We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED staying at the Apple Farm!”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I went up to SLO for a long weekend and couldn't decide where to stay. I am an alumni of Cal Poly and hadn't been back in 10 years and we were celebrating our Anniversary and baby #2 on the way. We couldn't decide if we should stay at a cheaper place or not - I am so glad we chose Apple Farm. The atmosphere, the friendly staff, the daily wine reception, the complimentary water/coffee/apple cider/cookies, the wonderful breakfasts at the restaurant, the location - it was all wonderful. The hotel was full and yet we felt like we were on our own little vacation most of the time. Hardly anyone at the pool or spa at the same time as us. I wish we could have stayed longer - it's so relaxing and cozy, like staying at Grandma's house. We stayed at the Inn in one of the updated rooms. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that we could welcome you for your anniversary and your babymoon. It sounds like you had a relaxing time and we are so pleased to hear this. We really appreciate your feedback and your recommendation. We look forward to your next visit to our Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

816 - 822 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Lovely big room recently redecorated and very comfy bed. All the team members we spoke with were really helpful and polite. Free parking and the cookies on arrival were beautiful. The property has both a hotel rooms and motel rooms and is much bigger than we were expected. Everywhere is chock full of kitsch items and is very over the top but we liked it. The hotel is the furthest from the town centre of all the hotels but still walkable. San Luis Obispo is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lobodoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us. We are so thrilled to hear it was such a nice visit and that you had an opportunity to explore our property and our lovely town. We really appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you for another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

When planning our road trip we booked in to stay at Apple Farm thinking it would be a unique stop along the way.

It was alright. I any put my finger in anything actually wrong, check in was OK, our room was OK, breakfast was OK. It was a long walk into town but there is public transport.

But the 'wine tasting' was one glass of wine poured by quite a surly woman and hosted in the garden...felt more like my grandmother's back yard in her terraced house in the mining community of St Helens, England.

We weren't offered a glass if wine on arrival and we had to ask for the cookie which was behind reception,

Look, you won't have a bad stay here using think but it feels like the atmosphere, and homely stay I was hoping for has disappeared

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanhazelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We really appreciate the time you took to write your review. We are so sorry to hear that your stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We will be sure to address your comments about our Guest Reception with our reception staff. Please know that this is not typical of our staff and we will work hard to improve this. We are known for our welcoming staff and it sounds like we missed the mark on your stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have another chance to welcome you if you find yourself in San Luis Obispo again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was our first stay at the Inn. We were dropping off the our oldest at college at Cal Poly. We have stayed at the Quality Suites down the road and I have to say I we enjoyed the Inn a bit more. we were in a creekside room, seemed to be redone more recently then the Quality. the restaurant was good for breakfast, if not a little pricey. as for price of rooms, was also a bit on the pricey side, but after seeing the tuition bill, I suppose I was already a bit numb...a little word of warning, if have a large car and don't like narrow aisles in parking lots...then head straight to the lower lot...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KidnDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your review and your recent stay at our Inn. We are glad that you had a nice visit and that you enjoyed your newly renovated room. We really appreciate your feedback on our restaurant and parking lot. It is true that our top lot can get a bit full. Your suggestion to move to the lower lot was a great one! We hope to be able to welcome you for many more visits during your child's Cal Poly career!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I took my husband to SLO for his birthday and we stayed here with a Groupon. Our room had a view of the water wheel and backed up against the creek. Every evening we could hear the frogs croaking and ducks quacking and we really loved it. We are going back again soon and I'm hoping to get a similarly located room. I should mention that we stayed in one of the newer rooms and they are not as kitchy has the old ones and that's a plus.

Room Tip: Get a room that backs up to the creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JV2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your husband's birthday visit so much! Our rooms that look out toward the Mill on our property are very peaceful and unique. We really appreciate your feedback and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have visited the Apple Farm for anniversaries and birthdays. It is first class and very relaxing. The ambiance and good cooking plus the wine and hor'deurve hour is fabulous. The jacuzzi and pool are clean, the gardens are lush and the location is convenient. You can just get lost in yourself with your special person at the Apple Farm. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 189Melanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your review and your many stays with us over the years. It's so nice to hear that we are your place for anniversary and birthday getaways. Thank you for your feedback on our Guest Wine Reception and our restaurant. We really appreciate your comments and your recommendation. We certainly look forward to welcoming you for many more stays to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Apple Farm in their king specialty room 317 for our anniversary. The staff was welcoming:) Our room was large and beautifully decorated. Our room was overlooking the creek and had a large sitting area and fireplace. We were welcomed by cookies and apple cider by the desk staff and in our room was a special gift for our anniversary which was so nice. During our stay we enjoyed breakfast and dinner in the restaurant, their breakfast in bed special and a wonderful massage. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience and recommend highly staying at the Apple Farm Inn. We look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Room in the inn overlooking creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rlwilliams13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We appreciate your review of your recent stay with us. We are honored that you chose us as your anniversary destination and that you enjoyed your room and our amenities! We love being able to celebrate special occasions with our guests and we are glad to hear that our staff was so welcoming. We will be sure to pass your comments on to our entire team. Thank you again for your feedback and your recommendation! We look forward to welcoming for another stay soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
652 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,294 reviews
0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
409 reviews
2.8 mi away
SLO Brew Lofts
SLO Brew Lofts
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £142 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing