We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my all time favorite hotels.”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Staying at the Apple Farm was a special treat for a mother/daughter getaway. Our room was perfect and very clean. The staff was always helpful and friendly. My only complaints are that I think they changed the menu from that last time I ate at the restaurant about 20 years ago. I liked the old menu of homestyle cooking compared to the dinner menu today. The breakfasts were still fine, though. Also, there are many extra fees and taxes (city and facility), which added about $30 extra per night. I also missed the old mill being in operation and I hope they remodel that and bring it back as it added to the experience when we visited 20 years ago. I would definitely stay again at the Apple Farm if my budget would allow.

Room Tip: We chose to stay in the main inn rather than the cottages and I am glad we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We appreciate your feedback on your recent mother daughter stay with us. We love to hear comments from all of our guests and especially from longtime guests like yourself. We have made some changes to our dinner menu to make it more healthy, but we have kept some of our homestyle favorites like pot roast and meatloaf. We will be sure to pass your comments on to our chef for review. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you for another stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We reserved at the Apple Farm sight unseen and were very happy with our stay. The room was clean and comfortable (if a little smaller than we'd expected) and we used the private hot tub every night. You're about a mile from downtown so if you don't mind walking it's a nice stroll down to bookstores and restaurants. The one thing we didn't like was that our room was right next to the parking lot so that we had to keep the curtains closed all the time. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit in on our Trellis Court Hot Tub rooms. We hope that you will get an opportunity to try out one of Inn rooms that are located on our more private creek side for your next visit. We really appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This quaint inn is the setting for a novel and the setting for true rest and relaxation! The country inn is upscale in every way from the ceramic apple you are gifted with in your room to the wine reception on the patio to the five star breakfast (you get a coupon for $5 off). The rooms are richly appointed and large with comforting english country decor and ours had a huge jacuzzi tub with access to the pool and hot tub off the patio (private access after hours). The good news and bad news about our room (100) is that it has a king sized bed, huge bathtub and shower and private pool and hot tub access after 9:30. The bad news: it is directly under the lobby. While there aren't late night checkins that wake you up, there is a steady stream during the day if you stay in your room. Subscribe to the apple farm website to get notified of really great specials (we got 40% off our room for only $109, but it required a Sunday or Monday checkin). You can also subscribe to travelzoo.com and you'll receive notifications for when Apple Farm rooms go on sale. The wine tasting also had cheese pastries that are to die for and a variety of locally featured wines. I liked the Apple Farm Chardonnay. The restaurant is also worth trying.

Room Tip: Room 100 has large jacuzzi tub and allows private access to pool and hot tub after 9:30 PM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieRKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It's very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! We appreciate your feedback on our rooms and service. Room 100 is a fun place to stay with its private pool access 24 hours a day, but like you mentioned it can be a bit noisy due to its location. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Sincerely,
Christen Goldie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Back in the mid to late 80s I worked at one of SLO's hospitals. It was always a great treat for a group of the nursing staff to meet after work for a Sunday morning breakfast at The Apple Farm Restaurant. Always thought it would be fun to stay overnight there but never got the opportunity. Well, After moving to Texas 25 years ago, my wife and I decided to return to central California for a vacation and stay at The Apple Farm. All we could say was, "WOW"! It was truly an enjoyable experience. The staff was better than excellent. The food was just as good as we remembered. As we asked for a quiet room, we were not disappointed. It was large, quaint and beautifully appointed. The pool area was pleasant as we enjoyed a quiet glass of wine there. With all this being said, we will definitely return here on our next trip back to SLO.
Sorry for the delay in writing this review; we stayed May 23-26.
P.S. Does anyone remember the 1990 movie 'My Blue Heaven' with Steve Martin? One of the scenes was filmed in The Apple Farm restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review of your first stay with us. We are thrilled that you had such a nice time and that our staff was so helpful. We love hearing this and we will be sure to pass this on to our entire team. You have a great memory! We were featured in My Blue Heaven. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Christen Goldie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Haven't been to the Apple Farm in a few years. Unfortunately, we won't be back. It was very obvious that the hotel has new ownership. The property has not been maintained, service was very different and the overall look and feel is just not what it used to be. Much better value, cleanliness and overall experience can be found elsewhere very close by.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caliTraveler731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We appreciate the time you took to post your review. I sincerely apologize that this stay did not exceed your expectations and wasn't up to par with your other visits. It is very concerning to us that you feel that things have changed as our ownership has not changed since 2000 and our management staff has been on property for many years. I will be sure to bring your comments to our maintenance and landscaping department so they can continually improve our property. We certainly take every comment to heart and you can be assured that these items will be addressed immediately. We would love to have another opportunity to welcome, so please feel free to contact me directly at christeng@applefarm.com so that we can make this right. We hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Christen Goldie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Was treated like royalty. As we checked in, we were given chocolate chip cookies and a $5.00 credit for the restaurant and/or gift shop. As we entered our room we were given a gift on the table. There was an apple (wooden and painted) that was a gift to us as well. They turned down our bed and put mints on the bed. They also provided 2 bottles of apple juice as well. All this and the room was UNDER $100.00. We arrived on a Thursday and was able to go to the Farmer's Market that night. We had a blast. Thank you Apple Farm for helping my husband and me celebrate our 27th anniversary with you. Mark and Sandy Machado

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay with us! We are honored that you chose us as your anniversary destination and that you had such a wonderful time. We love being able to offer our guests little extras like turndown service and our innkeeper's gift. We will definitely pass on your comments to our entire staff. We look forward to celebrating many more special occasions with you!

Sincerely,
Christen Goldie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Last August I gave the Inn a terrible review. We stayed in a trellis court king room and it was dirty. They VERY GENEROUSLY gave us a 2 nights accommodations gift certificate, which we used last week. We were in a king supreme room in the Inn. It was very clean and very spacious. A totally different experience. We enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJD72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We appreciate the time you took to post a review of your most recent stay with us. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed this visit so much and that it was such an improvement from your last stay. Your comments mean a lot to us and I will be sure to pass them on to our entire team. We look forward to welcoming you for another stay soon!

Sincerely,
Christen Goldie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
648 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,282 reviews
0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
407 reviews
2.6 mi away
SLO Brew Lofts
SLO Brew Lofts
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £131 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing