We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, homely and traditional”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Unique, homely and traditional”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed here for one night during a two week tour of California, before we began our journey up the Pacific Coast Highway. We chose to stay in a "one off" hotel rather than a chain hotel in SLO as we felt it would be more in keeping with the town - Apple Farm ticked the box and didn't disappoint.
We arrived on a very wet day, but the reception staff's welcome was like a ray of sunshine. Check in was smooth and effecient and we were leant an umbrella while we unloaded our luggage from the car. They also gave us a printed map of Downtown SLO and directions and advise to get there - about a 15 minute walk, even though it was raining we still walked it, rather than taking the car - hey, we're from Britain and are so used to wet weather anyway !!!. Before we left the next day the young guy on reception gave us more helpful information and ideas for our drive up Highway 1.
Our room was a queen room with outside hot tub in a terrace of about 10 individual rooms away from the main building. It was decorated in a very traditional way - floral and frills - with little lamps and armchairs and a fire place - but so in keeping with the rest of the property - traditional,rather than old fashioned. The room was small / cosy, but we felt this added to the atmosphere.
The bed was very comfortable. Property was clean throughout.
I did manage to lock the bathdoor by opening it too wide so that the push lock button in the handle hit the wall of the shower, so when it closed we couldn't re open it !!!!!! a quick call to front desk and someone came along and fixed it straight away.
We had breakfast in the restaurant on site, which isn't included in the room rate, but you do get a guest discount. The restaurant is big, split up into different rooms, each with their own individual character. We sat in the conservatory. Food was very good and obviously freshly home cooked.
The property also has an on site bakery, which sells an awesome Pumpkin pie ( we got 2 slices to go which we had later on in the day, parked up looking over the Pacific Ocean !!). The shop is amazing as well, don't leave without purchasing a jar of their own produced apple butter.
If we are ever in SLO again we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjoco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your recent visit to our hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed your trip to California and your stay and we are glad to hear it! The Trellis Court rooms with the private patio hot tubs are cozy and relaxing. We are also happy to hear you were able to dine at our restaurant and shop in the gift shop and that you had great experiences there as well. We appreciate all of your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    393
    115
    49
    27
See reviews for
333
671
45
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Takes you back to a different era , kind of like staying on Grandmas back porch, very small room walls with pinkish wallpaper, low ceilings , I was alone , so I had enough room , loud heater , overall an O K experience

Room Tip: Talk with the desk about room selection , I booked online , just looking for an inexpensive rack for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thank you for your review and your recent stay at our property. We are glad to hear you had a comfortable stay. It sounds like were in our Trellis Court section which does have smaller rooms than the Inn and is in a more traditional country decor. We have plans on renovating this section of our property in the next year or so. Our main Inn does have larger rooms and a more contemporary country decor. Thank you so much for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We made a reservation to stay at Apple Farm Inn but had to change the dates. There was no problem with making the date changes, our complaint is with the lack of manners shown by the Reservation Staff member who answered the phone. Rude, rude, rude! In fact he was sooooo rude we totally canceled our reservation and made them someplace else. I don't think some of these hotel/motel Managers get it. The public's first impression of an establishment is the staff at the front desk! No matter how cute, how nice, how cheap or great a place is, if we, the customer don't feel comfortable or welcomed we're not staying! Better training folks. We travel a lot and you lost good customers because some college kid's lack of common courtesy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so sorry to hear of your experience with one of our staff members. Clearly, this is not up to our standards of guest service and we have already retrained this staff member on the incident. Again, I sincerely apologize for your experience and I certainly hope to hear from you directly so that we may resolve this issue. We appreciate your feedback as it continually helps us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I was in LA on business and decided to go up the coast for a day. This was a great drive once you got out of Ventura (seemed like the end of the megaplex) . .. I went to Morro Bay, then turned around to return to San Luis Obispo for the night. I stopped at the Apple Farm and was very pleased with the place. Good food in the restaurant (tho a bit pricy for what seemed to be a family place) and the hotel was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: They have an older section and a newer, you might ask to see both before you decide which part of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Thank your for your review and your recent visit to our property. We are glad to hear you chose to stop for the night and that you enjoyed your stay and your meals. It sounds like you had a relaxing visit and that is what we like to hear. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you again if you come to the Central Coast for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I love the Apple Farm and come here multiple times a year. My one complaint this trip is a game the hotel has during the holidays. Guests are encouraged to find the missing elf, Dash, in exchange for a chance to win a two night stay. A little elf doll is hidden in the gift shop for guests to find. The problem is I twice witnessed the gift shop staff telling certain guests where Dash was hidden. As a result, they are essentially selecting the guests who will be entered to win the stay. Not fair. They shouldn't have the contest if it isn't fair for everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your recent visit to our property. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stays! The Missing Elf Contest is one of our guests' favorite holiday pastimes and I am sorry to hear that has been tainted for you. I will contact our Gift Shop Manager and make sure that she knows about the incident so that we can make the game as fair as possible as was our original intention. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

San Luis Obispo is a quaint down to earth town, and I cannot think of a better place to spend time in this town than the Apple Farm Inn.

This property has a charm of its own with extremely friendly staff, quaint old style rooms, with a fireplace and well appointed but not luurious decor.

There is a gift shop with a host of interesting articles and the restaurant serves tasty and hearty food.

If possible ensure that you vis San Luis Obispo on a Thursday night so that you can visit the night market downtown wher you can walk around and savor some of the fresh produce, street cooked food, and relaxed and friendly people walking the streets.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your recent stay at our hotel. It sounds like you had a nice time and we are so glad to hear it. We are thrilled to hear you were able to experience all the different parts of our property as well as the Farmers' Market in downtown San Luis Obispo. The market is famous here and it really embodies what the "SLO" life is all about. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSM, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This was our second visit to the Apple Farm Inn. The first was 20 years ago. We have always wanted to return and we finally did. We were not disappointed. We love the atmosphere. We loved the decorations throughout the entire hotel. We loved the very well decorated rooms. We stayed around Thanksgiving time and it was already VERY WELL decorated for Christmas. We have stayed at many places during the Christmas Hoidays and have never experienced such a VERY WELL decorated hotel. The entire place was a Country Christmas Wonderland! The service in every aspect of the entire hotel was excellent and impecable. We were truly amazed at the friendly staff. There was always a friendly offer of coffee, tea, sweet treats, etc. available in the lobby for snacking.

Our room was outstanding. Each room is very well and wonderfully decorated in a country theme. The rooms were noticably well cleaned and prepared each day. They really pay attention to details. ALL-in-All, we hope that it will not be another 20 years until we return. We love it there.

Something to keep in mind...We were in a renovated "king" bed room on the upper (3rd) floor. Excellent and worth the couple extra dollars. The bottom (1st) floor is "BELOW" street/lobby level. Kind of basement like. Keep that in mind.

Room Tip: We were in a renovated King bed room on the upper (3rd) floor. Excellent and worth the couple extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank you for your review and your recent stay at our property. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and we are so glad to hear that you were able to return after all these years. We are especially grateful for your comments on our staff members as we always strive for great guest service. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Property: Apple Farm Inn
Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing