We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay at this "flowery" country-style hotel”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay at this "flowery" country-style hotel”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This was our fifth stay at the cozy and homey Apple Farm Inn. Once again, we stayed in the main inn (not the "trellis court" motel units) in a "king specialty" room which had been recently renovated. Our spacious corner room faced the millhouse, patio, and creek. We were in room 107, which was on the first floor, pool level. In the past, we have stayed in rooms 207 and 307. The rooms in the main inn vary in size. Some of the rooms are average sized, but some are roomy and large. Most of the rooms in the "trellis court" are quite tiny. Each room is different. (color, furniture, and decor)

Our attractive room had a very comfortable king bed, a loveseat, a comfortable chair, a small desk with a chair, drawer space, a flat-screened TV, and a fireplace. The decor was upscale country with a lot of flowery wallpaper, tasteful knick-knacks, and many wall decorations. The average-sized bathroom was clean and pretty.

The lobby and hallways in the main inn seemed newly decorated with the same country motif. The decor is definitely a matter of taste; I have always liked it.

Although the pool area, patio, and grounds are attractive, there is not a lot of outdoor leisure space. There is a large parking lot that separates the restaurant from the inn and motel.

The country-style restaurant was homey. The food was yummy.

My husband and I enjoyed the daily wine and cider guest reception in the patio. The two hosts were very welcoming. The front desk staff, the grounds keepers, and the housekeeping staff that we encountered were efficient and friendly.

I recommend this lovely (and flowery) hotel to those that appreciate and like the atmosphere of an upscale country inn.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger creekside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for your very thoughtful review our property. It is great to hear that you have now stayed with us five times! We are so glad you have continued to enjoy your visits to the Apple Farm over the years. Our property has a very unique ambiance and we agree that the decor appeals to some more than others. During our renovations we are working towards a more contemporary feel with the same Apple Farm charm. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back for your sixth stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    403
    115
    49
    27
See reviews for
343
689
46
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This was our 1st but not last stay here. We loved the wine & appetizer evening and our cookies. Our room was very small but we expected that due to reviews, I think it was because of the hot tub included. We received a $5 voucher so we ate a great breakfast & my husband ended up getting his free as he killed a wasp for them. My only drawback was a breakfast is not included and as early risers the restaurant doesn't open till 7am so we had to wait around.

Room Tip: I don't remember a fitness center or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed yourselves! It sounds like the breakfast you had at our restaurant was quite exciting. We apologize that there was a wasp in the dining room but we are glad you were able to fully enjoy your breakfast despite the disruption. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed at the Apple Farm Inn for a wedding in the area. There was a large group of us and our stay could not have been better! We are from New England so we felt right at home. The decor is country and very welcoming. We all had different types of rooms including rooms at the motel which we lovely although a little small - some had hot tubs on the decks. All of our rooms was exceptionally clean, the pool was small but fine for us. The wine reception from 3:30 to 5 was wonderful and we all took advantage. I love the cider, coffee and water available at all times in the lobby. The bakery and the restaurant on the property were great. The restaurant food was outstanding and the portions hearty. My only complaint was that the restaurant only serves wine and beer no liquor. Overall an exceptional stay and I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hods93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Apple Farm Inn and Restaurant. We are so happy you enjoyed your trip! We are glad you were able to take advantage of the many amenities we offer. It sounds like you all had a great time at the guest wine reception! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel to California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Our first stay at Apple Farm was a delight - lovely rooms with twee furnishings etc. Lovely complimentary chocolate cookies. The place reminded me of properties we have stayed in in New England previously.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbowrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! the cookies we hand out at check in are made fresh daily in our bakery. We are so happy you enjoyed them. We hope to welcome you back to the Apple Farm in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

As others have mentioned, this place oozes with " country " decor, mostly cute, slightly kitschy - so if flowers everywhere are not your thing, don't go.
It did not bother us, seemed a nice change actually !
Our room was on the 3rd floor, was spacious, with fireplace and a very comfortable bed.
Staff was friendly and accomodating, the free wine at Happy Hour ( 3:30/5:00) was great, so were the cookies on check in.
The layout of the Inn is a bit confusing at first, especially if you enter the drive from the wrong side, as we did.
There are flowers everywhere on the property, an old working watermill, small swimming pool and spa, a restaurant and two gift shops.
All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Apple Farm. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We are glad you were able to attend the guest wine reception and explore the property. We have a wonderful landscape manager who works very hard on keeping the flowers beautiful. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Just stayed again at the Apple Farm in San Luis Obispo. Probably our 8th stay there over the years as we go to SLO about twice a year at least. Great staff and very charming place. Great chocolate chip cookies given at check in and hot apple cider is provided in the lobby (coffee and hot cocoa in the mornings). Definitely stay in the Inn as opposed to the 'Trellis Court'. The inn is much nicer and the rooms are much larger in general. We will continue to stay here each year as my wife loves it and the kids really look forward to it too!

Room Tip: Stay in the Inn, not trellis court... and try not to get a room overlooking the pool as it can be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property. We are thrilled to hear you have stayed with us so many times! We are glad you enjoy the cookies and cider, they have become somewhat of a staple at the Apple Farm. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed here in July. I pick hotels for my family based on price, location, reviews and whether or not the hotel has a pool/spa. This one has a lovely spa and pool area. When we checked in, the front desk informed us that the spa was broken.

Indeed, it was empty and there were tools inside it. We used the pool anyway, and though it is small and we missed using the spa, it was heated to a nice temperature and we enjoyed it. However, the next morning after breakfast some workers came to work on the spa. They were using loud construction tools, and since our room was facing the pool it was very noisy. We were going to use the pool but there was a thick cloud of dust in the air and much of it had floated onto the surface of the pool.

When I make a reservation, I assume that I will be able to use all the amenities listed. Why didn't this hotel at the very least, put a notice on their website that the spa was broken, and that the pool area was not useable? At best, they could have notified guests that made a reservation for that week by calling them. There is NO doubt that I would have cancelled my reservation.

Other CONS: If you require a firm bed, you will be very uncomfortable. These were the softest and most unsupportive hotel mattresses I have ever experienced. Not sure this is because they were old, or if it was just the kind of mattress they bought. My back was in pain the next day.

The cinnamon buns in the bakery were very dry and had no taste. So much so, that they seemed to be 3 days old, though that doesn't seem likely. I thought they were going to be great because the worker there said they were known for these buns but save your money and buy a cookie instead.

PROS: Smooth check-in. Water wheel and landscaping are pleasant. Wine reception area is nice, and the server was very polite and friendly. Though we did not eat there, the restaurant looked good and the menu was varied and priced reasonably.

Room Tip: Ask for a bed with a firm mattress if you need one.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mushigaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. I would like to start by apologizing that you were not informed about the hot tub maintenance before your arrival. We did send out a notice to all the guests who were staying with us during this time so we could eliminate any disappoint that would occur from this maintenance. Unfortunately, it sounds like your reservation was missed when this notice was sent and I can understand your frustration. Because we know that our guests enjoy relaxing in the hot tub we opened rooms with hot tubs that could be reserved and we also provided complementary passes to Avila Hot Springs for guests to use in replace of our main hot tub. We attempted to make this disruption effect our guests as little as possible.

In regards to our mattresses, we offer different levels of bed firmness in each room. At the time of booking guests can request the kind of mattress they prefer. We are always more than happy to find a room that will be prefect for each individual guest.

I have notified the bakery about the dry cinnamon rolls. This us not up to our standards and our pastry chef will be checking to ensure that all of our baked goods are at the level of quality we strive for. We appreciate your thorough review and we will use your feedback to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
710 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
384 reviews
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Property: Apple Farm Inn
Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing