We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Defiantly will come back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Defiantly will come back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My siblings and I go on an annual vacation. This year we decided to go to San Luis Obispo, CA. To enjoy the wineries close by and visit Hearst Castle. Upon check in at The Apple Farm we were welcome with freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. Which were great! All their employees were super helpful. Specially Evelyn and James. I can not say enough about The Apple Farm and their employees. Sure some room may need upgrading, but they have very comfortable beds. I usually miss my bed when I'm on vacation, but not this time. Another thing is that I'm very particular about clean rooms, but let me tell you. The room where we stay were very clean. If you're looking for a hotel to party this one is not for you, but if you want to relax and enjoy a wonderful time then look no more. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We appreciate the time you took to write your review. It's so nice to hear that you chose us for your annual family trip and that you had such a nice visit. We will be sure to pass your comments on to our housekeeping department and our entire team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    384
    110
    49
    27
See reviews for
322
656
44
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Acampo, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Enjoyed our stay and have already recommended your hotel to family. They have since visited and stayed two nights at your hotel. they were just as pleased with your hotel, restaurant and the room as we were. We are looking forward to staying with you again in the future.

Room Tip: We've only visited one time and found our room to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your family did as well! We can't wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I reserved a queen room in the trellis section. Although the room was smaller than I thought, it was very clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was another story. Our shower door wouldn't close all the way causing water to drench the floor. There was also no place to place your toiletries. The bathroom window was extremely difficult to open and close.
The outdoor spa was awesome. It was set back in a very private fenced in patio. The water was warm and clean. We really enjoyed our evenings in the spa.
Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and would return. Loved the restaurant and the gift shop and bakery were a wonderful addition.

Room Tip: Next time we will probably stay in the Inn. The rooms look larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelleyLDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your private patio hot tub and our restaurant and gift shop. We really appreciate your feedback on the bathroom in your room. We will be sure to address the shower door and storage as soon as possible. We are currently in the process of renovating our Trellis Court and the new bathrooms will be very functional. We look forward to welcoming you for another stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My friend and I stayed here in July when we were driving down from San Francisco. We were pleasantly surprised as it was really nice. It was decorated in quite a quaint style but it was all quite modern. Really nice pool and we were lucky enough to be able to sit by the pool for a few hours.

Our room was clean and the bathroom was a good size as well. It was a really nice stay. We got free cookies when we checked in. There is a $5 service fee but we had already paid ours through our travel agent.

We ate in the restaurant which was a nice place for dinner and not over priced. The bakery had lots of nice food.

We drove into the downtown part and had a walk around. Look out for bubblegum alley in the town. There are plenty of places to eat and drink there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bumblebee_bay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so happy that we were a stop on your California tour and that you enjoyed your stay so much! We really appreciate your feedback on our rooms, restaurant, and pool area. Our pool is a nice place to relax in our perfect Central Coast weather. It's nice to hear that you liked our downtown so much too. It really is a fun place to dine, shop and explore. Bubblegum Alley is especially unique. We look forward to welcoming you again when you visit our area in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just stayed at Apple Farm inn with my husband and teenage daughters. We all loved our rooms. The hotel was very cute and clean. We were welcomed at check in with fresh chocolate chip cookies. There were complimentary bottled waters,bottled apple juice, and Hershey Kisses in our room.
The only con that we had was the internet was not that great. We had a hard time getting a connection. It was very intermittent.
We had breakfast at the Apple Farm Restaurant and loved every bite! We will definitely stay there again the next time we are in SLO!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lezlie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay. We really appreciate your feedback on our rooms and amenities. Thank you for letting us know about your internet connection. We will be sure to address this with our Internet Service Provider immediately. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have come to the Apple Farm many times and have never been disappointed. It is a beautiful place to relax and enjoy all that they offer. The rooms are exquisite with lovely things to just enjoy.
We ate almost every meal in the restaurant and it was always superb. We shopped the gift shop and made some lovely purchases. The coupons given out for the restaurant/bakery were a nice touch and there were discounts every day on gift shop items. We had a wonderful stay and the staff was excellent in every way. Warm, welcoming, helpful always. We loved the chocolate cookies every day and the glass of wine as well. We cannot say enough positives and we will be back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithW544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review and your many stays with us over the years. We are so happy to be your home away from home here in San Luis Obispo. We really appreciate your feedback on your most recent stay with us and we will be sure to pass your comments on to our entire team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
1,136 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 631 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Previous memories of this delightful property brought back warm, welcoming, close-family recollections. In this case, the memories were a bit better than the real thing. Sadly, life is like that in all too many instances. Memories have a hard time living up to current expectations. Here's how it broke down for us:

Location: Apple Farm Inn is probably as far from the downtown fun, activities, and "life" as one could possibly find lodging. It is a very long (but very nice) walk to all that which draws the visitor to this lovely location. Plan accordingly, wear good shoes. Between the downtown hub of activity and Apple Farm Inn there are any number of charming B&B's and Inns, etc. which we will explore in the future. Apple Farm Inn is a destination in and of itself. Gift shops, etc. are enough to keep most folks busy for one afternoon.

Bakery store: Oh, this is wonderful! Prepare to be tempted beyond reasonable expectations! Hard decisions to be made between the apple bars (hello apple pie!) or the salty caramel chocolate bars (chocoholics, you absolutely have got to try this!) and all the fun dipped cookie choices are such fun transgressions. Do not, under any circumstances, miss this bakery stop!

Rooms: this visit, we stayed in the main inn, as opposed to the Water wheel room we stayed at in the past. We did like the main inn because it had such a nice family feeling. The hallways are decorated with umpteen little knick knacks which border on being a little over-the-top. Our room (#110) was a darling little step back in time but in need of some basic maintenance. The carpet was soiled enough for us to easily recognize and in serious need of carpet cleaning. The lamp on the coffee table (between the 2 comfy chairs) had a loose socket which saw the light bulb resting on the inside of the lamp shade (scary and potentially a fire hazard), the head board for the bed was missing a bolt and nut to hold the center support in place, and everything else was comfy but showing its age.

Perks: Apple Farm Inn has traditionally held a very welcoming wine reception in the early hours of the evening. Our memories were of being offered a "glass" (more on this to come) of your choice of wine while you settle in to meet fellow travelers and enjoy some cheese, crackers, and grapes and fun conversation. Some folks even had a second "glass" of wine during this truly hospitable reception. The sad reality is that today things have changed. Now, the setting is moved to a location near the restaurant on an upper outside setting(go through the gift shop, [past the bakery, and watch for the patio door). Upon arriving on the patio, the visitor will be greeted by the hostess who will offer the visitor a "splash" of wine (not our words but the words of the hostess). We figured that about 4 "splashes" equaled a 1/2 "glass" of wine. So much for the cordiality of visiting with your newly met friends and fellow visitors and enjoying a "glass" of hospitality. After the requisite limit of "splashes", if a "glass" of wine is requested, it will be provided by the hostess and billed to the requestor's room.

In full disclosure fairness, the reception rules should be spelled out: " NOTICE TO VISITORS: You will be allowed up to 4 "splashes" of wine and any further wine requests will be billed to your room at an undisclosed rate.

Wine tasting? Yes, that is what this really is. Wine reception? No, this is not what this should be called. We will pass on this "event" next time we visit. Just not worth it.

The bathroom toiletries were very nice, the towels were soft, bedding was comfortable, and the inn's reception area also had coffee service set up at 6 a.m. Nice touches

Room Tip: Wall-mount a/c is loud and hard to regulate the temperature
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank on_the_go_98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We really appreciate the time you took to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are so grateful of your many stays with us over the years. Please know that we take every suggestion to heart and we are sorry to hear that this stay did not exceed your expectations. We will be sure to repair the maintenance issues in your room right away. We do shampoo our carpets regularly and we will make sure that this room is next. Thank you for letting us know about your Guest Wine Reception experience. While we are currently offering tastes of our Winery of the Month's wines, we also are happy to offer full glasses of locally produced house wine for any of our guests during the reception. It sounds like our reception host was misinformed on this and we will be sure to address this with them immediately. Once again we really appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to contact me directly at christeng@applefarm.com for your next reservation so I can ensure that you have a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
Christen Goldie
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Property: Apple Farm Inn
Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing