We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kitsch comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kitsch comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We only stayed for one night at Apple Farm Inn but really enjoyed our stay. I was a bit taken aback by the kitsch nature of the furnishings and decorations as an attempt at manufactured charm but that would be unfair. The staff at reception were exceptionally friendly and we were greeted with some welcome drinks and biscuit/cookie.

The room has a four poster bed and was extremely comfortable. The room was a good size, and very clean. We didn't spend that much time in the hotel as we went to catch a double bill at the drive in movie theatre (a first for us, and a rarity for most British people I imagine).

I should definitely make mention of the restaurant where we had an amazing and hearty breakfast before departing. Generous portions and good quality cooking. It's also worth having a wander around the grounds which were nice.

It's a shame our stay was so brief but based on our experience would definitely recommend Apple Farm Inn to other travellers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baydr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Apple Farm Inn and Restaurant. We are glad you had the chance to stay with us during your trip to the United States. It is great to hear that you felt welcomed by our guest reception staff. We work very hard to provide excellent guest service and anything less is not up to our standards. We hope you enjoyed your entire trip through California and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    391
    113
    49
    27
See reviews for
332
662
45
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
352 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have stayed at the Apple Farm Inn for many years.

We love it - just to relax and enjoy our room, to take day trips up the coast, to go the ocean, to visit the Cal Poly, etc. We love just walking around downtown San Luis Obispo (SLO) - there is so much to see, to do, and you can just relax, also.

The staff at the Inn are very nice, pleasant and helpful.

We have so enjoyed the 'look" of the Inn and rooms over the years and were a bit concerned when we heard that there had been rennovations. Well, we need not have worried! While a completely different look than before, the room was really lovely and restful to be in. My husband especially loved the huge TV (vs. one tucked away in an amoire!)

And . .in the rennovations, they have added a fridge to the room; this is great. A micro would complete the ammenities!!!! (hence 4 stars) They have tea, water, coffee, and/or hot cider throughout the day - and sometimes when you take it back to your room it cools down - how perfect it would be to be able to heat it up (or a left over from a meal from a local restaruant.)

Several years ago they switched tea brands, and I do not find the new brand to be the quality of the previous brand. (And I realize for some, this is no biggie!)

We were in a king room on the second (main) floor and loved it.

In the evenings at 7 PM they have cookies in the lobby for guests. Even at 7:25 they were all gone! We heard many guests complaining about that. The Inn's response is that they put out 2 trays and have a sign saying to take only 1 or 2, but. . . people take more. It seems to us that a solution could be found for this problem (more cookies, cookies given at check-in, or ???) This isn't a new problem.

The gift shop is always fun as is the Mill House (now their outlet store with discounted items)

We will be back - it is a lovely place to come - to relax or to do things -

Room Tip: Creekside room if you like to have windows open and listen to the water running and birds chirping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveGetAways70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Apple Farm. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us over the years. We are so glad that you like the renovations, our goal is to provide an updated look that will not disappoint our loyal guests. In regards to the cookies, we are working on a solution to this problem which we hope will be resolved by the time you come back to stay with us. Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was a one night stay when we toured part of the region's beautiful wine country. Because it was "off" season and quieter, the room rate was very reasonable.
We stayed in a lovely roomy, renovated King room - decorated like something out of Better Homes and Garden. Very comfy bed, linens and furnishings, fireplace, comfortable love seat, magazines, good-sized flat screen TV, cd player. The staff were friendly and helpful and there were terrific cookies fron the on-site bakery in the late afternoon/evening.
We were staying on a Thursday and while we could have taken the trolley next door to get to the farmer's market in town, we walked the twenty minutes. It was a lot of fun - the street is closed for several blocks and there is all kinds of food - corn on the cob, bbq,local fresh fruit and veg, etc.
We ate breakfast in the restaurant where they serve well cooked, fresh, homemade food at reasonable prices. The biscuits were excellent as were the omelet and eggs benedict.
If we return to the area, we would definitely stay at the Apple Farm Inn again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. There is some traffic noise as the Inn is right off the highway, but hidd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdngrl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at the Apple Farm. We are glad you enjoyed staying in a newly renovated room. We have been diligently updating our rooms, some of which now include flat screen TVs and mini refrigerators. It is great that you had a chance to eat at our restaurant. We are so glad you enjoyed your breakfast; it is one of our specialties. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We've stayed at the Apple Farm many times. The place is very relaxing, with many flowers growing around the grounds. Be sure to arrive early enough for the guest reception (currently from 3:30 to 5pm), where you can typically enjoy a red or white wine or sparkling apple cider, cheese puffs and cookies. There is usually hot apple cider near the front desk, and they also bring out cookies at around 7pm.

Our favorite time of the year to visit is when the frogs in the creek are croaking, which was going on when we last stayed on 3/31. Another special time to visit the area is when the monarch butterflies migrate through the area, between late October and February. There's a eucalyptus grove in nearby Pismo Beach (see MonarchButterfy.org) where the trees get covered with monarchs. When the day warms up, the monarchs open their wings and flutter around. There's a farmers' market Thursday evenings in downtown SLO, which is more of an entertainment event, with lots of stands serving yummy food, especially BBQ, and with musicians playing in several locations. Downtown SLO is a long walk from the hotel, so you'll definitely work off that BBQ sauce.

The restaurant is good, but not outstanding. We highly recommend their breakfast in bed.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: The Apple Farm has two very different sections, one being more of a motel. The main section has cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningOnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Apple Farm. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us. It sounds like you have become very familiar with San Luis Obispo over the years. The Monarch butterflies and the Thursday night Farmer's Market are two great attractions. We are glad you choose to stay with us while exploring the central coast. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey County, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great place, beautiful room and location.
I will definitely make this place a must do
destination again. Eggs Benedict breakfast was perfect and they customized at my request. Had a hard time leaving, back to reality I guess.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badboyjedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room and our restaurant. The Eggs Benedict are a popular item on our menu and I am glad you had the chance to try them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Long story short - the staff at the inn are overall amazing, and if not for a couple of real standouts we'd probably give the inn one star.
Short version- I booked a long weekend for our 25th anniversary and was offered a promotional rate of $179/night for a deluxe room When the confirmation came back it was for $209. When I called I was told "the promotional rate was a mistake, I never should have offered it to you for the weekend." Finally after much upset spoke with the reservations manager who offered to honor the rate. They KNEW it was our 25th anniversary and many other reviews noted how special they were,offered little goodies or a card etc.
When we arrived we were offered what had to be the worst room in the inn- just off the lobby and the front door where you could hear EVERY conversation at the desk and hear people waking into the lobby. Not to mention there was a special tour weekend where groups of people were going to be traipsing through the lobby all day long! I begged for another room and Scott at the front desk was able to move things around and offer us the upgraded room we had paid for. But no one through any of the weekend offered us as much as a "happy anniversary."
But the room turned out great, the restaurant is great especially for breakfast and the recommendations the front desk made for outings and dinners were superb. But obviously don't p___off the reservations manager or she will assign you to room 202.

Room Tip: Get a 3rd floor room in the inn. If you need a good nights sleep don;t get a a "motel" ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta_A_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am terribly sorry to hear that your anniversary weekend was not what you were expecting. First off, I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered with your rate and your anniversary not being acknowledged. Both of these stem from mistakes made during the reservation process. I have notified our guest services manager who will be retraining the staff member who took your reservation. In regards to the room you were assigned, this is done at random by our computers unless there is a specific room requested by a guest. We would never assign a room to purposely make a guest upset. In the end, I am glad that we were able to move you into a room that you were more comfortable in. Our number one goal is to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Again, I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. We are thankful for the feedback, it will be used as a training tool and it will help us improve our services in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is one of the best places to stay in San Luis Obispo. It has charm, the rooms are big with country flair and so inviting. It's even a treat to just walk down the halls and view all the great decorating and merchandise you can buy if your tempted. Every room has a fireplace, great bed, inviting decor, wonderful bathrooms, complimentary robes during your stay, free wireless, a real treat! The staff is always helpful and very pleasant. The main Inn at the hotel is updating every room so things are fresh and high standard. They offer complimentary wine and appetizers every evening and yummy freshly baked cookies in the lobby. It has an adjoining restaurant and country store which is wonderful. Visit the Mill House round the corner from the main Inn, you'll find an outlet store on the first floor and two gorgeous rooms above if you want even more privacy or a real treat. Once you stay at the Apple Farm, you will want to return again and again. My daughter lives in the area and this is our 1st choice of stay when visiting her. We've been coming here for years, even before our daughter moved to SLO.

Room Tip: Though they have more affordable, but still cute rooms in the bugalows, the main "Inn" is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetbrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Apple Farm. I am thrilled to hear about everything you enjoy on our property. We appreciate your choice to stay with us while your daughter is in college and we hope to welcome you back in the years after she has graduated. Thank you again for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Property: Apple Farm Inn
Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing