We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quaint, cosy hotel with a difference”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The Apple Farm is different to other hotels I've stayed in. It's styled in a very old fashioned sense with lots of floral decorations and old style furniture and beds. This makes it a unique place to stay and I enjoyed my time there. The surrounding area has a old water wheel and boutique store and you can stay in modern style rooms in the adjoining motel style rooms. The food in the restaurant was lovely and the free warm apple cider is delicious!! The checkout desk was very friendly and accommodating as well. The town of San Louis Obispo was also fantastic, with a young student base making it a very outgoing and relaxed place. I would recommend the Apple Farm to anyone who likes older styles of decor.

Room Tip: Separate building has modern style rooms if you don't want the older style decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Apple Farm Inn and Restaurant. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It sounds like you had the chance to really explore our property and the town. We are glad you enjoy San Luis Obispo as much as we do! We hope to welcome you back to the Apple Farm the next time you are on the Central Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

987 - 993 of 1,445 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed here as part of our West Coast USA tour after doing the Pacific Coast Highway. What a little gem of a place!! The room was a proper suite with modern furniture and facilities. The front desk staff were great & we really enjoyed the complimentary apple juice and cookies. I would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stev&Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Thank you for reviewing your trip to the Apple Farm! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while you were touring the West Coast. We are happy you enjoyed the room you stayed in and the cookies and cider. We hope you will stay with us the next time you come to California!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed three nights over Labor Day. We had two rooms (two adults and two kids) the rooms were large and clean, pretty decor (a bit floral) and clean but unexciting bathrooms. The pool was small but pleasant, in the back away from the road and surrounded by trees. Hot tub was very hot! We missed the wine reception in the late afternoons but it was held in a lovely courtyard. We ate at the restaurant - pricey but of course awesome breakfast (they are known for it). We were given little coupons to take ten dollars off the bill which helped. They rent bikes for $25 per day. Plenty of parking, not far from campus or town. I walked into town twice but it might be a bit long for kids (maybe a mile?)
SLO was, as always, an awesome town to visit, and we even had sunny weather at Shell Beach.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFmomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Apple Farm Inn and Restaurant. We are happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful trip. It is great that you were able to explore San Luis Obispo and the surrounding beaches. It sounds like you were all able to fully enjoy the long Labor Day weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I stayed here with my family in a two bed room, and it was nice enough. You have to like the country decor - lots of wall paper, nick knacks etc. We checked in on a Saturday and went to the hot tub that night, and it was scalding hot. Management said they were looking into fixing. Back at the room, I tried to get on the wireless, but could not connect. I walked to the front desk, and the computer for guest use there could not access the internet either. Management said they were fixing it. Unfortunately on Sunday and Monday, it was still out. I asked why and they said it was taking time. 3 days is more than sufficient. The hot tub was ready day two. We went to the restaurant wanting a cappuccino, and was told the espresso machine was out of order. I was beginning to wonder how they maintained (or didn't) their equipment.

Our room was slightly noisy. We were in 114 and could hear the people above us tromping around and noise from the parking lot and maids. Overall, I was disappointed. When I complained at checkout, I did not get much sympathy or anything off the bill. My last time here.

The first evening we went down for wine and snacks. It was pretty good and a nice touch.

Room Tip: If you stay on the first floor, it seemed like the even numbers faced the parking lot. I would avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadridClydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Thank you for reviewing the Apple Farm. I am disappointed to hear about the problems you encountered during your stay with us. I can understand why the combination of these things would leave you unhappy with your visit. We strive to ensure that everything on property is functioning correctly but on the occasion that something goes wrong we work to resolve the issue as quickly as possible. When the internet went down our IT department started working on it immediately; however, due to complications it took longer than we had hoped to get it working again. It is very unfortunate that there were other malfunctions that you encountered but know that this is not typical of our property. I have passed your comments onto our General Manager who has used your review as motivation to be even more proactive. Thank you again for your feedback. It allows us to continuously improve the guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This was our fifth stay at the cozy and homey Apple Farm Inn. Once again, we stayed in the main inn (not the "trellis court" motel units) in a "king specialty" room which had been recently renovated. Our spacious corner room faced the millhouse, patio, and creek. We were in room 107, which was on the first floor, pool level. In the past, we have stayed in rooms 207 and 307. The rooms in the main inn vary in size. Some of the rooms are average sized, but some are roomy and large. Most of the rooms in the "trellis court" are quite tiny. Each room is different. (color, furniture, and decor)

Our attractive room had a very comfortable king bed, a loveseat, a comfortable chair, a small desk with a chair, drawer space, a flat-screened TV, and a fireplace. The decor was upscale country with a lot of flowery wallpaper, tasteful knick-knacks, and many wall decorations. The average-sized bathroom was clean and pretty.

The lobby and hallways in the main inn seemed newly decorated with the same country motif. The decor is definitely a matter of taste; I have always liked it.

Although the pool area, patio, and grounds are attractive, there is not a lot of outdoor leisure space. There is a large parking lot that separates the restaurant from the inn and motel.

The country-style restaurant was homey. The food was yummy.

My husband and I enjoyed the daily wine and cider guest reception in the patio. The two hosts were very welcoming. The front desk staff, the grounds keepers, and the housekeeping staff that we encountered were efficient and friendly.

I recommend this lovely (and flowery) hotel to those that appreciate and like the atmosphere of an upscale country inn.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger creekside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacationingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Thank you for your very thoughtful review our property. It is great to hear that you have now stayed with us five times! We are so glad you have continued to enjoy your visits to the Apple Farm over the years. Our property has a very unique ambiance and we agree that the decor appeals to some more than others. During our renovations we are working towards a more contemporary feel with the same Apple Farm charm. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back for your sixth stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This was our 1st but not last stay here. We loved the wine & appetizer evening and our cookies. Our room was very small but we expected that due to reviews, I think it was because of the hot tub included. We received a $5 voucher so we ate a great breakfast & my husband ended up getting his free as he killed a wasp for them. My only drawback was a breakfast is not included and as early risers the restaurant doesn't open till 7am so we had to wait around.

Room Tip: I don't remember a fitness center or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed yourselves! It sounds like the breakfast you had at our restaurant was quite exciting. We apologize that there was a wasp in the dining room but we are glad you were able to fully enjoy your breakfast despite the disruption. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed at the Apple Farm Inn for a wedding in the area. There was a large group of us and our stay could not have been better! We are from New England so we felt right at home. The decor is country and very welcoming. We all had different types of rooms including rooms at the motel which we lovely although a little small - some had hot tubs on the decks. All of our rooms was exceptionally clean, the pool was small but fine for us. The wine reception from 3:30 to 5 was wonderful and we all took advantage. I love the cider, coffee and water available at all times in the lobby. The bakery and the restaurant on the property were great. The restaurant food was outstanding and the portions hearty. My only complaint was that the restaurant only serves wine and beer no liquor. Overall an exceptional stay and I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hods93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Thank you for reviewing the Apple Farm Inn and Restaurant. We are so happy you enjoyed your trip! We are glad you were able to take advantage of the many amenities we offer. It sounds like you all had a great time at the guest wine reception! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel to California.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
733 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,239 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
403 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £119 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing