We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay...at a price...”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good stay...at a price...”
Reviewed 21 October 2006

My wife and I have stayed here before, and I must admit that the Courtyard rooms (what people refer to as the "motel") are small. They are comfortable....and yes, they are located near Highway 101.

There was no noise issue from our room (and I thought there might be because we were very close to the highway).

I do like the food--served hot and fresh. I especially like the hot apple cider in the lobby (think "drinkable apple pie"). I also liked the addition of the "wellness" spa where my wife and I got 55minute massages. The price for this service is very reasonable, and the person who worked on us was very good.

My only complaint is the hike in price: The last time I stayed here (same time of year), the same room was $99/night. Rooms are small, but you get a fireplace, room service, and now a massage. That would be a steal.

But...the price this time was 165/night...a little pricey. Now, maybe this is because of location (near downtown/Hearst Castle/Cambria etc.), but still...we are not talking about staying in the main part of the Inn.

It wasn't a bad experience...just a little more expensive. Try booking through one of the online services and possibly getting a lower rate.

  • Liked — The spa, the cider, and the food....
  • Disliked — Room price
  • Tips/Secrets — Use Orbitz/Expedia etc. and try to get a lower rate
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacob_Fargon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    399
    115
    49
    27
See reviews for
338
681
46
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bay point ca.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2006

One of the nicest hotels we have stayed in,,well worth the price..enjoyed the wine/tea time in the garden met with some really nice couples..the rooms made you feel you were in the garden at all times..nicely decorated..very quiet and the staff was over and beyond helpful...
Be sure and go to the Chamber of Commerece and get your free book on SLO and surrounding areas with great discounts..restaurants... plus hotels..I always make a habit of stopping at the visitors center and getting any info on the area we are visiting..Saves time and money...

  • Liked — tea time in the garden
  • Disliked — breakfast coupon
  • Tips/Secrets — get to the cookie tray at 7:00 pm on time..they go fast
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sandee37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2006

My husband and I started our week long trip up the coast to San Francisco with the first night at the Apple Farm. We felt perfectly fine until after we ate dinner. My food was luke warm and we had to send it back. Of course I had my husband try a bit to see what he thought. Well that night, to say the least was a nightmare. We were both puking until morning. We told the front desk and they had the on staff doctor talk to me.She said no one else had reported anything wrong and perhaps I ate something before we came there-Can't prove it but I really think it was from here. The couple next to us also said their food was not hot and they had stomache cramps all night. Really started our trip off bad -we didn't really recover until 3 days later. Just watch what you eat-it may have been the cider. Who knows....

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank kweequi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2006

We stayed there on August 12th for one night. After all the hype we were a little disappointed. Ten years ago when Laura Ashley was still interesting this place was "the Bomb". Now for $285.00 a night including tax, it was actually annoyingly too busy. The bathrooms are very dated and not all that clean. Beds were only so so.

Summary: Way over priced. Needs updating. Restaurant is solid but not fancy or all that charming.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2006

Let me start out by saying that the Apple Farm is one of my family's favorite places to stay. The ambiance is wonderful and charming. We stayed for one night, June 4th, this time around. We usually stay at the Apple Farm Inn, but when I booked our rooms in February there was no room at the Apple Farm Inn, so we opted for the Trellis Court. The person taking my reservation warned that the Trellis Court rooms back to Highway 101 so that there would be some Highway noise. I asked if the rooms were air conditioned and he said that they were, so I figured we could always keep the windows closed.

When we arrived in San Luis Obispo, it was very warm. The rooms that we were given were the farthest away from the Inn and closest to the Highway - we got the two end rooms. We checked into rooms and the decor was just as charming as the Inn. The rooms were hot, so we turned the air conditioning units on and took a walk around the Inn and went to dinner at the restaurant. The resturant has a nice menu and he food is yummy. About two hours later, we returned and our room was as hot as before. The air conditioning wasn't working so we went to phone the front desk. The phone wasn't working either. It was cooling down outside so we opened up the windows to let some cool air in the room. The Highway noise was loud but not deafening, so we just kept the windows open for the night and somehow slept that night. The bed was a bit worn out, but OK. We went to eat breakfast at the restaurant, so we stopped at the front desk to let them know that the air conditioner and phone didn't work. They said they would send someone out. After we returned from our breakfast, the door to our room was ajar, but nobody was in the room. There was a dirty rag by the air conditioner, so the maintenance staff had evidently been by, but forgot to close the door. In the mean time there was a huge van delivering mattresses in the parking lot right outside our room. The men delivering the mattresses were somewhat loud and boisterous - it was a bit uncomfortable. The truck and delivery people finally left, but the maintenance people never did return.

We were warned about the Highway noise when we made our reservation, but we were given the absolute closest rooms to the Highway. I would understand if the Trellis Court was fully booked, but the rest of the parking lot was virtually empty. I would say that only 20-30 percent of the rooms at the Trellis Court were occupied at best. If we were going to stay another night, I would have insisted upon another room.

The Apple Farm Trellis Court did give us a 20% discount on our room for the trouble, but in all honesty - I would not stay at the Trellis Court again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank CatCalico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 June 2006

A friend and I stayed here for one night on our way driving down the West coast. It is the prettiest hotel I have ever stayed in! There were freshly baked cookies in the evening, a free shuttle to the Farmer's Market, a fire in the room and a four poster bed. The attached restaurant served beautiful, enormous breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2006

I have been meaning to write a review of the Apple Farm Inn for a long time now (as you can see by when we visited). We stayed there whilst on holiday last year and it was one of the highlights - it exceeded expectations in every way. The pool and jacuzzi (small pool but fine to cool off in) are lovely, the room was amazing and the service impeccable. And when I got home there was a hand written card thanking us for staying. We stayed in the main hotel, not the motel section.

I was sorry we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jenny181174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
706 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
381 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
827 reviews
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Property: Apple Farm Inn
Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing