We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice, highly recommended.”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in a room right off the lobby, nice sized room with a king sized bed, fireplace and sitting area. The mattress was one of the most comfortable that I have ever slept on. The room was very quiet and well kept and furnished. If you dont like a canopy bed and a look of overstuffed Americana farm motif-stay elsewhere. The hotel and grounds are a fantasy farm with a water wheel and beautiful gardens and ponds. The service was excellent with friendly people at the front desk to the excellent staff at the gift shop and restaurant. The food (we only had breakfast) was quite good and reasonably priced. The location is excellent- only a few blocks from the center of town. San Luis Obispo is a very nice small town with the old California feel. We had our bicycles and rode everywhere. The hotel was nice about letting us keep them in our room and didnt seem to mind when we pushed them thru the lobby every morning.
Free internet, drinks and cookies in the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manabouttown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2011

Thank you for your review and comments about your stay at our property. We really do value all of our guest feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and got to experience the various aspects of our facility. Riding bikes around downtown San Luis Obispo really is the perfect way to see the town and we are glad that our rooms could accommodate them. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,424)
There are newer reviews for Apple Farm Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,123 - 1,129 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2011

Arrived just in time for the afternoon wine and snacks! Our room was a delight. Charming, cozy and very comfortable. Would love to stay again as we only stayed 1 night on the way down coast to LA.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Adrain20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2011

Thank you for your review of our property. We are pleased that you got to experience our Guest Wine Reception and that you plan to return to our hotel in the future! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We booked our stay through hotwire.com and got a very good price. I see from the reviews that some people think this place is a little bit over the top, but my wife and kids (and myself) loved it. The hotel definitely has character and is an attraction in itself. Great place to stay if you drive beautiful Highway 1 and maybe visit Hearst Castle like we did on our way to fabulous SFO.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed all the different aspects of our hotel and grounds. Stopping here while traveling up Highway 1 really is convenient and the drive to Hearst Castle is so breathtaking. We hope to welcome you and your family again on your next visit to California!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

I got this hotel via Hotwire, so I didn't know what I was getting till after I paid for it. While I got a good value for the price, and even though the room was clean and spacious enough and had basically everything I needed, including free wifi... I have to say that the style and theme of this place is basically a floral victorian nightmare. There is not a square inch of the place that is not completely covered with americana knickknacks, busy wall paper and fabric covered in flowers or plaid or other crazy country quaint designs. It reeks of potpourri and will make you feel like an 80 year old grandma. Did I mention the rooms have canopy beds that are like 4 feet off the ground? Yes it's "comfortable" and clean and quiet -- but it also may drive you insane.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oshan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We really do appreciate all of our guest feedback. Our Inn is decorated in a more floral country decor and we are beginning to update many of our rooms in more modern country style which includes a little less of the floral patterns that we have had in the past. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Have been staying here for years; last child now at Cal Poly. Friendly efficient service, spacious rooms, comfortably firm beds with lots of pillows, gas fireplace, clean and safe for a mom traveling alone. The decor is tasteful and classically charming. If this were a private residence, it could be considered outdated, however, this is the "Apple Farm" and the ambiance provides an historic experience. The restaurant food and service could stand some improvement but the extensive gift shop is delightful!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BayAreaRes54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your stays over the years and that your recent stay did not disappoint. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Your mother and grandmother will love this place. Especially if they like knick-knacks and cutesy stuff like doilies, rooster statues and homemade jams. Apple Farm features about as much country charm as anyone can handle, but it really is a pleasant place to stay. The rooms are nice, the bed has a roof, and they give you little apple juice bottles shaped like apples. Free cookies too. I highly recommend the outdoor hot tub. It's in a nice quiet backyard garden. Breakfast in bed was a nice feature but could have offered more choice - it was a bunch of stuff from the on-site bakery and sliced melons, mostly. No eggs, toast, etc. The hair dryer lacked power and will leave a long-haired woman with wet hair, and the TV is in a cupboard off to the side of the room. We never even turned it on. They did have a wine-and-cheese reception for guests which I think they do every night. We didn't go, but it looked alright from what we saw. There's free, coffee and lemonade in the lobby. Also free cookies. Overall a nice place with thoughtful little touches. Just make sure you like apple memorabilia!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammyNPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2011

Thank you for reviewing our property. Our hot tub rooms are really nice for relaxing and enjoying our mild weather. We are thrilled that you enjoyed yours. The decor of our hotel is decidedly country and can be over the top, but it is what we are known for! Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Coffee at Restuarant cold....Bug in room, rooms are very very small...tv is very small. Blow dryer was about break down. Service personnel not very friendly. Grounds were not well kept, trash and dirt by railings. Bathroom was very small, no counter space.

The best part of the stay was the free cookie.....one bright spot

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeke40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I sincerely apologize that your room and our grounds did not meet your expectations. Clearly, this stay was not up to Apple Farm standards and we would love the opportunity to make it right. Please contact the hotel directly for resolution. In regards to your room, our Trellis Court rooms do tend to be on the smaller side and are designed for the overnight traveler with the same country charm as our Inn rooms. Our Inn rooms offer guests a larger more deluxe experience with upgraded amenities. We are usually known for having beautiful and well-kept grounds. I am disappointed to hear that this was not the case during your stay. I will pass your comments on to our landscape manager, so that we may resolve them immediately. Thank you again for your comments and the opportunity to continually improve and better serve our guests. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
727 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
398 reviews
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,223 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £145 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing