We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quaint place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A quaint place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

One hour before arriving, we checked the price on Trip Advisor and then called to make a reservation and were told of an even better deal so I would suggest calling directly and taking the best price. Once we got there the front desk clerk suggested a better room for the same price. Our too was lovely and decorated nicely. Complimentary wine and a light snack was offered. Because we had traveled a lot that day, we ate dinner at the inn, but in retrospect should have gone downtown because there were much nicer places.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to hear that we were a relaxing stop on your vacation. We appreciate your feedback on our rooms and restaurant. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    385
    110
    49
    27
See reviews for
323
657
44
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Union City, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

At the Apple Farm Definitely keeps you in a happy mood! From wine and fresh baked cookies at front desk reception, to apple juice in your room, the staff has thought of everything! Met wonderful couple at the guest reception which included wine, light snacks and apple cider. The room was very comfortable and the amenities including fresh flower touch in the vanity area and easy shutter window covering for added privacy and large flat screen TV with every cable channel and free wifi throughout was just part of an endless list of comforts! The convenience of the restaurant and bakery and special gift shop made the stay even more pleasant. I highly recommend this wonderful gem on the central coast!

Room Tip: Room 225 has feeling of suit with comfortable sofa and chair. It has lots of privacy on the main flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you had the opportunity to take advantage of all of our amenities. We really appreciate your feedback on our restaurant and gift shop as well. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Valley, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Nice place - we have stayed at the Apple Farm many times. It is not quite as good as it used to be, though. Room decor was updated a while back, but the choices were not really an improvement, in our opinion.

The waterwheel and old Mill are really nice, and unique! A little shop is open in there Friday-Sunday.

We really enjoy the hot cider they put out in the main building each afternoon and evening, along with the usual coffee. They used to serve cookies in the evening too, but didn't during our 4-night stay. You pay a little extra now for a couple little bottles of Martinelli's and of water in the room, which we enjoyed. The afternoon tea/wine is kinda inconvenient and in a tight space.

If you bring an ice chest, be sure to purchase a half gallon of their frozen apple cider for five dollars and take it home. It cools the ice chest and it is a delicious treat back at home! It is available on the bottom floor of the store where the restaurant is located. Also in the Mill. Definitely worth every penny!

The reason we rated the fitness center terrible is because there isn't one, except for the cold pool! Not really needed if you get out and walk the many beautiful trails and beaches in the area, though!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the noisy front desk area! The trellis rooms are cute, but really old. Bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2TravelOn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your many stays with us over the years. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your visits. We appreciate your feedback on our renovations. Be sure to ask for one of our more traditional rooms for your next stay. We love being able to find the perfect room to fit each of our guests. We certainly look forward to welcoming you for more stays in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Charming rooms with outstanding service at reasonable weekly rates. Beautiful blossoms surround you as you amble about the quaint grounds on your way to delicious food or exquisite shoppes. Walking distance to the heart of lovely San Luis Obispo.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TemeculaTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and our restaurant and gift shop. We will be sure to pass on your comments regarding our landscaping to our landscaping team. Our location is perfect for exploring San Luis Obispo and other gems in our region. We look forward to welcoming you for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We booked a night stay through Travelzoo, great choice!! Lee was welcoming and checked us in earlier than expected. The room was warm and cozy with a comfortable bed and pillows. The hostess (Dee) at the manager's reception had great tips of surrounding area, as well. We liked it so much we stayed an add'l night! Plus, we received a $10 coupon/night stay to use at the Apple Farm Restaurant. Great comfort food! We definitely recommend for a romantic stay, away from the hustle and bustle of L.A.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mistybl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your review and recent stay with us! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your first visit and that you even extended your stay. It really means a lot to get this kind of feedback about our staff and our amenities. We can't wait to welcome you for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here on Jan 17th, room 9 on one of our wine tasting trips. The room is very small, about 10 by 15 feet total. This is NOT a bad thing. It was like a small cottage. But this one also had a small private Jacuzzi in the back patio area, which was awesome in the mornings and night. One thing is there is an excessive amount of wall paper, which get a bit overdone, but no big deal, again its like a cottage. There is also a very nice gas fireplace in the room, very nice touch. It actually took the morning chill out of the air very quickly. Yes, this room is a bit more then the non-Jacuzzi rooms, but it was worth it for us.
The property is very eclectic. A cool water wheel is on the property and a great piece of history.
At check in, we were given each a glass of wine, perfect way to check in. Then we went straight to their free happy hour which the wine kept our glasses full. They also have apple cider, coffee, hot chocolate, etc., available in the lobby most of the time.
There is also a great restaurant on the property which served excessive amounts of food. We could only eat half of each of our breakfast. We heard you must eat there and everyone was correct.
When we check in, I told the Front Desk person we had 7 cases of wine in our car. I asked if it would be safe to leave it in our car overnight. She said no problem and also made sure we could park in front of our cottage room, just to make sure. There were no issues at all.
We heard about this place from several of the wineries in the area. Also our best friends were just there in December and spoke very highly of it. Everyone was right about this place.
We will be going back again.

Room Tip: go for the Jacuzzi cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We really appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our property so much! We love being able to welcome our guests with wine at check-in. It sounds like you were able to explore our local wine region as well. Thank you again for your comments and your recommendation! We look forward to welcoming you for another stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I hope you like daisies, roses and all things floral, because this place is covered, top to bottom, side to side in floral everything. Not really my thing (being a guy and all) but it doesn't feel old and stuffy, it feels well maintained and up-to-date for a country style Inn. The place is great. We stayed in a 'Trellis Court King with Hot tub' room, which had a four poster canopy bed and a small patio with a good sized, clean, very warm hot tub. Nice touch.
The bed was very comfortable.
Bathroom was clean and the shower was decent pressure.
Was dissapointed at first, not to be able to order bacon & eggs for in-room breakfast, so ordered the offering of fresh baked goods with coffee and fruit with yogurt. Wow , it was good! The baked goods were still warm from the oven and we especially enjoyed the blueberry muffin. I recommend only ordering one tray per couple - we ordered two trays and it was way too much food. Just ask for extra drinks instead.
Overall, we liked the place and will come back again.

Room Tip: This place is well priced anyway, so spending a little extra on a bigger room, or getting a hot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Westside_Stomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your first visit and that your room was comfortable and welcoming. Our rooms with hot tubs are definitely a relaxing way to spend a getaway. We appreciate your feedback on our breakfast in bed offering as well. We look forward to welcoming you for another stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Property: Apple Farm Inn
Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing