We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint halls, nice room”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I liked this hotel despite its odd appearance. That is, its decorated by somebodies grandmother, and if you are older than 70 you will love it.

That said, the room was gorgeous (fireplace, couch, etc).

I would stay here again. Only reason i lowered the rating is because of the quaint hallways and entry (you would not gain "cool" points from friends by going here).

One extra i was surprised by, and liked...the free wine event in the evening....the wine was actually very good. (and the host was charming)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Apple Farm. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our quaint atmosphere is something that sets us apart from many other hotels. We are thrilled that you liked your room. Each room is decorated individually and has it's own personality. It is wonderful that you were able to attend our guest wine reception, it is a great way to relax and mingle with other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,041 - 1,047 of 1,445 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

Went there w/ two of my girlfriends for a girls trip. We had a wonderful time. The room was decorated very nicely and felt cozy. It was quite large w/ a nice seating area and fire place. The location is nice. We walked to the downtown area multiple times and felt very safe even coming back late. The service was nice. Everyone made our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadiashahmalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for your kind review of our property. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fun girl's getaway! We are glad that you enjoyed the room, having a fireplace can really provide a cozy atmosphere. We enjoy hearing that the staff made you all feel comfortable; this is one of our main priorities. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The location is poor, the rooms and bathrooms are very old.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfonso222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for reviewing the Apple Farm. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our accommodations. We do our best to keep everything as up to date as possible. We are going through a renovation for all of our rooms, but this is a process so it means that there are rooms on property that have not been redone. It sounds like you stayed in our Trellis Court which is the motel section of our property. These rooms are smaller than the rooms in our Main Inn and the bathrooms have a stand up shower as opposed to a shower and bathtub. These rooms are great for the single night traveler just passing through. We appreciate your feedback, it helps us continuously improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We only stayed for one night at Apple Farm Inn but really enjoyed our stay. I was a bit taken aback by the kitsch nature of the furnishings and decorations as an attempt at manufactured charm but that would be unfair. The staff at reception were exceptionally friendly and we were greeted with some welcome drinks and biscuit/cookie.

The room has a four poster bed and was extremely comfortable. The room was a good size, and very clean. We didn't spend that much time in the hotel as we went to catch a double bill at the drive in movie theatre (a first for us, and a rarity for most British people I imagine).

I should definitely make mention of the restaurant where we had an amazing and hearty breakfast before departing. Generous portions and good quality cooking. It's also worth having a wander around the grounds which were nice.

It's a shame our stay was so brief but based on our experience would definitely recommend Apple Farm Inn to other travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baydr Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for reviewing the Apple Farm Inn and Restaurant. We are glad you had the chance to stay with us during your trip to the United States. It is great to hear that you felt welcomed by our guest reception staff. We work very hard to provide excellent guest service and anything less is not up to our standards. We hope you enjoyed your entire trip through California and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have stayed at the Apple Farm Inn for many years.

We love it - just to relax and enjoy our room, to take day trips up the coast, to go the ocean, to visit the Cal Poly, etc. We love just walking around downtown San Luis Obispo (SLO) - there is so much to see, to do, and you can just relax, also.

The staff at the Inn are very nice, pleasant and helpful.

We have so enjoyed the 'look" of the Inn and rooms over the years and were a bit concerned when we heard that there had been rennovations. Well, we need not have worried! While a completely different look than before, the room was really lovely and restful to be in. My husband especially loved the huge TV (vs. one tucked away in an amoire!)

And . .in the rennovations, they have added a fridge to the room; this is great. A micro would complete the ammenities!!!! (hence 4 stars) They have tea, water, coffee, and/or hot cider throughout the day - and sometimes when you take it back to your room it cools down - how perfect it would be to be able to heat it up (or a left over from a meal from a local restaruant.)

Several years ago they switched tea brands, and I do not find the new brand to be the quality of the previous brand. (And I realize for some, this is no biggie!)

We were in a king room on the second (main) floor and loved it.

In the evenings at 7 PM they have cookies in the lobby for guests. Even at 7:25 they were all gone! We heard many guests complaining about that. The Inn's response is that they put out 2 trays and have a sign saying to take only 1 or 2, but. . . people take more. It seems to us that a solution could be found for this problem (more cookies, cookies given at check-in, or ???) This isn't a new problem.

The gift shop is always fun as is the Mill House (now their outlet store with discounted items)

We will be back - it is a lovely place to come - to relax or to do things -

Room Tip: Creekside room if you like to have windows open and listen to the water running and birds chirping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveGetAways70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for reviewing the Apple Farm. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us over the years. We are so glad that you like the renovations, our goal is to provide an updated look that will not disappoint our loyal guests. In regards to the cookies, we are working on a solution to this problem which we hope will be resolved by the time you come back to stay with us. Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was a one night stay when we toured part of the region's beautiful wine country. Because it was "off" season and quieter, the room rate was very reasonable.
We stayed in a lovely roomy, renovated King room - decorated like something out of Better Homes and Garden. Very comfy bed, linens and furnishings, fireplace, comfortable love seat, magazines, good-sized flat screen TV, cd player. The staff were friendly and helpful and there were terrific cookies fron the on-site bakery in the late afternoon/evening.
We were staying on a Thursday and while we could have taken the trolley next door to get to the farmer's market in town, we walked the twenty minutes. It was a lot of fun - the street is closed for several blocks and there is all kinds of food - corn on the cob, bbq,local fresh fruit and veg, etc.
We ate breakfast in the restaurant where they serve well cooked, fresh, homemade food at reasonable prices. The biscuits were excellent as were the omelet and eggs benedict.
If we return to the area, we would definitely stay at the Apple Farm Inn again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. There is some traffic noise as the Inn is right off the highway, but hidd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cdngrl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at the Apple Farm. We are glad you enjoyed staying in a newly renovated room. We have been diligently updating our rooms, some of which now include flat screen TVs and mini refrigerators. It is great that you had a chance to eat at our restaurant. We are so glad you enjoyed your breakfast; it is one of our specialties. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We've stayed at the Apple Farm many times. The place is very relaxing, with many flowers growing around the grounds. Be sure to arrive early enough for the guest reception (currently from 3:30 to 5pm), where you can typically enjoy a red or white wine or sparkling apple cider, cheese puffs and cookies. There is usually hot apple cider near the front desk, and they also bring out cookies at around 7pm.

Our favorite time of the year to visit is when the frogs in the creek are croaking, which was going on when we last stayed on 3/31. Another special time to visit the area is when the monarch butterflies migrate through the area, between late October and February. There's a eucalyptus grove in nearby Pismo Beach (see MonarchButterfy.org) where the trees get covered with monarchs. When the day warms up, the monarchs open their wings and flutter around. There's a farmers' market Thursday evenings in downtown SLO, which is more of an entertainment event, with lots of stands serving yummy food, especially BBQ, and with musicians playing in several locations. Downtown SLO is a long walk from the hotel, so you'll definitely work off that BBQ sauce.

The restaurant is good, but not outstanding. We highly recommend their breakfast in bed.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: The Apple Farm has two very different sections, one being more of a motel. The main section has cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscerningOnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Apple Farm. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us. It sounds like you have become very familiar with San Luis Obispo over the years. The Monarch butterflies and the Thursday night Farmer's Market are two great attractions. We are glad you choose to stay with us while exploring the central coast. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
733 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,239 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
403 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £119 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing