We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Apple Farm!”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the Apple Farm!”
Reviewed 5 November 2008

My fiance and I went to Cal Poly, and we stayed here the night he proposed! I would always go to the restaurant while we were in college because I love their corn chowder (mmm), but I had never stayed at the hotel before. The rooms were super cute and comfortable, and we had a hot tub on the patio, which was really nice. And the location is great- walking distance to downtown SLO!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank ashleycbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    408
    116
    50
    27
See reviews for
349
700
46
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

I stayed here about 2 years ago with my best friend. We got stuck in SLO late one night and had to find a room. This was the first place we stopped at and we both fell instantly in love with it. We had a room in the main building and it was beautiful. Very feminine decor and thats right up our alley.

In june, my husband and I planned a weekend trip to Pismo Beach and I immediately thought of Apple Farm. Excellent choice for the both of us. This time we got a room on the strip. This room was way better than the other one, it was like our own little cottage. Of course it looks like flowers puked everywhere in the room, but I love that. The seperate sitting room with fireplace was adorable, and our own private hot tub on our veranda was perfect.

WARNING: beer + hot tub + music = phone call from the office at 3am. lol

  • Liked — the hot tub
  • Disliked — having to check out
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishmenRsexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

I wish there was some reason to stay in San Luis Obispo longer, but there isn't. Just a stop on our CA road trip - but the Apple Farm Inn was without question worth the stop. I could stay there and not leave the grounds for at least a long extended weekend. It was incredibly charming and cozy. Everyone we met was a return visitor. If I lived in the area, I'd stay there once a month at least. The staff is incredibly sweet, there is no nickel and diming, the prices are sensible, and the amenities are delightful. The pool is tiny, so don't come here if you need to swim, but otherwise everything was spacious, grand and relaxing. You have to be able to enjoy Country kitchen style - everything looks like it is straight from 1890 Kansas, but we loved it. Clean as a whistle, too. Free cider, candies, afternoon wine and tea (on weekends), samples of their home-made ice cream and popcorn, cookies at night, and a little wooden apple to take home - it could not be cuter. Our room (King deluxe with canopy bed) was bigger than most NYC apartments. We didn't want to leave, honestly.

  • Liked — charm
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidwhatshisname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modesto, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

They twice screwed up the reservation, so instead of the Family suite with two rooms to celebrate our anniversary, we recieved one room with two Queens. And then the front desk lied about our reservation.

Not to sound like sour grapes, but I hate doing business with people like this.

Besides, the rooms are noisy and you can easily hear the people above and to the sides of you.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank atmking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

This place is unlike most other hotels we stay at: country decor and very homey feel. This was our second stay in 15 years and we're happy to report that it has retained the quality, value and charm over the years!

There is no bellmen for luggage assistance but we were okay without it. Check-in went very smooth. Our queen/queen room was huge by hotel standards and decorated in busy country motif. The inn has country stuff everywhere!

In the lobby, there were complimentary cookies, tea and coffee. The adjacent windmill store has free popcorn, ice cream samples and cider samples! On top of that, the inn let's you take their signature wooden apple from the room as a momento.

We ate dinner and breakfast at the inn's restaurant--country-style cooking, of course! It's great as long as you're not counting calories and fat! And the adjacent gift shop has lots of great stuff.

My only complaints were that there was no wifi access (or at least none that I could access from either our first floor room or the lobby), and there is no gym. For a gym, they did provide us with a day pass with a local gym to workout in. Overall, it was a great stay for our family and we'll be back!

  • Liked — Excellent hotel at a great value with lots of freebies
  • Disliked — No wifi and no gym on premises
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank terpnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

Booked the Apple Farm at the last minute and ended up in the trellis court part of the hotel. This part is like a motel, with doors to the outside and very basic but highly floral-printed rooms inside. The room was extremely tiny, barely enough room for our luggage, we joked. The bathroom had a shower only and the shower was pretty run-down and also very small.

That said, the amenities at this hotel were outstanding. There was a managers' wine reception on the patio, fantastic cider in the lobby, a spa, and other goodies available to guests.

If you pay a motel price (which we did), you'll be pleasantly surprised by how many perks there are. If you pay resort prices and get a room in this part of the hotel, you are likely to be disappointed. We enjoyed it tremendously, but our enjoyment was bolstered by the fact that we didn't pay much.

  • Liked — Great perks at a reasonable price, homey feel, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nowhere in tiny shower to put shampoo (put it on rail and it fell and shattered), room small
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank moonunit999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

I will just chime right in with the crowd and confirm that the Apple Farm Inn is a very nice place to spend a night or a weekend while touring the Central Coast.

The Inn is conveniently located right off the 101. The rooms are real cute with canopied beds, happy country motif throughout, porcelain "chachke," adequate bathrooms, and a decent restaurant (try the apple salad for lunch).

They even do afternoon wine reception but no cheese! It is wine and cookies which is sort of odd. Of course, one could opt for tea and cookies but this is a great California wine country we are talking about.

I cannot think of a memorable restaurant right there in San Luis Obispo, although some may think otherwise. There are several real good steakhouses about 15-20 miles north in Tempelton, Outlaw Bar & Grill and McPhee's come to mind, and I would happily recommend those for a great American meal.

For super winetasting, Red Zinfandel is King all along the 46 in Paso Robles.

  • Liked — Just a solid choice.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
718 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
392 reviews
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,207 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Property: Apple Farm Inn
Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing