We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and sports!”
Review of Englander

Englander
Ranked #53 of 252 Restaurants in San Leandro
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food and sports!”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

It was (I moved to other State) our venue for sports. Always good vibes at the crowded place. Good beer, good food, good bunch of people and sports, what else do we need? If it is nice weather, they have tables on the patio.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValeVexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    22
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great spot for a beer and a bite”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The Englander is a long-time fixture in San Leandro. It is usually crowded and noisy because of its popularity. In nice weather you can sit outside on the patio and enjoy your meal. They have an extensive selection of beers on tap and a surprisingly large menu of pub food and more.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LucyUtica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great "No Nonesense" food”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Good value food and Beers in a casual Sports Bar atmosphere. Always a great crowd and the food never disappoints. Besides the English favorites of Fish n' Chips they Seafood mixed Grill the REgular Mixed Grill and the Monterey Chicken Sandwich rock!!!
Love the Real Ale drawn from the Cask!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank fred b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“food and a comedy show”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I had no idea they had a comedy show until a friend invited at the last minute. The drinks were good and the show was even better, standing room after a while. After, the drinks were great and the sport bar made it worth while, especially the wings.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GNIFremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More sport than Pub”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

When I stopped in here it was dead, no game of any kind going on although multiple televisions were going with various shows most of which were sport related if you consider shopping and eating sporting events. Having been in real pubs, other than a few decorations one might expect in a pub, the resemblance to a pub ends here.

That said, the service was slow despite being one of maybe 5 customers. I am told I would not want to be there when a game is on as it is very loud and crowded. (My nephew knows I would like to hear conversations I am having.) The beer battered fries were outrageously yummy and the burger I had was also more than I could eat in one sitting and quite good.

It was pleasant and the food was good so overall I rated them high, if however you are looking for a bit of Brit in San Leandro I suspect you will be disappointed. If you want good food and reasonable prices and don't mind a bit of a wait even if it is slow this is a good place to go.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silvatungfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Englander also viewed

 

Been to Englander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing