We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food at a great price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mission Grill

Mission Grill
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: a lilttle outdoor restaurant
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food at a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We had burritos after seeing the Mission--lots of good food at a small price. Tables outside on a covered patio.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sometime_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best meal with a Mission View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great fresh food at a very reasonable price. You sit outside right across from the Mission, so you have a view that's great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point Sailor
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just okay...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Have tried this place three times, once the day it opened: Craziness...they opened during Swallows Days in SJC...and ran out of meat. I did not care for the doneness (too raw) of my burger but gave them another try about 8 months later. hoping that they just had more than they could handle on opening day.
No improvement in quality of food...just no taste. Blah. Then I tried one more time in the past 6 months...still no improvement. This establishment will survive only because of its proximity to tourist attractions downtown, as I do not know any locals that eat there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cadreamin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, surprising variety, good value, great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

When I travel I rarely eat at the same place twice, so when I do it's because it made an impression. We loved the food here so much we came back the next day too. The owner and his wife bring their respective Greek and Italian heritages to the cuisine. The fish and shrimp tacos are a must try...grilled or battered...both great. There are many great finds on the menu beyond the tacos and burritos too. John (the owner) is really great. He takes great pleasure in meeting and greeting guests. If you're in San Juan Capistrano, be sure to give Mission Grill a try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank powskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My 1st Sopes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Really enjoyed this walk up & order diner?/ restaurant. Great menu featuring mexican style dishes & hamburgers. Located near the famous San Juan Capistrano Mission & walking distance to shops.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LilHotNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mission Grill also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to Mission Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing