We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Avila Village Inn(Avila Beach)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Avila Beach(Avila Beach)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Luis Bay Inn(Avila Beach)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spyglass Inn(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shell Beach Inn(Shell Beach)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at the Cove(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,781)
Filter reviews
2,781 results
Traveller rating
1,144
836
435
232
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,144
836
435
232
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubavila beachthe bob jones trailwest meadowyoga classesqueen suiteprivate tubacross the bridgehiking trailscouples massagerelaxing stayromantic getawaygift shopcentral coasttubssulfurminerals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,442 - 2,447 of 2,781 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The resort is just average and overpriced for what it offers. Considering the fact that there was a private patio with a mineral spring water tub, we were expecting a romantic atmosphere , quiet setting and starry sky above our heads. However the sky view was abstracted with a roof, a plastic jacuzzi was nothing special and the patio was not even properly secluded.
The room was clean, but small and outdated. The water smelled like it was mixed with lots of chlorine anyway. The worst part is that a major road is pretty close to the hotel so the traffic may keep you awake at night. The territory needs some face-lifting as well. We felt like we were at a cheap motel rather than at a somewhat luxurious resort for this price.
The front desk staff was not very friendly and did not present all the information that could be useful. For example they didn't even mention a complimentary access to a nearby mineral pool or a voucher to a local winery testing room. They only revealed it upon our request.
There are some positive aspects though: a proximity to the Olympic size public mineral pool, beautiful hike trails start right there, a bike rental is at the resort, they have yoga classes, pool, a fitness center and spa. I liked the chef's garden and thought that wild turkeys walking around the parking lot is a cute addition. The short drive on See Canyon leads to local wineries and apple farms. Avila Beach downtown is a gem and Port San Luis Harbor is magnificent!
As they say in real estate: the place has a lot of potential but needs some TLC.

Room Tip: Top floors are quieter
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tatiana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We are glad you chose to make your stay at Sycamore. Your comments are of value to us and we appreciate you taking the time to make a review.

We noticed that the property did not meet all of your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay. We have addressed the front desk issues so that every guest upon check-in will know about the wine tasting voucher, and mineral pool access. Also, we are in the process of renovating and updating every room on the property. This is a longer process, however, so we appreciate your patience.

We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful hiking trails, spa and free yoga classes that the resort offers and hope you will be back to experience them again and see the updated rooms! Thank you again for staying at Sycamore and we look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times. The mineral tubs are amazing! They have also seemed to have really tried to improve the quality of the rooms. On our last visit we were only able to make from the hot tub to the bed, and from the hot tub to the bed. The bed was SOOOOO comfortable that we literally could not get out to even go to the restuarant! We chose to eat crackers and cheese. The water is healing and soaks into your muscles and bones. I do sure wish they would find a way to put some seating into the rooms. A comfortable chair would sure be nice. No wonder we went straight to the bed! We drive 6 hours to visit Pismo Beach every year and this spot is a must stop. The front desk staff and the reservation phone people are a joy. Especially Erin! He really went out of his way to give us a through description and comparison of the rooms. Our only complaints were the gift shop gals were extremely rude! And even after we spent $100.00 on gifts! Also we used to love to rent the tubs by the hour on the hill. You could always refill your tub to your preferred temp. and with fresh water. Now it seems a little nasty to know your iin water that people are getting "romantic" in and you can't put new water in. Plus it is now chlorinated (for that reason). It truly detracts from the whole mineral water properties. No more tubs by the hour for us. We will just have to rent a room.

Room Tip: The rooms on the hill are best. The Harmony building is perfect. If you get a room off of the parking lot, everyone on the hill can see right into your tub! The end rooms have better views and a less clostrophbic feel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theworldtosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

my daughter and i had the best time here. Fun riding the golf car. we brought our snacks. hot tub in the suite was very nice. this place was like being on a tropical island. lots of things to do, drive in movie, shopping and visiting the beach. The sleep was the best, it rained and we sleep like queens

Room Tip: hot tub in the suite (fresh water) is what we had.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRthestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I brought a friend here for dinner about a month ago. The restaurant was practically empty yet we were kept waiting for 45 minutes. Back tonite with another friend for drinks and appetizers. There are 3 servers congregated at the bar but none of them are interested in their customers. Have been here 20 minutes without a return to our table to take our food order. And the bar is empty except for one couple. I wonder why?

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Elmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were upgraded to a suite but this did mean a rather long walk with bags as it cannot be accessed any other way than on foot.
A private hot tub for the room was lovely and by warm. However, we could still hear the main highway from our room which was only a stones throw away.

In room dining was poor quality but may have just had an off day from the chef.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas_Bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort for your accommodation needs. We are certainly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your private hot tub. I apologize that you had to carry your bags the long distance to your suite. We do have bellmen who offer at time of check-in to transport all luggage to guest's rooms anywhere throughout the property.

We value your comments, it helps us continue to give our guests a relaxing and memorable experience. I will be passing your comments regarding your dining experience to our Executive Chef. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience in the restaurant.

We appreciate your loyalty to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews