We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Marriot RI we have stayed in so far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I have stayed in several RI throughout my travels and they all have the same room set up and same amenities. But I was taken back about the subtle but noticeable perks in this particular RI. Bathroom shower was, upscale. King bed was, comfortable. Pillow, just the right bit of sturdiness and softness for a good sleep. The lounging sofa was clean and comfortable. I actually had to use the desk this time to log in to work and it was very convenient. The hallways had a pleasant smell even during the time food was been served at breakfast area. Wifi was strong and Free!!Check in and check out was a freeze!Parking was a non issue, which was great. Overall, a great hotel to stay. We drove around the area and it was located near everything we needed. That is why I can't complaint to much about the traffic noise that was constant and the few times the train was heard. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merlyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Hello! Thank you for a great feedback! It was a pleasure hosting your stay! So looking for another great visit soon!

Cheers!
-Grace M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel might stand at #2 best hotel I have ever stayed in, and I've been all over the country staying in Marriott hotels. I say #2 because in our favorite hotel, the Residence Inn in Norfolk, Va., the chef comes out and asks people how they like the food and what he could add!

But everything else is spectacular. Furnishings are great, breakfast room is huge and good looking, 3 Manager's nights per week (mini-dinners), two types of complimentary newspapers, big rooms, comfortable chairs and beds, huge desk to work on (we were in a 1-bedroom suite). There were 3 dressers with 9 drawers total. Of course the full refrigerator with freezer and microwave. I'm ready to move in!

Drawbacks: Only one--$12.00 per day parking fee. Outrageous! (this isn't New York)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stattad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hello! Awesome!!!! Thank you for this wonderful feedback! Rest assured that this will be shared with the team.

We are so looking forward to host your future stay in the area!

Cheers for the summer!

-Grace M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. It's a Residence Inn, so it has nice touches like free full breakfast, free wi-fi, all the rooms are suites with refrigerators, etc. Staff were all very friendly. A shout out to Colin who was kind enough to let us keep our surfboards in their meeting room overnight. The pool area is very nice - well and well appointed. The location is convenient to I5 and the PCH. You can be at Doheny State Beach Park in two minutes. The location is also convenient to Laguna Niguel (12 minutes awa) and San Clemente (10 minutes away). I highly recommend Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottRSilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Happy Summer! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us! We are so looking forward to host your future stay in the area!

Cheers!
-Grace M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed out here recently for work and it was pretty convenient to get to the Laguna Niguel area. Plus, it's close to the water at Dana Point for a nice walk or run. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the place seems to have very good upkeep. Very close to the 5 Freeway.

Only complaint - the trains. I know they can't help it, but this alone brings the rating down. I mostly slept through the nights but the occasional late night train would wake me up...it can be very loud. Just something to keep in mind in case you want earplugs.

Room Tip: Not sure if you can avoid the trains in any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De'Andre G, Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano. Thank you for the kind words regarding our room cleanliness and upkeep. Our room attendants take great pride ensuring the room quality for our guest.
As for the train, I apologize that the train caused you a few sleepless nights. We are in the process of finding a long term solution for the noise.
If i may be of assistance or if you have additional feedback you would be willing to share, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
De'Andre Gipson
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We recently needed to go to a wedding in San Clemente, CA. Whenever we are in this area, we always like to visit San Juan Capistrano (SJC) as well. We were originally looking for a hotel closer to SJC but there are not many near the mission. We found this Residence Inn and decided to try it and ended up liking it very much. It is what we call a traveler’s hotel, not a destination hotel as it is not at a particular destination (management may not agree). In fact, it sits at the junction of three major destinations in the area (San Juan Capistrano, Dana Point, and San Clemente) and is just off I-5. It is less than five minutes to each of these locations except maybe 10 minutes to the heart of San Clemente, on surface streets, which made it ideal for us.

The hotel is a typical Residence Inn and it was very nicely laid out. The rooms are what you’d expect from this chain. This was the first time we have stayed in a “studio” room which was a little different for us, the bedroom being in an alcove off the living room. Though only there for a night, we made good use of the kitchen and everything worked fine. Bed was very comfortable, the shower was large, and the A/C worked great. While we did not take advantage of the pool, it looked great out back. The hotel is very much up to date, clean, and very comfortable. The staff was also great.

Location wise, it is on a hill in a small valley that empties into the Pacific Ocean. The ocean is about 1 mile away and you can get a glance of it from the hotel. The view of the hotel is for the most part “country”, but not quite sure out the front of the hotel which does face a car dealership I believe.

The hotel is at the intersection of two streets, one of which takes you to Dana Point at the bottom of the hill, and the other street takes you to either SJC or San Clemente depending on which way you turn. The north bound on ramp to the I-5 is the fourth direction.

Since my wife and I are sort of rail fans, I feel the need to comment on this. The main north-south railroad line for SoCal goes directly under and off to the side of the hotel. This line supports Amtrak, the local commuter line (LA’s Metro Link), and freight traffic (BNSF). The line in this part of the state is mostly a single track that everyone shares. Just south of the hotel is a siding that is used for passing. During the day, most of the traffic is passenger, but it is fairly often that one of the trains has to pull over to allow the other direction train to pass. Because of this, there can be a little extra horn blowing from the trains for safety. At night, it is more freight but not that bad. If we were awake, we could sometimes hear the horns blow but at night we didn’t hear anything.

We would recommend this to anyone for this area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JP-Hollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Happy Summer! Thank you for a great review! We are so looking forward to host your future stay in the area!

Cheers!
-Grace M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a chance to stay this past Friday, very nice hotel. Very easy to get to, we had been visiting Laguna Beach. Great staff, very busy for breakfast the next morning! Staff was great at keeping breakfast items stocked. We were on the side facing the auto dealer, so very little road or train noise.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickSolvang_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Greetings! Happy summer! Thank you for a great feedback! We are so looking forward to host your future stay in the area!

Cheers!
-Grace M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I stay at many Residence Inn and Marriott Properties when I travel for business and was unexpectedly surprised by this one. Updated and clean rooms and a pretty cool little outdoor area outside the breakfast lounge which included a fire pit and nice pool. The cool surprise was the putting green which is a great way to share laughs with my employees after a long day. The beach is right down the street which I wish we could have utilized.

It is an extended stay hotel but we were only here for one night. But with all the cool little things at this hotel, I would be more than comfortable to stay at least a week.

If you are in the area don't miss this one just because it is an extended stay hotel. Clean comfortable and unique.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Crossbonz72 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Cheers! We are so pleased that enjoyed our beautiful product! Yes, we are a custom built Residence Inn by Marriott hotel up here in the beautiful Dana Point & San Juan Capistrano area! The hotel is a perfect fit for both short term & extended stay guest!

We are so looking forward to host you/family back in the area!

Have a wonderful summer!

-Grace M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
2.3 mi away
Best Western Capistrano Inn
Best Western Capistrano Inn
#1 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
383 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Beachfront Inn & Suites at Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
5 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
985 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano

Address: 33711 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-4817 (Formerly Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range: £130 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano near Dana Point, we combine all of the comforts of home along with modern amenities and a passion for service that makes every guest feel welcome. This San Juan Capistrano hotel offers 130 spacious suites with separate areas for sleeping, relaxing and cooking - full kitchens with granite countertops and convenient kitchen appliances. In addition, take advantage of complimentary grocery delivery, a free daily hot breakfast buffet, and free Wi-Fi throughout. Join us at The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. Three nights a week our hotel features a different opportunity to socialize in our lobby or outdoor space. Located off I-5, our hotel in San Juan Capistrano provides easy access to Dana Point, Mission San Juan Capistrano, Camino Real Playhouse and The Coach House. With two meeting rooms and 1,535 square feet of event space, our hotel offers full meeting and event services with A/V technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing