We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MMMMMM!!!”

Franks Famous Hot Dogs
Ranked #49 of 302 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Cuisines: American, Diner, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Bradley
Level Contributor
355 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“MMMMMM!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have eaten there more than a few times and I've loved their kraut dogs and their regular dogs. It's one of my favorite hot dog places around! Everybody is so friendly, too!! It gets really crowded at lunch time (I guess because it's close to the college?) so plan accordingly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank K. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    39
    20
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Hills
Level Contributor
587 reviews
478 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Frank's Famous Hot Dogs for Breakfast?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Yep, had one of the Frank's Breakfast Burritos yesterday morning. Big tortilla filled with eggs, home fries, bacon, cheddar cheese, onions, tomatoes, and other good stuff. Everything was fresh and it was quite filling. Next time: I try the "Famous" Hot Dogs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Can't Miss Place for Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Amazing breakfast at this counter service establishment. Give it a try is you love historical diner vibe, you'll love it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank westcoastgirl075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What can I say!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Breakfast or Lunch are both good here and the food is a large selection you have trouble making up your mind what you are gong to eat. Not just a hot dog place by any means so don't let the name fool you!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beverly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hot dog place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Ate here while visiting my daughter. I had the chili dog and chili fries, then made mistake of ordering a corn dog. I was stuffed both chili items were good but I prefer no beans in my chili. The corn dog was really good too. My wife had just a plain hot dog and onion rings. She enjoyed both. My daughter had the mini burger, they looked good. We went there on Sunday night and enjoyed the $1.99 milk shake. I guess on Monday they serve a $1 mini burger. My daughter said it gets packed. I would recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jroman5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Franks Famous Hot Dogs also viewed

San Luis Obispo County, CA
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Franks Famous Hot Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing