We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Much to See”

Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded on September 1, 1772, this is considered one of the most beautiful missions in California and still serves as an active church in the community.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
372 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Not Much to See”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

If you have visited other missions in California, this one fails in comparison. Although it seems large, there isn't much open to tour, just a few rooms mostly set up like a museum opposed to other missions that have the rooms as they once looked like. There is a nice grape arbor in the back and the church is an active one. The tour is free but they do ask for donations ($3) but it is not required. There is also a small gift shop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DiabloDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    187
    62
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Must See for Mission Enthusiasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Located in a quaint part of town, this is a beautiful and peaceful mission -- a must see if you are touring all of the 21 Missions as my husband and I are doing. The museum has a very nice collection of Chumash Indian baskets and stone tools.

Of particular interest to me were the large stone bowls used instead of pottery. Vestments and religious items are on display along with photographs of the Mission's history. This is an active church so it doesn't have the "step back in time" feel of San Juan Capistrano or La Purisima, but it is tranquil and well-kept.

Shops and restaurants are just down the street. We enjoyed our visit -- and there was no charge for the self-guided tour of the museum, church and grounds. So far, it's not the favorite of the many missions we have visited in California, but if you are in the area, I would recommend stopping by.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelScott2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“4th grade Mission Project? Done.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

If you are anything like me you may be searching for a mission that your fourth grade kid can use as their own for the 4th grade missions project required for all students in California. With all the big name missions to choose from this little jewel is often overlooked. My son and I spent an hour there taking pictures and gathering information. If you are in search of something less run of the mill; this place may be just right for you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
488 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“If your a mission freak you will enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is not the most spectacular mission we've seen but a very special place. Very small compared to some others weve seen but nonetheless an interesting visit in a quaint little town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dps_Sedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buellton, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Active and beautiful Mission”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We toured the grounds and interior. This is an active mission, and the church is peaceful and calm. Very well-done historical exhibits - large collection of both Indian and settler items. Back area has a grape arbor and front has pond with bear and cubs, Indian girl sculptures. They have free concerts in the summer, and the mission is in the middle of downtown SLO. A short walk to shop, visit the Museum of Art, eat, and enjoy Mission Creek.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank otter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing