We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Certificate of Excellence
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Pro's - new property, nice housekeeping staff
Con's - upon check-in, met by "Laura" - gee, bad atitude for someone in the "hospitality" business.. Short, curt, not at all friendly. Was given a room facing Stonehill, a busy/ noisy street. Upon entering the room, went to freshen up and discovered the toilet was clogged. Called to the front desk to ask for it to be repaired, "Laura" said that if they couldn't fix it, that there were few options as they were full. I explained to her that I was not asking to be moved...snotty attitude.
Spent the first night in the room, figured out the following day that one of the reasons it was so noisy is that the windows did not fuly close/ seal. Faulty installation. Asked to be moved and got a first floor room facing the freeway. Suprisingly much quieter.
Kudos to the housekeeping staff. During the move, forgot a cell pone charger. They brought it to us. Asked for additional soap. tissues, no problem.
$12.00 for parking - really guys?
Overall - nice property, but probably won't stay here again. Overpriced and don't need the attitude.
Too Bad

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelintj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    69
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
59
36
7
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Just know that, despite what your map may show, this hotel is truly not that close to almost anything. On the flip side, It's not terribly far either from some wonderful communities. The morning breakfast buffet is about what you'd expect "par" for most properties around this price.
$12.00/day is not par for self-service parking, however, and I don't think it's a fair deal given the already substantial price tag of the rooms.
The room was very quiet, and the bathroom had a great, decent size shower. It's a good property, but it's better if you know everything you'll be paying for. Costco is right next door if you need some decent gas prices, but if you're going up toward Disney, the gas was a fair amount cheaper in Orange County.

Room Tip: One side gets you the freeway, one side gets you a train that blows it's horn every hour or sost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brentfromkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is a very new property - I believe it opened in early 2012 - so everything is new and clean. There is small pool and recreation area with ocean view and an outside lounge area including a firepit. The staff was friendly and efficient.

Knowing that this property was right on the 5 Freeway I requested a room that faced away from the freeway and the busy local road on the other side but it was hard to avoid noise. It wasn't too bad but I can't imagine there is a truly 'quiet' room given the location.

Surprisingly, there is a $12 charge for parking!! This property is not on the beach or even within walking distance. It is in an industrial/commercial area but not a metro area where parking is at a premium. So, this is basically a way of charging a guest $12 more without that price showing up on the internet search engines. There is really no reason for charging for parking at a property like this.

I was also surprised at the very poor quality of the bedding. $200/night for cotton/poly blend sheets? Most hotel chains' lower end properties are now offering good quality linens these days and this isn't a lower end property or brand. If I was going to do an extended stay here I'd bring my own sheets - seriously.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLJtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, PA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This is a brand-new hotel and it is a real nice, bright, very clean location and I would return with only minor hesitation! Having stayed in a number of Residence Inns, I found this to be among my best stays within the brand. But it can get better. The wireless Internet connectivity is spotty, the breakfast constantly runs out of necessities like tea bags, plates, etc., and there are some similar small issues. The staff is also new and could use some seasonsing in terms of becoming familiar with the area. I wasn't crazy about a $12/day parking fee - this is out on its own and not in a city setting where parking is at a premium. In fact, it is the first parking charge like this I have received in a small-town setting.

Finally, this hotel is out by itself just off the interstate. You must drive for everything.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A_and_B_from_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
2.3 mi away
Best Western Capistrano Inn
Best Western Capistrano Inn
#1 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
2.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano

Property: Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Address: 33711 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-4817 (Formerly Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano Hotel near Dana Point, we combine all of the comforts of home along with modern amenities and a passion for service that makes every guest feel welcome. This San Juan Capistrano hotel offers 130 spacious suites with separate areas for sleeping, relaxing and cooking - full kitchens with granite countertops and convenient kitchen appliances. In addition, take advantage of complimentary grocery delivery, a free daily hot breakfast buffet, and free Wi-Fi throughout. Join us at The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. Three nights a week our hotel features a different opportunity to socialize in our lobby or outdoor space. Located off I-5, our hotel in San Juan Capistrano provides easy access to Dana Point, Mission San Juan Capistrano, Camino Real Playhouse and The Coach House. With two meeting rooms and 1,535 square feet of event space, our hotel in San Juan Capistrano offers full meeting and event services with A/V technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing