We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Inn at San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apple Farm Inn(San Luis Obispo)
US$256
US$211
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Cuesta Inn(San Luis Obispo)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$164
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Luis Creek Lodge(San Luis Obispo)
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madonna Inn(San Luis Obispo)
US$253
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Garden Inn(San Luis Obispo)
US$78
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,781)
Filter reviews
2,781 results
Traveller rating
1,144
836
435
232
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,144
836
435
232
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubavila beachthe bob jones trailwest meadowyoga classesqueen suiteprivate tubacross the bridgehiking trailscouples massagerelaxing stayromantic getawaygift shopcentral coasttubssulfurminerals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,444 - 2,449 of 2,781 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

my daughter and i had the best time here. Fun riding the golf car. we brought our snacks. hot tub in the suite was very nice. this place was like being on a tropical island. lots of things to do, drive in movie, shopping and visiting the beach. The sleep was the best, it rained and we sleep like queens

Room Tip: hot tub in the suite (fresh water) is what we had.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRthestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I brought a friend here for dinner about a month ago. The restaurant was practically empty yet we were kept waiting for 45 minutes. Back tonite with another friend for drinks and appetizers. There are 3 servers congregated at the bar but none of them are interested in their customers. Have been here 20 minutes without a return to our table to take our food order. And the bar is empty except for one couple. I wonder why?

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Elmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were upgraded to a suite but this did mean a rather long walk with bags as it cannot be accessed any other way than on foot.
A private hot tub for the room was lovely and by warm. However, we could still hear the main highway from our room which was only a stones throw away.

In room dining was poor quality but may have just had an off day from the chef.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas_Bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort for your accommodation needs. We are certainly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your private hot tub. I apologize that you had to carry your bags the long distance to your suite. We do have bellmen who offer at time of check-in to transport all luggage to guest's rooms anywhere throughout the property.

We value your comments, it helps us continue to give our guests a relaxing and memorable experience. I will be passing your comments regarding your dining experience to our Executive Chef. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience in the restaurant.

We appreciate your loyalty to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The front desk was very unhelpful. The room was 77 and there was no AC. It took a while to convince them that we needed a fan. It took then even longer to get one.

The place itself has no charm, looks rundown, sparse, hottubs chipping. My impression was tired, rundown, in need of a facelift. The gardens were very pretty. Villa beach is walkable distance.

We stayed before several year prior and our experience was very different.
There was no concierge service either.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Executive347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort for your accommodation needs. We value your comments and apologize for your displeasure.

We appreciate your patience as we are in the process of updating the furnishings in our rooms and around the property. We have updated several items this year including beds, televisions, couches, and paint. We will be updating additional furnishings and hope to have all of our rooms complete in the near future.

I am glad you enjoyed our beautiful gardens located on property, as well as the short walk/ride up the trail to Avila Beach. I apologize for the time it took to get you a fan and the inconvenience it caused you. We do indeed have bellmen to assist you during your stay. Our intention is to offer excellent guest service and strive to exceed the expectations and experience of every guest at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We have addressed your specific issue and hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
It was an honor to host your stay during your visit to the beautiful Central Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife and I stayed one night. We were looking forward to spending time soaking in the mineral spring tubs in the room and around the property.
We arrived a little early for our check in but were promised we would be called within an hour when our room was ready. That call never came. After 2 hours we returned to check in to see if the room was ready, which it was.
Check-in was straight forward till we were told we only had access to the hot tub in our room. I thought we could use any available hot tub on the property, no!, that would cost an extra fee, but we paid a "resort fee" what was that for? We were told internet access, yoga class (we don't do yoga) and the swimming pool (which closed at dusk and we were not allowed to use).
We did not feel welcome as we walked around to view the amenities and the gift shop. On 3 separate occasions by 3 different people we were questioned "can I help you?" in a tone that reminded me of Julia Roberts in Pretty women trying to shop on Rodeo Drive. This is not a friendly place.
The room was nice and comfortable but the phone message light flashed constant and we could not get to stop.
At 4 in the morning the people in the room above us must have been packing and doing their daily walk because for 1-1/2 hours they went back and forth across the room, sounding like a herd of elephants. The sound proofing between floors is non-existent.
Now full disclosure, on check out I complained to the manager and he did agree to "comp" some of our cost back to us, I don't know if this has happened yet. I will up date when it does.
A better I dea would be to stay at another hotel and visit to use the hot tubs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ex-limey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We value your comments and apologize for your displeasure. The resort fee does indeed include the opportunity to participate in our daily yoga, Pilates, and tai-chi classes. We also have hiking and walking trails, a labyrinth, meditation gardens, a heated pool, complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby, and free wireless internet- all included in the $15 resort fee.

Our hillside hot tubs are rented by the hour, but every room located on the resort has its own private balcony mineral spring hot tub. It is unfortunate that the guests above you made too much noise early in the morning. Anytime a guest contacts the front desk about a noise—and any other issue—our goal is to address the complaint immediately. Nevertheless, we did provide a refund because we want to ensure our guests are happy with their stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews