We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and adorable bed & breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Luis Obispo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming and adorable bed & breakfast”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Absolutely terrific place to stay in San Luis Obispo area. Rooms are French themed, lovely and comfortable. Breakfasts have hot & cold choices complete with baked items and delicious frittatas and pancakes/French toast items. Walking distance to town. So much to do in SLO. Wine tasting, ocean, mountains, and everything else you may want. Le Petit Soleil is quiet, charming, clean, and overall a great bed & breakfast in SLO.

  • Liked — Location, excellent hospitality, food/breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetheocean1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    54
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
126
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This place was perfect. Breakfasts are incredible. Each night they have a free happy hour where you get a delicious snack / mini meal and a glass of wine or beer (and they did not mind pouring free refills into my bottomless cup!). Their hospitality did not stop there: we came back early one night and they were more than happy to serve us more free booze. It was almost like they were not trying to profit from your business but just wanted to make sure you felt at home and had a good time. The rooms were clean and cozy and all the staff were friendly and helpful. And we got a thank you postcard from them in the mail when we returned! I can't say enough good things about this place...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank znoteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here. Can't say enough about the wonderful breakfast & lovely evening happy hour! There is a lovely courtyard with 3 types of wine to choose with appetizers! Loved the spicy almonds

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tpkajara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This B&B's claim to fame is that it claims to be "a touch of European charm in the heart of San Luis Obispo" and there is a certain truth to this assertion. The B&B is an ideal lodging for any Francophiles visiting the area. All the rooms have French names and seem to be decorated around a certain theme stemming from a shabby French chic that results in a pleasant decor. The breakfasts are served in a nice outside dining area and feature two dishes every morning. The owners and staff are very accommodating and hospitable. All that being said, it was definitely not worth the $229 price tag. I read all the previous reviews and was expecting something truly more than a nice little B&B that looked like it had been artfully remodeled from any standard motel. I have never stayed in any lodging in that price range that did not have air conditioning. Moreover, it is located near railroad tracks. The first time we heard the trains nearby, we thought that it was quaint and added to the charm. The second time, I was reminded of the movie, My Cousin Vinnie. The third time, I had learned to ignore it. I shouldn't have to learn to ignore irritations at that price. What was it worth? Probably $120 to $140, depending on the season.

Room Tip: Rooms opening to the courtyard are the best. Otherwise it's just another motel painted in cute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhcbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

What a wonderful place to spend a weekend. The parking is a little weird but what a great little find. A friend recommended it as a must. We loved it. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Everything from the bottled water to the evening "treats" made you feel like you were in France. A first class B & B that we totally enjoyed and will go to again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jflo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

A friend and I recently met in San Luis Obispo for a girls weekend since my friend's daughter is attending school there. We stayed at the Petit Soleil B & B and wish we could have stayed longer. Everything about our stay was wonderful. The owners sure put a lot of attention to detail into this property. Our room was spotless and adorably decorated. I loved that each room had a special name. We got turndown service each evening with really delicious handmade chocolate truffles. Breakfast is included with your room, with a choice of two main dishes and a lovely spread of fruit, coffee cakes, scones and the like. Such a great way to start your day! Every evening, they offer wine, sparkling beverages and snacks in the courtyard. Not your average snacks but cheeses, flavored almonds, fruits and hearty breads. Each night was a little different. Then there’s the staff. Every single staff member we encountered was sincerely friendly and warm. The owners and their team truly know how to create a feeling of welcome and hospitality. And I might add that the other guests we met there were nice too. We came away with new friends. On your next visit to SLO if you want to experience a bit of European charm, treat yourself to a room at Petit Soleil Bed & Breakfast.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvboatgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

This is a gem. The wine and appetizers were wonderful. Breakfast was excellent and everyone was very friendly. You really think you are in France. The rooms are similar to what we have chosen in our many visits to France.
My only complaint is the pillows. I would have thought they would have fluffy down pillows. If we return, I will bring my own. It really is a lovely place with a wonderful location and service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
705 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
381 reviews
1.7 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,572 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast

Property: Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1473 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2925
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Petit Soleil Hotel San Luis Obispo
Petit Soleil, b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing