We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Europe in SLO!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Luis Obispo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Alta Loma, California, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little Europe in SLO!!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have been staying at this bed-and-breakfast four years now. Their breakfast and treats were so amazing that we bought their cookbook! Spoil yourself and get the suite, it is well worth it. They have bicycles that are free of charge and are conveniently located just down the street from many popular and delicious eateries. It's really nice being on a first name basis with such a great family I hope nothing but continued success in this in their other properties, as they know what service, cleanliness, & accommodating their guests individual needs are about.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    54
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
43
127
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very nice boutique hotel. Great friendly staff with unique rooms. We were in town to visit my daughter and son-in-law and the hotel is conveniently located to downtown. The breakfast is very good quality and the complemintary wine in the evening is a great bonus.

Parking can be a little challenging since there is a restaurant located next door, but surprisingly does not add an additional noise to the hotel.

Will definately stay again

Room Tip: We had a room that was close to the street which was a little noisy on Saturday night, however the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kavin1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Live Oak, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our daughter first stayed here, while being married in the area a couple of years ago. She used the suite; stayed the night before with her sister, prepared for her wedding day with her bridesmaids, and stayed her wedding night, and was charmed and delighted so much so that they returned for their first anniversary. I've stayed twice myself now and it is such a treat from the ordinary hotel. The atmosphere, the courteous service, the scrumptious food and wine! It appeared a little pricey to me at first, but for this last stay, I compared it to my usual hotel when in the area and it wasn't more at all. Perhaps not perfect for a large group like my "usual" is, but for a weekend with just a few of us, it couldn't be better. Value-wise, I find that hotel stays are not inexpensive in San Luis Obispo, but you can spend less. I think it's easier to spend the money when the stay is so special.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie32634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Lovely slice of European-style hospitality in the middle of SLO. Wonderful, comfortable rooms with cushy beds, a great shower & lots of nice extra touches. Wine & appetizers in the evenings are generous & interesting. Breakfast offers a choice of two main dishes (rich, delicious) & a buffet of fruit & pastries. Service was casually excellent & friendly (tho we'd have preferred to feel less rushed with answers to our "what to do" queries). The dining room & outdoor courtyard are charming & relaxing, with music to match. Caveats: From the photos you expect a quiet country feel, when in fact PS is on a busy street next to a busy cafe with minimal parking. If you're sensitive to road noise you might have issues. Also, this is a very spendy place. We felt pampered & didn't begrudge the money, but we could afford it only as a special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamaisVu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The owners here are very pleasant, and the happy hour and breakfast are good. However, there is no air conditioning in the room, and the parking is not great if you have an expensive car. Also, it's a bit of a walk to downtown.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Took an overnight trip with the family and dog. The hotel is 2 minutes away from downtown SLO and the mission. Cool French feel with extremely helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are nice and clean. Had a happy hour snack and some wine before heading out to the Thursday Farmers Market. Breakfast was also included in the stay (very tasty). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midlifeupswing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idyllwild, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We have been wanting to stay at Petit Soleil for several years but have been unable to due to lack of vacancies. Well, we lucked out this past week and were glad we had the opportunity to have this experience. The entire staff, simply put, defines customer service. From the second we walked in to check-in to the time we checked out, there was always a happy face and a true desire to help (not doing so just because it was their job), and this lasted for the entire two nights we stayed at Petit Soleil. After checking in, staying at Petit Soleil only got better!

We definitely will be returning!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Granada Hotel and Bistro
Granada Hotel and Bistro
#1 of 8 in San Luis Obispo
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast

Property: Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1473 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2925
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Petit Soleil Hotel San Luis Obispo
Petit Soleil, b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing