We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apple Farm Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Peach Tree Inn(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Cuesta Inn(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lexington Inn(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Luis Creek Lodge(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sands Inn & Suites(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
University Inn(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Motel(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,491)
Filter reviews
1,491 results
Traveller rating
862
427
121
53
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
427
121
53
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrellis courtcookiesapple cidergift shophot cidercountry styleglass of winecanopy bedguest receptionwine receptionwater wheelbreakfast in bedmain buildingcountry hamchristmas decorationsfamily suitetake home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,240 - 1,245 of 1,491 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2008

This place is unlike most other hotels we stay at: country decor and very homey feel. This was our second stay in 15 years and we're happy to report that it has retained the quality, value and charm over the years!

There is no bellmen for luggage assistance but we were okay without it. Check-in went very smooth. Our queen/queen room was huge by hotel standards and decorated in busy country motif. The inn has country stuff everywhere!

In the lobby, there were complimentary cookies, tea and coffee. The adjacent windmill store has free popcorn, ice cream samples and cider samples! On top of that, the inn let's you take their signature wooden apple from the room as a momento.

We ate dinner and breakfast at the inn's restaurant--country-style cooking, of course! It's great as long as you're not counting calories and fat! And the adjacent gift shop has lots of great stuff.

My only complaints were that there was no wifi access (or at least none that I could access from either our first floor room or the lobby), and there is no gym. For a gym, they did provide us with a day pass with a local gym to workout in. Overall, it was a great stay for our family and we'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank terpnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2008

Booked the Apple Farm at the last minute and ended up in the trellis court part of the hotel. This part is like a motel, with doors to the outside and very basic but highly floral-printed rooms inside. The room was extremely tiny, barely enough room for our luggage, we joked. The bathroom had a shower only and the shower was pretty run-down and also very small.

That said, the amenities at this hotel were outstanding. There was a managers' wine reception on the patio, fantastic cider in the lobby, a spa, and other goodies available to guests.

If you pay a motel price (which we did), you'll be pleasantly surprised by how many perks there are. If you pay resort prices and get a room in this part of the hotel, you are likely to be disappointed. We enjoyed it tremendously, but our enjoyment was bolstered by the fact that we didn't pay much.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank moonunit999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

I will just chime right in with the crowd and confirm that the Apple Farm Inn is a very nice place to spend a night or a weekend while touring the Central Coast.

The Inn is conveniently located right off the 101. The rooms are real cute with canopied beds, happy country motif throughout, porcelain "chachke," adequate bathrooms, and a decent restaurant (try the apple salad for lunch).

They even do afternoon wine reception but no cheese! It is wine and cookies which is sort of odd. Of course, one could opt for tea and cookies but this is a great California wine country we are talking about.

I cannot think of a memorable restaurant right there in San Luis Obispo, although some may think otherwise. There are several real good steakhouses about 15-20 miles north in Tempelton, Outlaw Bar & Grill and McPhee's come to mind, and I would happily recommend those for a great American meal.

For super winetasting, Red Zinfandel is King all along the 46 in Paso Robles.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2008

We spent a night at the Apple Farm Inn over the Memorial Day weekend. The decor of the rooms and the inn in general are a little over-the-top but this adds to the charm of the stay. The bathroom was large and clean and the room was spacious with a confortable canopy bed. We have stayed here before and would stay again if in San Luis Obispo.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

This was my first stay at the Apple Farm Inn. I expected the country style surroundings, and I was very happy to see the way everything was presented. The check-in was quick and the service at the front desk was very good. Our room was very spacious and extremely clean, and I really enjoyed the fireplace. I also really appreciated all the little extras, such as the chocolates, sparkling cider and fresh flowers in the room. We did go to the Welcome Reception and enjoyed the patio, the beautiful Blue Jays, the snacks, and the hostesses were friendly and helpful. The gift shop was quaint and carried some unique items. The only drawback to our one day stay there was at dinner. The service was good, the food was tasty, but my dinner was served cold. Our breakfast was delicious, especially the muffins. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sometimestraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews