We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven on the bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Leandro
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia River Gorge WA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven on the bay”
Reviewed 29 April 2011

If your ever in Oakland area near the airport I have great news for you. There is a hidden treasure of a place called San Leandro Marina Inn. You would never expect to come around a corner on Marina off of Doolittle ( A right out of the airport Oakland) and see this great wonderful independent hotel. As you enter the glass doors you are immediately met by a staff that is second to none. Hiltons, Marriotts, large corp hotels could learn some great lessons here on supreme customer service, Yes, Supreme! An experience that frankly you just have to experience for yourself. This is my second stay and I have already booked two upcoming weeeks for May. Great rooms , clean and nice . Request Bay view if you want to really have a treat! The suites are also very nice! This is a 10 star hidden magical place. I love watching the sunsets off my deck here as It over looks the marina and GREAT view on a clear day of the San Francisco city skyline. Breakfast is excellent and now they have the belgium waffle set up. Nothing here requested goes without the staffs complete attention and follow-up. The staff alone makes your stay fantastic. Ask to meet the Manager, If she is in you'll love her warmth and attention to your needs. These places are getting hard to find near big cities.I know I travel world wide and this is simply one of my favorite places to hide away!. Great food close by and in San Leandro proper.
Want to experience a world away from Oakland airport/ Oakland or San Francisco. This is simply stated your ticket. Feels like a vacation even on business, Pool/ Jacuzzi, View off pool to marina and bay.
Well worth checking out , Trust me! You may just fall in love with the mood the staff puts you in and the view out your balcony . Not enough stars here to stress its a sleeper in a beautiful place. Park, Golf, Shopping, its all close by.
Tell them Heartflight sent you............. Cookies and milk in the evening, free papers of all local and USA. Quite simply put one hidden treasure on the bay!!
Check out thier web site. sanleandromarinainn.com. Then pamper yourself and stay in a place that is warm and feels at home with a great view from Bay rooms.
Enjoy. I sure do!!!
Heartflight

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heartflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    134
    25
    5
    9
See reviews for
136
142
35
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We only got to stay here one day, but this hotel appears to be something of a proverbial hidden gem of sorts, as it is definitely out of the way (it's a good mile or two from the main freeway on the harbor) but it is pretty close to OAK International with a back way (via Doolittle) that avoids rush hour traffic.

The area is something of a recreational oasis, with a nearby golf course and park and pathways that go along the shore if you're into running or biking (I've run on these paths before) - in fact, the hotel has bikes available for borrowing if you want to take advantage of the paths.

I called up and got a rate that was below which I could've gotten via their website. The staff proved to be quite friendly, and the rooms were spacious with some fairly nice showers for the class hotel level into which this Inn falls.

This is more close to the Oakland/Berkeley area, but is close enough to San Francisco and might be close enough to South Bay locations to use this Inn as a centralized spot of sort.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JO2TheSecond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Stayed out in the bay area for a week on business and found this hotel on tripadvisor. I couldn't find anything at all wrong with the hotel, very clean, polite staff and a nice location right on the marina. The breakfast in the morning was great and included in the room rate which was reasonable as well.
The bed was confortable and the rooms had a nice large flat screen, coffee and even a microwave and mini fridge in the cabinet under the tv.
The only and I mean only drawback is again the location if you are in the mood to go out at night, there is really nowhere to go aside from Horatio's which as good as it was can get a bit pricy.

Do not hesitate to book here, well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beulah, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2011

The service began with the wonderful help with my phone reservations. It was top quality. The entire staff was always there to help with any request big or small and very prompt. I cannot say enough about their service.
My room had a wonderful view of the marina from my balcony with terrific comfort. Everything was taken care of each day of my stay just like walking in on my first evening. I entered my room to beautiful fresh flowers with a sensual aroma.
The shuttle service to and from the airport were exceptional also as was the use of the bicyles during the day when wanted.
Breakfast in the morning was one of the better ones that I have experienced. I look forward to coming back for pleasure or business.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Desk staff was very friendly and quite accomodating. Amentities compare with any chain hotel, but this has a quaint feel to it. Lovely view, and more charming. Convenient restaurant right next door with lively atmosphere. Complimentary breakfast was good for being continental-more than adequate, literally! Slight air traffic was not noisy. I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norcross, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

On assignment for several month in San Leandro. After two disasterous experiences in other hotels, spent the weekend searching for some decent housing. Came across this gem. Driving up, I thought it was going to be another bad experience and almost did not stop. This is a privately held hotel, family owned. They treat you like family, take care of all your needs and go above and beyond. The breakfast is free, fresh fruit, eggs, cereal, waffles. Cookies & milk at 5PM and they will hold some for you if you work late.
They are so kind...The rooms are very nice. If you are expecting some sort of 5 star, over the top place, grand & brand new, then look elsewhere. I wanted some place where I felt I was on vacation after a long day of work. A recent business trip to Anaheim, yes, I stayed in one of those grand places and it was noisy, I felt like if I flushed the toilet I would be charged...Not here... I love the fact that this gem of a hotel with a terrific staff treats you like family, the rooms are light, bright, decorated with nautical theme, the mattresses are new and comfortable. The maids keep your room spotless and well stocked and they give you free water instead of the chains that rob you for $5 a bottle. I have a view, a balcony, fridge, microwave and and all the comforts I need, including a heated pool and jacuzzi. Let's support people like this! Service like this just does not happen at most of the big chains.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rasoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We chose this hotel on a recommendation from family but primarily because of it's proximity to family in the are and price. We could not have been more surprised with this charming hotel and the service was unparralleled. We were met at the airport with the hotel shuttle (did not wait more than 15 min) then welcomed into a lovely lobby with a fire and extremely helpful staff. Rooms were very adequate--great showers!-with microwave & fridge. The continental breakfast was another nice surprise with the variety of items and fresh fruit every day. Hotel and grounds were impeccably clean and the manager was certain to check in on us and our stay. Can't be beat.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheels44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Leandro
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
882 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#12 of 49 in Oakland
956 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay

Property: The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay
Address: 68 Monarch Bay Dr, San Leandro, CA 94577-6427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Leandro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Leandro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay is a peaceful waterfront hotel for business or pleasure, offering a full range of resort and conference facilities overlooking a beautiful Marina, adjacent to Monarch Bay Golf Club, and just five minutes from Oakland Airport. Guests enjoy a value unparalleled in the Oakland/San Francisco/Bay Area, with all rates including an array of complimentary amenities and services such as Courtesy Shuttle Service, Deluxe Continental Breakfast, high speed wifi, Free Parking, local calls and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marina Inn On San Francisco Bay Hotel San Leandro
San Leandro Marina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing