We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apathetic and Underwhelming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Capistrano Inn
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

My family had come down with the flu and we needed to find a hotel during Christmas weekend. With the reviews being somewhat consistent, I would have expected a little more. Our trip was already setback after everyone came down with the flu, so we were grateful to have found a place to stay for the entire weekend. Well, that was soon diminished by the greeting we received by the completely unenthusiastic front desk agent. Our room was next to a staircase, which I understand has to be filled at some point, but at the very least advise your guest on the location. The next morning, we had no hot water and the response we got (didn't include an apology from the front desk agent) was, "Give it five minutes, the pipes are old." So, after the second phone call I asked for the manager, Robert, who was helpful and placed us in a new room. Overall, the experience was a total disappointment to an already disappointing Christmas. I, myself, work in customer service and would not retain any of my guests if I treated them so poorly. The front desk staff was just absolutely worthless and unprofessional. I will be giving a call to Best Western corporate, in which a rewards card simply will not suffice for this complete lack of work ethic. Some people are cut out for hospitality and some aren't. If you don't like being of service and are more interested in yourself, then this simply is not the job for you. My advice to you, the hotel, is to figure out who is actually interested in not just showing up for a job, but doing it and doing it with a smile.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is a nice, basic motel/inn. And while the digs would be considered normal (not fancy), the staff is GREAT! They are very friendly and helpful, so big points for that! This place is easily accessed from the 5 Freeway off at Ortega and is (except for the current construction) walkable (although they do have a van) to historic downtown San Juan Capistrano's mission, restaurants and train station. We used it for guests coming for an event downtown….. and everyone was happy!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert G, General Manager at Best Western Capistrano Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for choosing The Best Western Capistrano Inn. We are pleased to hear that you noticed some of the many near by attractions. We pride ourselves in creating a welcoming environment and our dedication to cleanliness. We are also striving to continue to offer the best value for amenities offered in South Orange County. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times for business. The rooms are nice and roomy, the balconies are the best to relax on after a long day at work. The best is the greatest BBQ place I've found is within walking distance from the Hotel. It's got great food, a lot of fun and fun people; the locals are what makes this eatery feel like the best perk to the hotel. The combination of the hotel being a place with a sense of pride and to get a great meal right around the corner, is the place for me to relax after a long day's work, to just enjoy the ambiance of the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Mona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This Best Western is very conveniently located close to I-5, also a high-end mall with a fine portrait art gallery that was the object of our visit. The price was very good, so I am reluctant to mention that the overall area could use a sprucing up, but it could.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Right off freeway, minutes from San Juan Capistrano attractions. Modest hotel with dated accommodations. Good deal on booking.com. As a note, do be cautious of the fog that rolls in off the ocean. No one warned me and it was an ordeal to drive thru thick evening fog to reach hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Located off a main roadway, older property, walk outs, clean with your basic furnishings. Room was quiet, beds were so so. Able to park in front of your room easy to cart your luggage in. Will probably do a return visit in May on a motorcycles trip

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CocoLoco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have stayed at this property many times for one reason or another. It is always clean and in good working order. The staff always provides efficient service. The breakfast is pretty basic for this type of accommodation. My only complaint is in the quality of coffee in the room. It is really quite bad. I will definitely stay here again whenever I am in the area and needing a place to sleep without frills, but wanting something more that a Motel 6 experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Residence Inn Dana Point San Jua...
#2 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
177 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
5.3 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Capistrano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Capistrano Inn

Address: 27174 Ortega Hwy, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-2702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range: £89 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Capistrano Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn- The Swallows Resting Place. Discover why the city of San Juan Capistrano is a must see travel destination when you stay at this property located just two blocks from historical Mission San Juan Capistrano®. With easy access to the 5 freeway and our Central location between Los Angeles and San Diego the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn makes it easy to enjoy the area's many attractions. We believe location matters a lot. Located just Four miles from beautiful Orange County beaches and near Top attractions such as Knott's Berry Farm®, Soak City® Water Park, Disneyland®, California Adventure® and SeaWorld® this property offers the location at an affordable rate. Mission San Juan Capistrano® various events bring guests to our hotel year-round. However, our hospitality, spacious cool rooms and Best Western amenities are what make guests feel at home. This hotel boasts the friendliest service in town, and we're committed to making you feel welcomed and comfortable. Business guests of the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn will also appreciate this hotel's close proximity to area businesses including Costco® Wholesale, Wal-Mart®, Quest Diagnostics®, Mission Viejo Hospital, The Shops at Mission Viejo® and many more. Book your BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn room today! Enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Capistrano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capistrano Hotel San Juan Capistrano
Best Western San Juan Capistrano
San Juan Capistrano Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing