We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Decent Price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Capistrano Inn
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The location here is great. The staff was very helpful. The rooms have a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The bed was firm, but was comfortable. We requested second floor and that was provided. The breakfast was adequate, but the only eggs were hard boiled and there was no meat provided. We found plenty to eat! The rooms had granite counters in bath area and there was plenty of hot water for the shower. The hotel is walking distance to downtown SJC, the Mission and the train. The hotel has a shuttle that you can use if you don't want to walk through the construction area. The construction will continue for at least another year. Overall we found this to be the best location and price in the area. It's not fancy but it does the job.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugs-LewSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

The major problem with this hotel is the construction on the new ramps for I-5. There is no sign easily visible at night on the Ortega Highway, so when we got off I-5 we drove past the hotel at first. Because traffic was squeezed into two fewer lanes than normal, it was impossible to take a left turn when leaving the hotel; we had to go right and u-turn. The Mission, the shops and restaurants are withing easy walking distance, but getting there takes forever because you have to cross Ortega several times (the sidewalk is blocked by construction first on one side then on the other) and the traffic requires that you wait for crossing lights.

None of this is the hotel's fault, of course. Check in was courteous and efficient, as was check out. The room was good sized and had a small balcony. It was generally clean, although we did find a couple of insects, which is not unexpected in this climate. The free breakfast was limited, but adequate.

Wait a year until the construction work is finished, and this will be an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceWallingford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were attending the Rodeo. It was a short drive to the Rodeo. Ad just a few minute walk the train station, dinner at the El Adobe and dancing at the Swallows nest. Great location, clean. Walls are thin so you can hear the neighbors TV. Overall - very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I could not believe this from a Best Western. Sometimes its the little things that add up to an overall impression. First off we were put in a room with 2 queen size beds instead of the king we had requested. No big deal - it worked. Secondly the bathroom amenities were seriously lacking. You get soap and shampoo, that's it. There was no lotion, no conditioner and no bath mat. When I asked for at least a bath mat, we were then shorted one large towel. Really? As mentioned by a previous reviewer, the breakfast selection was meager and not all that inviting. Because we paid top dollar during the summer, I must say that we seriously overpaid for this experience. We were at the hotel for several days so, as I said, it was the small things that added up to less than a stellar review. We did have a balcony but the screen did not close properly and left a big gap between the screen and door frame.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1stemee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

good location although it can be a walk to sightsee. you see I did not have car. it would have been nice if the hotel staff informed me off rides available. I would advise to have a car as this is not a walkable area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert G, General Manager at Best Western Capistrano Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

We appreciate you taking time to comment about your recent stay. Your feedback helps us make adjustments, creating better experiences for guest in the future. We have a complimentary shuttle to get guests around town. I apologize for no one informing you about this service at check in. We appreciate your business and hope to see you next time you visit the beautiful town of San Juan Capistrano..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very pleasant, clean and convenient to everything we wanted. The only drawback was the road construction nearby. And we do understand that project will be completed soon! We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Angelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I first started going down to San juan Capistrano I was staying at another hotel until I found this one. It's close to everything. Store's, train, restaurants and shopping. I have been staying at this Best Western going on two years now and I still look forward on each visit seeing all the friendliest staff. The check in time if you could even call it "Time" Is the fastest. The Rooms are always clean. Plenty of extra towels, blankets, Ice and the pool and hot tube are always very clean and relaxing. This has to be one of the best if not the best chain hotel I have ever stayed. Right now even with all the construction going on the place is still beautifully cleaned. Robert G and his staff have been the best on all our visits and Sheila and I are looking forward to seeing everybody there very soon again. Thank you Best Western.

Room Tip: All suites are beautiful. The one's in the 400's are balcony suites. Nice if you'd like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank DinoSoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Residence Inn Dana Point San Jua...
#2 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
178 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Beachfront Inn & Suites at Dana Point
3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
5 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Capistrano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Capistrano Inn

Address: 27174 Ortega Hwy, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-2702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range: £87 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Capistrano Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn- The Swallows Resting Place. Discover why the city of San Juan Capistrano is a must see travel destination when you stay at this property located just two blocks from historical Mission San Juan Capistrano®. With easy access to the 5 freeway and our Central location between Los Angeles and San Diego the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn makes it easy to enjoy the area's many attractions. We believe location matters a lot. Located just Four miles from beautiful Orange County beaches and near Top attractions such as Knott's Berry Farm®, Soak City® Water Park, Disneyland®, California Adventure® and SeaWorld® this property offers the location at an affordable rate. Mission San Juan Capistrano® various events bring guests to our hotel year-round. However, our hospitality, spacious cool rooms and Best Western amenities are what make guests feel at home. This hotel boasts the friendliest service in town, and we're committed to making you feel welcomed and comfortable. Business guests of the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn will also appreciate this hotel's close proximity to area businesses including Costco® Wholesale, Wal-Mart®, Quest Diagnostics®, Mission Viejo Hospital, The Shops at Mission Viejo® and many more. Book your BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn room today! Enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Capistrano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capistrano Hotel San Juan Capistrano
Best Western San Juan Capistrano
San Juan Capistrano Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing