We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This resort has many, many things to recommend it. A comfortable, well furnished room, with a hot tub; access to hiking paths, including a near by walk to the beach, and beautiful surroundings. Do not expect the Ritz-Carlton. It's rustic. Yes, the TV was not great, but just skip watching and soak in the hot tub instead! Our king bed was fantastic after a late night soak!

We also enjoyed the happy hour in the bar. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Do the happy hour in the bar. Great food, and it's affordable too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camusfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,269 - 2,275 of 2,610 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

A friend recommended Sycamore so we booked 2 nights on our road trip north. There are several choices of room types which are not completely clear on the website. Anyway, we booked a room with a balcony hot tub but, on arrival, we found it was a large, older room with only one queen bed. We also quickly learned there was no heat in this room but were offered a plugin heater which I declined. After some discussion, we were offered a room in their newer section across the road for an increase of $20 per night which I accepted. The room was an awesome 1 bedroom apartment with a huge king size bed. The living room had a flat screen TV and a fireplace which warmed the room quickly. All that and the private balcony hot tub made our days.

We also tried the hillside hot tub with more sulphur content which I enjoyed but it was a little too hot for my wife. There is no temperature control like there is on the room hot tub which you fill yourself.

There were some negative comments about walking from the new section. It is long but the hotel will pick you up in a golf cart when asked.

If you like to run/walk/bike, there is a bike path from the property that goes all the way to Avila Beach---about 2 miles each way. It's a beautiful area passing fields, streams, orchards, housing and a golf course.

Room Tip: Get a room in the newer section on the west side if the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just as the other reviews here, we found it lacking in certain areas, nice in some and chintzy in others. We liked having a hot tub on the deck from our queen spa suite. Nice big two person shower. High comfy bed (though pillows were not comfortable). A frig , but certainly could have used a microwave considering there is only a restaurant on the premises ($12 for a bowl of oatmeal. Seriously?). Again, as others have said, the whole place needs some updating and for what they charge they can afford it. Niceties include warm pool, yoga classes included, robes to use, mainly helpful staff (though we only found out there is a voucher for a wine tasting after we read it here), nice bedding, across from pretty walking trails and meditation labyrinth, close drive/walk to beach. Chintzy in aforementioned pillow, no body wash (though bar soap ), not even a free pastry or brewed coffee in the a.m. in lobby, no comfy chairs or ambiance (unless you like dead plants) on suite's too open "private" deck. The spa next to the pool should be included for all guests, but, alas, they charge extra for that. Pool and outdoor hot tub need resurfacing. Made us sign paper saying we understood check out was by 11 a.m.!! Really chintzy: while there is an in-room coffee maker, there is only that disgusting powder "creamer" vs. tubettes of real half and half. Ick. Even the cheapest motels offer half and half. Also, we thought it was an adults only facility (used to be) but there were plenty of kids around - I love kids (even have one of my own), but not at the "romantic" getaway they bill this as. On the other hand, we discovered Avila Village Inn down the road a short distance and will check that out next time.

Room Tip: Some rooms are up the hill (walking) from parking, so ask when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StillDoreen92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The room was a great size but the furniture and fixtures were outdated and what resort does not have a flat screen TV? The bedroom TV(not a flat screen) did not work (maybe because it was OLD...).It was nice to have our own Jacuzzi...but it was OLD and the patio was very unattractive (dead plants, broken planter boxes,old unmatched patio chairs etc). I did walk around the property and realized the entire property could use a bit of a "facelift"....I noticed the outdoor heaters in the restaurant were bent , broken and rusted.....not the best look as you walk into the hotel...On a positive note....the front desk clerk was very nice....
Overall I do believe this hotel is in need of some real "TLC". I also think there are a lot of options in the area that are worth the $ to pay that are updated. Would I recommend? Probably not....

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms at the end may have less "road traffic" noise... But overall it looks lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMD331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Lani,

We are glad you were able to make your Central Coast stay here at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We value all of our guests’ comments and concerns as it helps us grow and attempt to meet each guest’s satisfaction, which we see there were some aspects of the resort that did not meet your satisfaction.

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced while staying at Sycamore. Your outlook on the resort helps us make it better each day and we appreciate your comments. Sycamore is in the process of giving itself a “facelift,” as we have also noticed some areas that need more attention.

Renovations take time so we appreciate all of our past, current and future guests’ patience while we make updates throughout the resort. We hope you choose Sycamore again in the future, as we would be honored to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed 9/2013 The room was outdated, over priced and the jacuzzi tub was really old made of plastic and the jets didn't really work. The jets were loud. The room was spacious but it wasn't worth the price. For the price you pay there can at least be complimentary break fast.
Will stick with Sea Crest Resort, Pismo Beach. So much for trying something new!
The check in staff was snooty and rude. Will not recommend to Family or Friends. The positives were Avila beach, Mr. Ricks Bar 4 miles away and the Apple Valley Barn about a mile away.

Room Tip: Have always stayed at The Sea Crest Resort in Pismo. We just wanted to try something new...So much f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Marie,

We thank you for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We greatly appreciate the time it took for you to write your review. Unfortunately it looks like you were disappointed with some features here at our resort.

While you were unable to enjoy them this visit, we hope you choose Sycamore Resort again in the future as we are currently in the process of updating and renovating our rooms and other aspects of the resort.

We have addressed these issues with the front desk agents and hope this helped future guests have a better experience. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. It was our honor to host your visit, and hope we see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had spent the day around Avila Beach and decided to stop in to see what the mineral tubs are like. The staff was helpful in describing what was available. The tubs are outdoors, scattered over the hillside under the trees, and are secluded (by which I mean private enough). The tub we had was up the hill and surrounded on most sides by a redwood lattice fence and had a bench and hooks. The tub itself was plastic. The area was clean and appealing. They turned on the bubbles for us; it would have been nicer to control them ourselves, since the jets are very noisy and we wanted to enjoy the peacefulness of the night. Also, one of us likes jets better than the other. It's a little uncomfortable to periodically sit out and cool off without getting all the way out of the tub, because the rim is hard and narrow, but sitting on a towel took care of that.

Restrooms were available nearby. There is also a pool that we were curious about, but it was closed.

We paid midweek evening rates. Hint: stop in during the day for $10/person/hour, which is plenty of time. Also bring your own towels and water (both available for a fee).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The resort is just average and overpriced for what it offers. Considering the fact that there was a private patio with a mineral spring water tub, we were expecting a romantic atmosphere , quiet setting and starry sky above our heads. However the sky view was abstracted with a roof, a plastic jacuzzi was nothing special and the patio was not even properly secluded.
The room was clean, but small and outdated. The water smelled like it was mixed with lots of chlorine anyway. The worst part is that a major road is pretty close to the hotel so the traffic may keep you awake at night. The territory needs some face-lifting as well. We felt like we were at a cheap motel rather than at a somewhat luxurious resort for this price.
The front desk staff was not very friendly and did not present all the information that could be useful. For example they didn't even mention a complimentary access to a nearby mineral pool or a voucher to a local winery testing room. They only revealed it upon our request.
There are some positive aspects though: a proximity to the Olympic size public mineral pool, beautiful hike trails start right there, a bike rental is at the resort, they have yoga classes, pool, a fitness center and spa. I liked the chef's garden and thought that wild turkeys walking around the parking lot is a cute addition. The short drive on See Canyon leads to local wineries and apple farms. Avila Beach downtown is a gem and Port San Luis Harbor is magnificent!
As they say in real estate: the place has a lot of potential but needs some TLC.

Room Tip: Top floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tatiana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We are glad you chose to make your stay at Sycamore. Your comments are of value to us and we appreciate you taking the time to make a review.

We noticed that the property did not meet all of your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay. We have addressed the front desk issues so that every guest upon check-in will know about the wine tasting voucher, and mineral pool access. Also, we are in the process of renovating and updating every room on the property. This is a longer process, however, so we appreciate your patience.

We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful hiking trails, spa and free yoga classes that the resort offers and hope you will be back to experience them again and see the updated rooms! Thank you again for staying at Sycamore and we look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,452 reviews
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,690 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,498 reviews
7.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £126 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing