We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but needs updating. Mediocre restaurant.”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while in SLO for a wedding. Room was nicely sized for our family. Enjoyed the large bathroom. Beds were old, but comfortable. We slept well. There were a few cracked tiles on the bathroom floor, and the toilet seat was loose, but everything was clean. I know this hotel is in the process of renovation, but the price was steep considering the condition of the room.
We were given a $5 credit toward the restaurant, so we opted for breakfast. While in college, I remember eating at the restaurant, and thinking it was great. Apparently it has gone downhill. Server was not attentive, and disappeared halfway through our meal, and another server got our ticket for us. Food was just ok, but prices were high, so food should have been top notch.
Also, this hotel has no laundry facility. Kind of a pain to drive to the laundromat.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyMommyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and restaurant. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! You are correct, we are in the process of renovating all of our rooms which involves redoing everything in the room from flooring, bathrooms and decor. In regards to your experience at the restaurant, I am disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations. The service you described is not up to our standards and I have notified our Restaurant Manager about your comments so he can improve upon the problems you mentioned. While we do not have a laundry facility on site, we do offer a laundry service that will pick up and drop off at our hotel. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

999 - 1,005 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

Had a room with 2 queens and reserved for 2 nights. After the 1st nite our toilet broke and we had to move our stuff into a new room. This was supposed to be a deluxe but was smaller than our previous room and I received a whopping $20 credit on my bill for my troubles.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmorow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I apologize that your stay did not exceed your expectations. We have taken action on the broken toilet and it has been fixed since your departure. I am sorry that this issue was an inconvenience and we are doing everything we can to prevent this from happening to any future guests. I have contacted you personally and I would be happy to help you with any reservations in the future. Thank you again for your feedback, it allows us to continuously improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This inn is not for everyone but my wife sure loved it! Decor is flowery, rooms were clean.
Cont. breakfast is NOT included but there are several nice spots available to eat at close by.
We had a nice cottage style room with a gas fireplace and private hot tub on the back deck.
Staff were very helpful with any questions or directions.
Somewhat dated televisions. Shower was clean but control of the temp of the water was worn out and tended to scald you after a few minutes. Reported it the first day but it never got fixed even after 24 hrs. when we checked out.
All in all, it is a nice change from the usual chain hotels.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duker6278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you for reviewing the Apple Farm. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we are glad your wife loved the decor! While we do not offer continental breakfast we do provide a $5 voucher per night to use towards our restaurant or bakery on property. Many times we also have packages going that include an extra voucher to use towards any meal. Thank you for your feedback about the shower. I apologize that it was not addressed while you were here. I have passed your comments onto our maintenance department to ensure that it has been fixed since your departure. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

They spent a lot of time on decoration and - although we would never choose this style for ourselves - they did a very good job. The country style if everywhere, from the reception area to the bathrooms. The rooms are very cozy and comfortable. The staff is very family friendly. The owner hosted a welcome drink for new guests the evening we arrived, serving the local wine. A nice touch we thought. Our family still has fond memories. It's also a nice hotel for a couple's getaway (although no Spa facilities).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are glad you were able to attend out Guest Wine Tasting Reception. We have recently started teaming up with a local winery every month and their wines are featured at the daily reception and at our monthly Winemaker's Dinner. We appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We chose this hotel thinking, from the pictures we'd seen, that we'd be getting a bit of a countryside experience. This is NOT a farm. In fact it is a rather tired motel, decorated by someone's grandma- all flounces, furbelows and nick nacks. We all found it slightly creepy unfortunately. The staff were very friendly though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ehtnax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for reviewing the Apple Farm. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. You are correct, we are not a farm and we are located in San Luis Obispo so we are not in the country. However, we strive to provide wine country hospitality and create the peaceful atmosphere that is characteristic of a small bed and breakfast. We understand that our decor does not appeal to everyone but we are in the process of renovations that provide a more contemporary feel. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

On the edge of town and not many taxis so a fair walk into town if you don't wish to drive in and have to park
Nice touches like free cookies on arrival, complimentary coffee cider and lemonade at reception and free wine tasting with nibbles every afternoon.
A very good same day laundry service which was excellent value for money and not the usual rip off.
It is a bit chintzy for some tastes but we thought it was fun.
Room large though somewhat dark. The lighting needs improvement
Small but adequate pool.
Restaurant attached to the hotel was outstanding. We had one of the best meals there of our whole trip and as a result of coupons the hotel gave us we had money off the price of dinner and a free bottle of wine with it to boot.
Staff could not have been more helpful .Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jock16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Apple Farm Inn and Restaurant. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy you were able to take advantage of the wine coupon we offered with dinner. We have recently made changes to our menu and we are thrilled that you loved your meal! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Got surprised with the first impression. The fresh cookie on the reception helped. Its a very detail-cared place. Everything seems to be placed in its place for a reason. Its awesome to fell like that. The place although is not for the party makers. A lot of very old couples hang around, and the restaurant closes at 9ish.
But is good for a nice rest, and is very charming. The price is fair, everything you eat or buy is good, all surrounded in a farm like atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RafaelCBorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for reviewing our property. We are thrilled to hear your enjoyed your stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet. We like to create a nice atmosphere for our guests to relax and unwind. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
649 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,284 reviews
0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
407 reviews
2.6 mi away
SLO Brew Lofts
SLO Brew Lofts
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £131 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing