We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

We blindly booked as a destination hotel for our 10 th annv. We requested a creek side room. When we arrived our room was ready for us. Suite 315. What a well appointed and beautifully romantic room! The soft colors were soothing..decor quite charming and the bed oh so luxuriously comfortable. We enjoyed the window open by the sitting area of the room. You could hear the rushing water of the creek and frogs singing you into slumber. The fireplace was lovely, and bathroom large. We appreciated the fresh flowers on the mirror vase. The staff wad exceptionaly helpful. The cider and coffee and snacks in the lobby were a wonderful touch. We never made it to the complimentary wine reception . Beautiful grounds....felt like you were a guest in a grand home

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank furluvcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Thank you for reviewing the Apple Farm. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay! Happy 10th anniversary; we are so happy you could celebrate this momentous occasion with us! One of our main goals is to make our guests feel at home. We are glad you felt this hospitality while you were here. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,424)
There are newer reviews for Apple Farm Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

Nice to stay in a room with great American tradition--from the nice 4-poster bed to the comfortable settee, to the quaint writing desk, and the nice fireplace. Our room was on the top floor and we were overlooking the wooded creek. With the windows open we slept comfortably and peacefully to the sound of frogs and birds chirping. We heartily recommend this room! Next morning, had a very well prepared and hearty American breakfast at their restaurant and stopped in the well stocked gift shop to purchase a few gift items. The Inn serves as a wonderful base for exploring the wine country of the central coast.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor overlooking the wooded creek!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalGoodTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our rooms on the third floor creek side tend to be the favorite among many of our guests. The sounds of the frogs and the creek can be very soothing. We are glad you were able to dine in the restaurant and do some shopping as well. It sounds like you had the total Apple Farm experience! Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at Apple Farm for one night during a 3 week to California and rated it as one of the top 5 hotels that we stayed in. It was very different to the modern hotels we had been staying in and was a welcome change. As soon as we pulled up in the carpark I really liked the place. The buildings all have fairy lights around them, the walkways are filled with flowers and cute objects. it was lovely. we were checked in by a friendly and helpful member of staff who gave us a map of the town and recommended some good bars and restaurants to visit. there were also fresh free cookies to try, which were delicious! our room was in a single storey block, and had a 4 poster bed, sofa and fireplace. it was very nice. The room was clean and homely. The coffee machine is in the bathroom , which is a bit weird but not a problem. We went out for a nice meal and lots of drinks in San Luis Obispo which is a 10/15 min walk away. Before heading off the next morning we had a look around the hotel and its grounds, it really is beautiful and quaint. the old mill is nice and the free popcorn was a nice bonus. we had received a $5 off voucher to use in the restaurant (it must be used by 12noon on the day of departure) so we went for breakfast. I was a bit hungover but managed to eat some of the yummy food (the portions are huge!!) before explored the rest of San Luis Obispo (not a lot to see really) before we drove up the coast.

Overall - the hotel made this San Luis Obispo worth visiting. Its a really lovely, cute, old style hotel with helpful and friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel to everyone expect those who only like super modern hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth_ian2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thank you for your kind review of the Apple Farm. We are thrilled to hear that we made your list of top 5 hotels during your trip to California! We work very hard to ensure our guests have a unique experience with us. We are glad you were able to explore downtown San Luis Obispo during your trip. It is a fun little place! The next time you come to California we hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again. We look forward to your next trip to the Apple Farm!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife & I have stayed here for many years. Our stay last weekend was wonderful as usual. The rooms are beautiful as always and the staff is excellent. The only negative I can come up with is that they serve too LARGE of portions in the restaurant ;-)

This is a great location for wandering around the central coast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor (pool level) can be somewhat dark.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kk6t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for reviewing our Inn and Restaurant. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us over the years. We strive to continuously provide great service and accommodations. Our restaurant is definitely known for big servings. We have started adding refrigerators to our rooms because the meals here always make great left overs! We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to the Apple Farm again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We have stayed here many times, using it as a base for exploring the Central Coast or just to have a relaxing time. The inn is always clean with friendly people working there. Some of the rooms have been updated (this is not a new place, but charming). The rooms are good sized with a reading area including a couch. The decor is country style, similar to Laura Ashley. To review this as only people of older age is certainly short sighted.
They have a reception time where they serve wine, cider and snacks. Cookies and tea or coffee are served in the reception area,there is always a fire in the fireplace and seating area where you can hang out if you want. The grounds are well manicured with flowering pots for every season. Christmas season is especially beautiful and festive. The prices are reasonable and we feel that you receive value.

Room Tip: Request a creek side room, a little more private
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulu82143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for reviewing our property. We are thrilled to hear you enjoy staying with us! It sounds like you have stayed with us throughout many seasons. Christmas is a great time to visit; we love decorating for the occasion! We are glad that you have been able to take advantage of our amenities such as the daily guest wine reception and the complementary beverages in the lobby. Thank you again for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I liked this hotel despite its odd appearance. That is, its decorated by somebodies grandmother, and if you are older than 70 you will love it.

That said, the room was gorgeous (fireplace, couch, etc).

I would stay here again. Only reason i lowered the rating is because of the quaint hallways and entry (you would not gain "cool" points from friends by going here).

One extra i was surprised by, and liked...the free wine event in the evening....the wine was actually very good. (and the host was charming)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Apple Farm. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our quaint atmosphere is something that sets us apart from many other hotels. We are thrilled that you liked your room. Each room is decorated individually and has it's own personality. It is wonderful that you were able to attend our guest wine reception, it is a great way to relax and mingle with other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Went there w/ two of my girlfriends for a girls trip. We had a wonderful time. The room was decorated very nicely and felt cozy. It was quite large w/ a nice seating area and fire place. The location is nice. We walked to the downtown area multiple times and felt very safe even coming back late. The service was nice. Everyone made our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadiashahmalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for your kind review of our property. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fun girl's getaway! We are glad that you enjoyed the room, having a fireplace can really provide a cozy atmosphere. We enjoy hearing that the staff made you all feel comfortable; this is one of our main priorities. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
727 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
398 reviews
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,223 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £145 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing