there is a $12 charge for parking!! This property is not on the beach or even within walking distance. It is in an industrial/commercial area but not a metro area where parking is at a premium. So, this is basically a way of charging a guest $12 more without that price showing up on the internet search engines. There is really no reason for charging for parking at a property like this.

I was also surprised at the very poor quality of the bedding. $200/night for cotton/poly blend sheets? Most hotel chains' lower end properties are now offering good quality linens these days and this isn't a lower end property or brand. If I was going to do an extended stay here I'd bring my own sheets - seriously.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLJtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This is a brand-new hotel and it is a real nice, bright, very clean location and I would return with only minor hesitation! Having stayed in a number of Residence Inns, I found this to be among my best stays within the brand. But it can get better. The wireless Internet connectivity is spotty, the breakfast constantly runs out of necessities like tea bags, plates, etc., and there are some similar small issues. The staff is also new and could use some seasonsing in terms of becoming familiar with the area. I wasn't crazy about a $12/day parking fee - this is out on its own and not in a city setting where parking is at a premium. In fact, it is the first parking charge like this I have received in a small-town setting.

Finally, this hotel is out by itself just off the interstate. You must drive for everything.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A_and_B_from_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BlentB_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 975claudia975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
2.3 mi away
Best Western Capistrano Inn
Best Western Capistrano Inn
#1 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
347 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano

Address: 33711 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-4817 (Formerly Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range: £112 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano near Dana Point, we combine all of the comforts of home along with modern amenities and a passion for service that makes every guest feel welcome. This San Juan Capistrano hotel offers 130 spacious suites with separate areas for sleeping, relaxing and cooking - full kitchens with granite countertops and convenient kitchen appliances. In addition, take advantage of complimentary grocery delivery, a free daily hot breakfast buffet, and free Wi-Fi throughout. Join us at The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. Three nights a week our hotel features a different opportunity to socialize in our lobby or outdoor space. Located off I-5, our hotel in San Juan Capistrano provides easy access to Dana Point, Mission San Juan Capistrano, Camino Real Playhouse and The Coach House. With two meeting rooms and 1,535 square feet of event space, our hotel offers full meeting and event services with A/V technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing