We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Dishes”
Review of Aldo's Sidewalk Caffe - CLOSED

Aldo's Sidewalk Caffe
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing Dishes”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I was very excited to try Aldo's after reading all of the great reviews. Unfortunately, this was the worst eating choice that we made during our 8 day trip through California.

The bread was delicious. Perhaps we would have been happier had we chosen a sandwich. The salads that came with our meal were pretty good. Our entrees--- seafood pasta dish and eggplant dish were very disappointing. My son hated the sauce and I wasn't a fan either. My eggplant was slimy.

The owner served us and was pleasant, but it did take a long time to get our meals and frankly I couldn't wait to pay and get out of there. Not the greatest atmosphere, had the food been good, I could have ignored the lackluster surroundings.

Only Italian food that we had during the trip and it was a bust. Bottom line: Try some place else or go with a sandwich.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lvlady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD!!!”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Wow !! Order the special dosnt matter what it is it will be great. Try the Salmon with capers or any of Aldos pastas..I have been going here for YEARS and I will keep going whenever I visit San Juan.. Don't miss out on this great place!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant in Orange County”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We stumbled onto Aldo's by accident since my wife had her hair done next door. She no longer goes to that salon but we keep coming back to the restaurant. The menu is staggeringly varied, with an emphasis on seafood (the seafood crepes are to die for). The place is tiny, but conveniently located, with a nice old-world bistro flavor on the interior. Aldo himself is the chef (world quality), the maitre d', occasionally the waiter and when need be, the cashier. Magnificent panini for lunch, full range of dinner entrees, all inexpensive, and decent wine at reasonable prices (try the Candoni Pino G).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barringtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, CO
Level Contributor
251 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Chef Aldo does it Right”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This is one of our favorite little places in downtown San Juan Capistrano, hidden away in a office park-shopping center. It is not fancy and can be crowded but the food Aldo's serves is delicious. We have tried several items on our frequent visits to SJC and have always found them to be fresh, tasty and with just the right Italian spices. We have not been disappointed with anything we have eaten and have told several friends about Aldo's. They tell us they love it too. No fancy clothes, no fancy glasses or tables but really good Italian food prepared by an original Italian chef. It is tricky to find but the effort is worth the search.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Triumph1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I looked up this caffe to meet a friend visiting from NJ. I chose it because it had great reviews. We were not disappointed it is just like they mentioned. Great food, service and value. Staff very friendly and accomodating. The pannini sandwiches are outstanding with some fabulous tomatoes and herbs. I cannot wait to go there again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marylousanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aldo's Sidewalk Caffe also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing