We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Mineral Water Hottub!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clara
1 review
“Love the Mineral Water Hottub!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Beautiful surroundings on an oak-studded hillside. Their best feature is their natural resource...the water really does feel amazing, and is so relaxing! Woman who checked us in was marginally pleasant. Nice dinner at The Gardens of Avila Restaurant, but breakfast is a MUCH better deal, and they have a GREAT juice bar with freshly made juices using the resources of their organic garden across the street (as does the restaurant). Great concept! Reasonably priced items in Gift Shop, including a nice selection of local wines at very good prices. Other than the fact that we were stuck in a dbl bed room (nothing special; mattress needs to be updated...undoes all the relaxation of the hot tub!), all-in-all my hubby & I had a nice, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort for our mineral water hot tubs. It is a joy to hear you were able to enjoy the full relaxation of our resort and fully relax with your husband.

I apologize for the lack of service you received during check-in as service is a top priority across our resort. Through guest feedback we are able to grow our customer service on a daily bases and creates a different experience for our guest. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our dining facilities during your stay as well as enjoyed our new juice bar.

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the in-room mattress as we are in the process of updating all the furnishings across the resort in the near future. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    729
    382
    213
    113
See reviews for
390
1,645
85
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Resort prices but not so resorty. The rooms are dated the room hot tub old and cracked so bad that the water wouldn't hold full. The oasis waterfall pool area is beautiful but the pool itself is cracking and looks old and broke down. The private rental hot tubs are beautifully set in the trees and mountain side but we're chlorinated, not spring water I'm sure. Check in not until 4 makes having dinner and spending time in a rental hot tub a rush. probably wouldn't stay again and less a remodeling process occurred first and some kind of compensation was given. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very disappointed in my bed. I am 5'2" and was unable to get into my bed without stepping on a chair from the living room. A bed that high is very dangerous for people who are in their mid 70's. Spa OK


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Massages were great and I can't say enough about the Spa staff, and the main desk staff were great as well, but the room was not great. I don't know what kind of stains on the floor, and I don't want to know. There were splatter bleach stains all over the carpet. The tub took forever to fill because the tub was not holding water, not fun at all! All of this on top of the party of 8 guys in the room next door to ours and they were loud and hanging outside in the front. Management knew and did nothing. We decided to leave early In the morning I walked out to find three large garbage bags of beer cans right outside - I don't think that I will ever go back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The room was very clean and the amenities are very nice. The private bath is a great convenience. I will stay there again!! It was very relaxing and close to Avila Beach. The setting of the room in the trees is very peaceful.


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a wonderful and relaxing weekend here. The treatments were wonderful, the setting is beautiful, and the restaurant staff was amazing.
My only two critcisms would be 1) proximity to a 2-lane road that is well-used locally. Not distracting, but noticeable, and 2) The facilities are a little old, however they all work wonderfully.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The staff is exceedingly nice and accommodating and the rooms were unbelievably quiet. Definitely coming back again, and again, and again. We stayed in the king suites across the bridge. Next time we'll bring the bikes so we can explore the bike path more.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
0.5 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
680 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,400 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
727 reviews
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
624 reviews
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing