We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall, pretty good”
Review of The Olives Branch

The Olives Branch
Reserve with OpenTable
The Olives Branch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
San Juan Capistrano, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Overall, pretty good”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We've eaten here 4 or 5 times. We've never been disappointed, but were only truly impressed a couple times. When the owner is around, he engages the customers, makes sure the guests feel welcome - part of the family - and everyone has a great time, including the kids. Other times, service good (sometimes under staffed), food is good, atmosphere is average.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BennyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
93 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Choice for San Juan Capistrano Dining”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A friend and I were looking for an upscale restaurant in San Juan Capistrano, and The Olives Branch has favorable reviews.

I had the Wild Atlantic Salmon which was excellent. It was served with a delicious hummus on the side. You can see a photo of that and other dishes on the restaurant's well-designed website. Lentil soup was an excellent starter, too.

We enjoyed a Mark West Pinot Noir that was good and fairly priced--no wine price-gouging which is all too common in restaurants.

This is a family-run restaurant that takes pride in what it serves to customers. We had a pleasant chat with our server who was also a family member.

If you want a comfortable restaurant with food that's a bit different from the ordinary, The Olives Branch is a good choice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iQuack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lebanese Food”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Highly recommend this restaurant if you are looking for home cooked Lebanese dishes.
The appetizers alone are outstanding: hummus,tabouleh, and baba ghanouj can be a meal
by themselves. The kibbie , chicken, and skewered filet are cooked to perfection. I will absolutely return to this local gem.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder City, NV
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quiet, off the beaten track”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Came for lunch, nice decor, owners & servers friendly, food was good, and wine selection fine. Will return again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thankful-desertite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Middle Eastern Restaurant”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Everything I have tried at the Olive Branch has been delicious! I have tried the kibbie, baba ghannouj, fattosh, hummus, falafel, grape leaves, tabouleh, yogurt cucumber salad, kefta pizza, lentil soup. The owners are friendly and go above and beyond to make your dining experience special, they treat you like family:) They also have entertainment on the weekends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skallab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olives Branch also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to The Olives Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing