We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this place is cool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“this place is cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

a bit old school but very charming - hot tubs are stinky in some rooms - the suits have mineral tubs that are not stinky - pretty rad though that you have a tub in your room / balcony - sip some coldies with your lady (or man if thats your thing) have a soak in the tub. The resturant has really killer food. They grow lots of their own stuff right there on the property. Just a nice little place for a getaway

Room Tip: try to get a suit if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Bob,

Thank you for your recent visit to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with your lady and are pleased you were able to relax and indulge.

Thank you for partaking in our delicious restaurant. Our Chef takes special care and attention in all details pertaining to the food and is always gracious when people are aware and appreciative. We do have a wonderful garden that provides us with abundant produce which we are able to share with our guests.

We hope to see you back at Sycamore in the future!

Best,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    653
    341
    191
    107
See reviews for
341
1,460
78
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
el granada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

More than pleasantly surprised by the value and the layout of the new suites. Each one has an amazing pillow top bed and a hot tub just for you. The layout makes you feel like you are in a house with a large foyer, large main room with nicely appointed furniture and a great bathroom. The suites are heaven under the sycamore trees, one of my favorite trees, its quiet, private and really new and clean. There were nice TVs but we never turned them on because its just so nice.

We only had one issue with a maintenance dude who looked in the window while my wife was taking a shower. I walked out behind him while he was pretending to check the water heater and scared the hell out of him. He was the second creeper we ran into this year. Management if you are smart enough to read this we checked in on last sunday night.

When it comes to food and room service they are having a lot of service issues with staff turnover. I would give this place a five star if they got this under control. We did get room service with a cheese plate that was excellent but the next morning it wasn't available, too bad. When I went to the bar/rest to get coffee and breakfast, I waited over 30 minutes for cold oat meal and watched the head chef clean glasses while the waitress scampered all over the place to serve guests. In my view, he needs to get off his arrogant butt and help instead of rubbing glasses and talking it up with his local cronies. The food overall in the place needs a serious upgrade also, I was not impressed by anything to be honest except for the flat bread. I would say that this is one of the best locations and deals for a suite I have seen in California.

Room Tip: Get a suite across the bridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pauditore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. At Sycamore, we value each guests opinions and thoughts and we appreciate yours.

We noticed there were some aspects in which you felt uncomfortable and Sycamore didn’t meet all your needs. We apologize for any discomfort you or your wife may have experienced, and please know that your concerns have been addressed and we have attended to these issues.

We’re glad you enjoyed your cheese plate room service and the experience in our West Meadow King Suite! It’s unfortunate that you had an unpleasant restaurant experience. Hopefully next time you visit, these problems will be cleared up and you’ll enjoy the restaurant for all it has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Sycamore Mineral Springs was recommended to my girlfriend and me as a good place to go for a massage. While it is very pricy to stay there, we did book two 90-minute massages. They were excellent. The "treatment center" was clean, attractive, calm and peaceful. There were many little alcoves to sit and relax in, fluffy robes and sandals to wear, towels and lockers, showers with soap and shampoo and lotion, etc. The people were very professional and welcoming. The people who worked on us were helpful and attentive. The massage rooms were warm and inviting with soft music, oils and scents.

There are also bike rentals and hiking trails as well as a meditation garden and labyrinth across the road. We didn't do any of these things, but I will definitely return with my husband for a very romantic weekend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liquid_elements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

- Spiders - many - in the room
- AC in room not functioning
- Poor room geometry (bed in corner of room, TV on other side barely facing bed)
- Outdated room
- Old tub, tile, paint
- No microwave
- Old-looking pool

We frequent the Avila Beach area, and always wondered what Sycamore was like as we drove past. Cliffnotes - You are basically paying >$250 to have a hot tub on your balcony in an out-of-date, spider-infested room. I've stayed in better rooms for $39 at Motel6. Continue into Avila where your choices for rooms sub-$200 are endless, including a suite with a hot tub looking over the ocean.

Room Tip: Stay down the street in Avila Beach. If you are just dying to have a few hours in a mineral spring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sctsmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs. We value each guest’s thoughts, comments and concerns and appreciate the time it took for filling out this review. We are sorry your stay was not as pleasant as we both would have liked.

As a 125 year old property, we realize there are going to be areas which need some sprucing up. As we go through a major resort renovation, we appreciate guests being patient and understanding. During this time, we continue to strive and give our best to each and every guest.

We hope you will come back and visit Sycamore again, especially to experience all of our new and updated amenities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Tucked away off of the 101, on the road to Avila Beech, is the enchanted hillside and roaming mineral springs, garden, and spa resort. Not only is the hotel staff amazing, like manager Amy, with her sweet disposition and love for children, all of the bellman that drive you to your suite in golf carts remember your name and greet you anytime day or night, but the staff in the boutique too is fun. Now about the food. I am a foodie and I have to say this is 5 star dining at its finest! From their signature dishes, to cooking out of their own garden, displaying the local businesses that provide for the restaurant to the staff being able to describe flavors of every dish. Amazing! When the chef came out and made us a tomato and fresh herb tea, I was blown away. They marry flavors I have NEVER heard of before and they are delightful. I am a forever guest.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the king suites...quiet, peaceful, tranquil and a spa on your own deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This resort has many, many things to recommend it. A comfortable, well furnished room, with a hot tub; access to hiking paths, including a near by walk to the beach, and beautiful surroundings. Do not expect the Ritz-Carlton. It's rustic. Yes, the TV was not great, but just skip watching and soak in the hot tub instead! Our king bed was fantastic after a late night soak!

We also enjoyed the happy hour in the bar. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Do the happy hour in the bar. Great food, and it's affordable too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camusfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
270 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

A friend recommended Sycamore so we booked 2 nights on our road trip north. There are several choices of room types which are not completely clear on the website. Anyway, we booked a room with a balcony hot tub but, on arrival, we found it was a large, older room with only one queen bed. We also quickly learned there was no heat in this room but were offered a plugin heater which I declined. After some discussion, we were offered a room in their newer section across the road for an increase of $20 per night which I accepted. The room was an awesome 1 bedroom apartment with a huge king size bed. The living room had a flat screen TV and a fireplace which warmed the room quickly. All that and the private balcony hot tub made our days.

We also tried the hillside hot tub with more sulphur content which I enjoyed but it was a little too hot for my wife. There is no temperature control like there is on the room hot tub which you fill yourself.

There were some negative comments about walking from the new section. It is long but the hotel will pick you up in a golf cart when asked.

If you like to run/walk/bike, there is a bike path from the property that goes all the way to Avila Beach---about 2 miles each way. It's a beautiful area passing fields, streams, orchards, housing and a golf course.

Room Tip: Get a room in the newer section on the west side if the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
7.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing