We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all Costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Avoid at all Costs”
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We came here to see my wife's son graduate from SLO. I wish we had driven to Pasa Robles or anyplace within 50 miles in order to avoid staying here. Filthy, run down. A terrible value at any price. "Free continental breakfast" is bad coffee in the office complete with sugar and non dairy creamer.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlin_cpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    8
    19
    11
    25
See reviews for
13
21
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2009

To put it simply; there are plastic covers on the beds, the non-smoking rooms have cigarette burns all over and wreaked of old cigarettes, and their idea of cleaning the room is changing the sheets and wiping the mirror-while ignoring the rest of the room.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookingwithcuprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2008

I stayed here for $60 and thought it was good value for that. I stayed in a clean and spacious room with a/c - you can't ask for much more from a basic motel. I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weary-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Stayed here for two nights to see SLO. The location is good, just a couple of minutes drive from the action. Road noise is minimal from the freeway. The hotel is old, but fairly well maintained and cleaned for a hotel of this price range. Front desk are helpful, and parking is free. We wanted a budget nights sleep in San Luis Obispo, and this fit the bill. As a bonus, the open air corridor in front of our room had a lovely view of a nearby mountain.

  • Liked — Cheapness
  • Disliked — Age of building
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank val30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

Since our last Rodeway inn experience was good, we gave this hotel a shot.

This hotel is an avg budget hotel with no frills.

Pros:
1. Clean bed
2. Microwave and refrig in the room (we didn't use it though)
3. Good eating places close by
4. Free coffee and muffins

Cons:
1. The bathroom was clean but needed some touch up
2. The room needed a bit of maintenance. I could see a couple of places where the wood had chipped off or cement was missing.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank trekker_globe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#27 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Inn & Suites
San Luis Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in San Luis Obispo
127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Padres Motel
Los Padres Motel
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunbeam Motel
Sunbeam Motel
#23 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
124 reviews
0.8 mi away
HI San Luis Obispo
HI San Luis Obispo
#2 of 5 in San Luis Obispo
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly

Property: Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly
Address: 1001 Olive St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-2361 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Obispo Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing